We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Homestead is Nice But Could Be Better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Homestead Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Omni Homestead Resort to your Saves list
The Omni Homestead Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save.
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Homestead is Nice But Could Be Better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

We are just finishing a two night stay at The Homestead and, for the most part, have enjoyed our time here. If you plan on visiting, be aware of a few things. First, The Homestead is an older hotel and suffers from the infirmities of that. For example, our room was noticeably smaller than a contemporary hotel, although the bath and closet were supersized. The heating was less than perfect. Second, it is a resort, so expect to pay more for everything from food to activities, you pay a premium. If you prefer the value of a Hilton Garden Inn or Courtyard Marriott, you will be miserable when you get the bill at The Homestead.

Generally, I found the staff to be very helpful and friendly with a few exceptions. The food was pretty good, but not exceptional and was expensive (the resort part). The setting of the hotel is exceptional and they had just had six inches of snow before we arrived, so everything was beautiful and decorated for Christmas. In summary, I enjoyed visiting here as a special treat, but would not do it regularly because of the expense.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,488
    753
    383
    200
    102
See reviews for
908
1,186
42
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

We were in a "garden" room that had so many types of flowers and designs in the decor that it was distracting and simply not compatible with our personal taste. The sofa pillows were stained. Our request for replacements resulted in "less stained" but not clean pillows. Dinner room service cuisine was mediocre. We left after a day and a half.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

The homestead is a good place to go and stay in the mountains. We went from Nov 12 - 14th for a short anniversary celebration. The hotel is clean, rooms clean and spacious. We had a room near the spa, pool side of the hotel. This was close to everything, main dining hall, Sam Sneads tavern, and spa. We went to the Jefferson pool and took the hiking trip. The jefferson pool buildings are very old, but the hot springs itself is awesome. The Hiking trip was fun, but more educational than strenuous. Bryan the guide is great and knows ALL SORTS OF STUFF! Tell him to do the Thom Hanks impersonation. But if you are looking to work some muscles, the guided hike is not going to cut it. The main dining hall breakfast was fabulous, dinner was pretty good. SAm Sneads tavern was also pretty good. There are a LOT of activities to do. It kind of reminds you of an expensive summer camp! But we chose to do more relaxing than anything else. Beware there is nothing to do after 10 pm in the hotel, except for the one bar with a few pool tables. NO nightlife at all.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Hello,

Thank you for your review! We will certainly pass along your kind words to Brian. We're so glad that you enjoyed the Jefferson Pools. The buildings ARE old. They'll be celebrating their 250th birthday this year!

We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
The Homestead Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

… as for the “luxury,” that likely ended in the early 1900’s.

Our relaxing getaway to the Allegheny Mountains began well enough. The scenery leading up to The Homestead’s grand entrance was as advertised: splendid. Check-in was efficient. The great hall, which was fully dressed in the trappings of the season, was welcoming and full of happy travelers. However, once we crossed the threshold of our room, the love affair ended. Although spacious, the room was worn and dirty. There were stains on the carpet and towels, mildew on the shower curtain liner, and “schmuck” on the walls. One of the sinks leaked profusely, which would have been discovered had housekeeping actually entered the room prior to our arrival. As for relaxation, there was little to be had. The bed was as comfortable as the bedrock upon which The Homestead rests. Halfway through the first night, I was forced to retreat to the armchair. My husband, a veteran who has spent multiple tours sleeping in the desert, awoke with excruciating neck pain. (Thank goodness it’s not a dry hotel.)

Thankfully though, the “fine dining” saved the weekend. After enjoying movie theater grade nachos in the sports bar, which included what might possibly have been “real beef” chili, we decided to indulge in room service. I guess most of the other guests had the same idea because it took nearly twenty minutes for the kitchen to answer our repeated calls. After almost an hour of waiting, we received what can only be described as an adequate meal. While the filet mignon was tough, it was still edible. However, at $150 for two people, I’m not convinced that “adequate” is actually adequate. However, the coup de grace in our culinary misadventures was the tantrum thrown by the front desk staff when we requested an explanation of the hotel’s deceptive dress code. Feeling generous, we decided to give The Homestead’s “fine dining” one more chance before venturing into town to go to Subway. My husband, attempting to comply with the then-advertised dress code, presented himself in the main dining room wearing a black sports coat, collared shirt, and dark denim. The wait staff was not impressed. After being ushered out of the dining area, we attempted to address our concerns to the front desk. They were equally unimpressed. I expressed my disappointment at paying $600 a night and being refused service and began to walk away. Apparently irritated by my insolence, another man at the desk found it necessary to inform myself, and the rest of the lobby, that my concerns were misplaced. As I walked away, he bellowed incessantly, “Miss … it’s fine dining … it’s fine dining!” Needless to say, Subway would definitely have been the better option.

Having hoped that The Homestead’s new management would have returned it to its former glory, my husband and I were sorely disappointed. Of course, the one thing that the hotel could not spoil was the surrounding natural beauty. However, given our experience, we anticipate strip mining to begin forthwith.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Over the last dozen years I have seen changes at The Homestead...but it is still a wonderful place to visit. Corners have been cut, staff has been reduced, keeping up maintenance with the old building appears to be a challenge, the dress code has been relaxed, the food is no longer state of the art, and tea is self serve now, but....it is still a grand hotel, in a spectacular part of Virginia, USA, and is still very much a treat to visit. I prefer the rooms in the old part of the hotel, but the Garden Wing is also well appointed and comfortable. The Jefferson pools provide a soothing bubbling water experience, hiking is great, breakfast is a buffet feast, the spa is lovely, and big old indoor pool is wonderful. Dress for dinner, take your dancing shoes, relax and a have a great time at the Homestead...it is worth the trip.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

My husband and I just got back from three nights at The Homestead and could not have asked for a better time. The service, room and food was outstanding. We stayed in the garden area which had renovated rooms. Our eoom had a balcony and even with the cool weather we got a chance to enjoy it.. The room was nicely decorated, very clean and comfortable. We took the gorge hike during our stay which is worth doing. One day we both had a spa treatment . The service and spa area was great. Saturday night we had dinner in the Main Dining Room. We had a delicious dinner and enjoyed dancing during dinner. The high tea is well worth going to. We also took the 4 mile hiking trail that gave you some beautiful views of the hotel and area. There was plenty of time for us to sit by the fireplace in the main lobby and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. I can't leave out the Jefferson Hot Springs whch took us back in time. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Coming from another country my husband and I were looking forward to stay in this hotel during our vacation. We were looking to find a little bet of history and a building well kept and preserve. Yes, the building is old and beautiful and the surrender were spectacular with the color of the fall. However, the hotel was nothing but a big disappointment dirty, unkept, unconfortable bed, the hot water did not work in the zinc, and the cold did not work in the shower, holes on the walls, I cannot say enough. The food was ok. however my husband got sick after dinner and could not got up the next morning. When I told them about my husband been sick because the food, they did not even said they were sorry. We did not care about the price of the room, but these hotel does not worth the money, trust me.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Springs
17.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountain View
16.9 mi away
Quality Inn Covington
Quality Inn Covington
#4 of 5 in Covington
3.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
24.5 mi away
Days Inn Lexington
Days Inn Lexington
#14 of 16 in Lexington
3.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
The Hummingbird Inn
The Hummingbird Inn
#1 of 1 in Goshen
5.0 of 5 stars 3 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Clifton Forge
5.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Covington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni Homestead Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.