We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous sanctuary, nice people, but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Homestead Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Omni Homestead Resort to your Saves list
The Omni Homestead Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Special!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous sanctuary, nice people, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

If my intention was to rate the atmosphere and incredible surroundings of this historic resort, it would easily be 5 stars, but I have to involve the other things as well, like you know food, service, amenities and the likes.

The drive to get here was quite scenic and can be an adventure in itself if you don't have GPS. Now that Omni has taken over, they really need to do a better job of placing directional signs within a 50 mile radius (like the exit on I-81 for starters) to at least try and direct people to this resort, unless that is, they don't want incidental visitors. Once you do arrive though, the grandeur of the palatial hotel makes up for the long drive. I opted to self-park in one of the 2 small lots near by, you can valet if you please. Upon arrival, several staff members are always around to assist you to get around and the main lobby area is very welcoming, especially in the midst of Winter it's extra cozy (this isn't my first time here).

Up in the rooms, it's pretty much a clean standard issue experience as with just about any other hotel. I suspect you wouldn't want be wasting your time in the rooms anyway, too many activities await. We actually never turned on the TV the entire 3 days, that says something considering I am a TV junkie. Don't be surprised to find the occasional Jurassic era cockroach in the main hallways, it happens, they're harmless.

Didn't golf, but did play some tennis and briefly checked out the pool and activity area. This part was great. The (clay) tennis courts were free to reserve and were a pleasure to play on with awesome mountain views in the background, no issues here. There was a croquet area with corn hole set up as well which was a fun little break on the way to the Casino to grab a bite to eat. The Casino was great, relaxing environment, great service, food was good and of course full bar service. Don't be confused now, there is no gambling in this casino, not even slots. This is however, where you go to set up your tennis or golf reservations. Once again, some signage would have been helpful, our group had to walk for 15 minutes to figure that one out.

So much more I can say, but let me get to my least favorite aspects that give this place 4 stars. The breakfast area, which isn't cheap mind you, was just a playground for kids to run around. The unruliness wasn't my biggest problem though, it was the fact that it seemed like utter chaos to get my food from the multiple buffet lines, worst of all, pancakes were completely out within minutes. You would think one of the hottest breakfast items would be quickly restocked, but nope, I went without pancakes sadly. Perhaps an adults-only area for the breakfast crowd would be nice, some of us come here to get away from kids and screaming, just a thought.

I'm pushing over 3000 characters now for this review, so I'll stop at this final note: this place has become less of an adult retreat that it was 6-8 years ago to more of a full blown family resort atmosphere, so keep that in mind if you want a quiet escape from your hectic life. This isn't the only resort in VA.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you very much for continuing to be a valued guest of ours. We do recommend that all guests driving to The Homestead use the directions we have on our web site. Please accept our sincere apologies for not feeling we provided the same experience that you had in the past, but we assure you that our focus on guest services, quality of our dining outlets and overall guest experience has never been more concentrated. We really appreciate you taking the time to inform us of your thoughts pertaining to this last trip and we have reviewed your comments with our staff. We hope you will continue to visit us and if I may assist you in the future with a reservation, please contact me directly at (540) 839-7570 so I may ensure an enjoyable stay.
Sincerely,
Leslie R. Tune
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,164
    616
    313
    169
    99
See reviews for
726
953
33
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our 3 day stay at the Homestead. We expected a stodgy old Hotel , but found just the opposite. The room was spacious and very quiet. WE ended up eating at the Wine Bar both nights and had the best soft shell grabs I have ever had. My wife's shrimp and grits were outstanding ..Had a great time playing a round of golf at the Old Course. We
look forward to returning soon ---

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Bellman left car window down and it rained in our car this is not good valet service shutters in our room had not been dusted in weeks. Door squeaked. Bedside lighting not suitable for night reading. Lightbulb in our bathroom burned out our entire stay. Sofa cushions in lobby looked like they had never been rotated. Paint was needed everywhere elevator service was inadequate for the amount of guests. Needs major renovation

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at our historic resort. We value guest comments and view them as a way to improve the guest experience. We regret that we did not meet your expectations. The Homestead has recently spent capital money on enhanced guest rooms and public areas as well as new dining options, including a conveniently located Lobby Bar, Jefferson’s Restaurant, and extensive spa renovations as well as the adults-only Spa Garden. The two-acre Allegheny Springs water complex, which includes a lazy river and slides during the summer, converts into a winter oasis with a heated, spring-fed outdoor pool and ice-skating rink. We continue to evaluate the needs throughout the property for capital improvements and appreciate your input. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We have been visiting the Homestead Resort for 20 plus years. The Omni folks have maximized its potential and it is a truly delightful blend of Southern Charm and luxury in a beautiful natural landscape. This was our first stay as select guest members and we were very pleased with the high level of service we received. The staff was accommodating and friendly. Our room was stately and comfortable. The view exceeded our expectations. We booked a premium view room. Thank you to Lois at the front desk for her kind assistance with our room upon check in. Also, thank you to the loyalty ambassador as well. We will definitely return and bring the kids to enjoy the beautiful and fun water slide pool.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Just returned from three nights at the Homestead over Labor Day weekend. The hotel, the grounds and the surrounding countryside was absolutely beautiful. Just lovely, relaxing scenery. Our room was spacious and comfortable. I had a great time hiking and relaxing at the spa pool. The staff was very friendly. There was just not enough staff to accommodate all of the guests. For example, my husband and I had dinner at the Jefferson Restaurant on Saturday night. Our waiter was completely overwhelmed. It took over and hour and a half for us to be served dinner. My husband's entree was cold when it came out and was missing a side. Another example - we went to get ice and the ice machine was broken. We called and they said someone would come by to fix it. Later that day, we went again to get ice and it was still broken. We called again and were told someone would fix it. There was no offer to bring ice to us. We finally had to ask for someone to bring us ice. It was fixed the next day. Also, we attempted to schedule a few spa appointments but were told they were quite booked. I did get one treatment - a pedicure. I was one of two guests receiving a treatment with 6 empty pedicure chairs. But they could not take another pedicure appointment at that time because they only had two people who could give pedicures. The hotel just needs more staff if it is going to accommodate the number of guests it attracts. Finally, I was frustrated that the hike to Barton Falls required a paid guide. There are a number of trails on the property, but if you want directions to the falls you must pay for the guided hike. I just thought that was so miserly on the part of the hotel. The grounds, hotel and scenery were really, really spectacular. We will definitely return to the area, but am not sure if we will return to the Homestead. A better bet would be staying in one of the b&b's in Warm Springs and taking advantage of the Homestead's spa and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you for visiting The Homestead and for sharing your review. We are pleased there are so many things you enjoyed about your visit. We do apologize for the shortcomings you experienced and hope they will not overshadow what otherwise appeared to be a most pleasant stay. If you did not take the guided hike with our naturalist to the Cascades Gorge, we certainly encourage you to do soon your next visit as it is one of the most popular activities at The Omni Homestead. On this tour, guests are led and entertained by a naturalist through a series of 13 beautiful waterfalls alongside a deep, Allegheny Mountain gorge trail. Guests learn about regional and unusual flora and fauna and the medicinal and edible properties of the many local plants. It’s a two-three hour journey and intermediate hiking ability and endurance are required. Because of this, all hikes through the Cascades Gorge must be accompanied by a guide. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the area again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

An awesome place to spend quality time with friends and family. Also enjoyed the Hotsprings. Very relaxing. Would need more shops though which have affordable prices for tourists. Keep up the good work

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We stayed in a garden view King Deluxe with balcony. It was a wonderful room with a great view. I cannot imagine the view during the Autumn foliage. Food was good but limited menus at some restaurants, and distance to restaurants in some cases was far. Amenities including the pools were beautiful and very clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni Homestead Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.