We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and neat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roseloe Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roseloe Motel
Rte. 1 (Box 590), Hot Springs, VA 24445   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Hot Springs
charleston, wv
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very clean and neat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

I was skeptical at first, but when I entered the room, it was a great surprise. Very clean and neat, free wireless internet, quiet and friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elkins, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I had to attend a meeting at The Homestead Resort but, absolutely refused to pay their exorbitant rates. Found the Roseloe Motel to be a practical alternative for $81/night. My room was neat and clean. Room had coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, radio/alarm clock and TV. Water pressure was good and water was nice and hot. Bed was comfortable and I had a good nights sleep. Very convenient to park right outside my door, no walking. Comfortable outdoor furniture near the room and a picnic table in the shade if you wanted to relax or have a meal/snack out on the well maintained grounds. The drive to The Homestead was a 5 minutes and I parked at a parking lot near the village and walked to my meeting - no problem. Checked out the Jefferson Pools which are very close by and would recommend planning time to take a soak if you are in the area.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 26 which is the end unit furthest from the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachwood, nj
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

This motel is a 50's throwback....with no bad surprises! It was clean, quiet and the beds were comfy. Our hostess, Thelma was a gem. The Roseloe is close to Jefferson Pools(hot mineral springs) , Garth Newel Music , and peace & quiet! There is also hiking and swimming at a nearby nature preserve. If we ever revisit the area, Roseloe will be where we stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15, which had a full kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

There aren't any bad things I can really say about this low-key locally-managed 50's style motel. There is actually a resident manager on premises and this lovely lady's name is Thelma Curtis. She will instantly remind you of a favorite aunt, or concerned grandma - she embodies all that is good about home-style comfort.

The home-like comfort description is very fitting - the room I stayed in was number 26 also known as the “Sam Snead” room. Indeed, his pictures adorned the walls painted a serene and calming washed-out blue. The room was exactly as I expected - a little faded and a little worn around the edges, but in that home-y comfortable sort of way that will instantly steal your heart.

There are no fancy bells and whistles, but what you will find is an extraordinary understanding of a weary traveler and her needs. There were a few amenities included in the very budget-friendly price that were immediately appreciated. FREE basic cable with HBO on a 27” TV, plus all the things you would want away from home - coffee maker, fridge, microwave, phone (Free local calls). There were thoughtful conveniences like real paper towels on a holder along with a cooking guide for the microwave. The motel binder included not only the menus of all the area's eateries and a channel listing, but the names and phone numbers of the area's B & B's including the insanely expensive Homestead. I appreciate any place that includes listings of their competitors!

I found that interesting and extremely endearing, considering that this little modest motel can be easily missed because of the popularity and historic status of the hulking Homestead and the enchanting web sites of the area B & B's offering idyllic stays in their gorgeous Victorians.

The bathroom was impeccably clean, as was the sink vanity area that was separate from the tub and toilet which is very convenient when there is more than one guest. Who wants to put on their makeup over a toilet in a steamy bathroom?

This is a great place to stay if you wish to enjoy the magnificent natural springs at Jefferson Pools and/or hike and relax in the many varied natural areas nearby. You can spend an entire day at Lake Moomaw or the Goshen Pass gorge area or enjoy a leisurely and scenic drive up Route 220 towards Monterey in Highland County - a gorgeous mountainous area and quaint little town known as Virginia's “Little Switzerland”.

The area B & B's do offer fabulous stays but if you appreciate the privacy of your own room and convenient parking right outside your doorstep and cannot, or like me, will not pay the exorbitant prices at The Homestead, this charming little motel will fit the bill.

This motel is truly a throwback - there are no internet reservations or confirmation numbers - just call and advise Mrs. Curtis when you want to visit. Almost like visiting Grandma's house!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

The price was very reasonable. The staff was very friendly. The rooms were very clean and impressive. The towels, bedding, ammenities were far above expectation. The toilet paper was made from recyclable products! This caught my eye. I've been trying to by this product but cannot find it. I was so impressed that this little mom and pop motel was so forward thinking to think of the environment. I have already suggested this place for people to say. It was definately a pleasureable experience. I was throughly impressed and I will continue to suggest this establishment.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — na
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2008

Want to get away for a weekend in beautful Hot Springs VA.? Here is a small 14 rooms ,very clean motel, With great prices! All rooms are NONE smoking! We had a wonderful time! Some rooms have full kitchens.Give it a try!

  • Liked — very clean!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roseloe Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseloe Motel

Also Known As:
Roseloe Hotel
Address: Rte. 1 (Box 590), Hot Springs, VA 24445
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 3 miles north of the Homestead Hotel in Hot Springs, VA and 2 1/2 miles south of the Jefferson Pools in Warm Springs, VA. Garth Newel Music Center is 1/4 mile and lakes and parks are about 30 mins on Rt 39. We have picnic tables and grills and a horseshoe area. A gathering room open for cards or conversation with a coin laundry room. We have 14 rooms, one(1) with a King bed/kitchenette and one with two(2)Queens which also has a handicap bath - 8 of our rooms are two double beds and the other 4 have an adjoining room with a full kitchen, with dishes and pots and pans set up for 4 persons. All rooms have private bath and micro/fridge and coffee makers with individual heat and air controls. Office is open from 8:30 A.M. till 9:00 P.M. For a late check in after 9 please call the office for arrangement. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roseloe Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Roseloe Motel to your Saves list