We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for kids under 5 and outdated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Homestead Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Omni Homestead Resort to your Saves list
The Omni Homestead Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Special!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
ASHBURN, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not for kids under 5 and outdated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

We have two boys 2 & 4 yrs old we must walk with a stroller
The place is beautiful except good lick walk all the staircases not good for strollers

My four yr old lives water parks we had are plans busted due to rain but the indoor pool was OK

The room was alright and the let us use their portable fridge and crib a plus

If it rains and your with kids under 5 your screwed

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    616
    313
    169
    99
See reviews for
725
953
33
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The property looks great but is old and the service is definitely lacking.The first room we booked did not have the AC working and while they told us that they had called the service technician, they had not yet done that when I went down to the front desk to check on it. Out friends also had trouble with the plumbing in their room and had to move rooms. When we checked out, there was a long line of people who had disputes on the bill they received. Pure mismanagement communication between staff is completely uncoordinated.....nothing else. Lots of kids activities and the golf is awesome. The service at the golf course was excellent. Generally, food at the entire place was nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: Allot enough time for billing troubles and to change rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for your candid review regarding your recent visit to our historic property. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced in regard to the air-conditioning in your room and the process at check-out. It is our goal to provide every guest with clean, comfortable, luxurious accommodations, as well as fond memories of their stay. We do appreciate your observations which we will use as a training tool with our associates. Thank you again, and we hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future to show you what The Homestead is all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinsburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Outstanding place to celebrate an anniversary. Had a great time - highly recommend the resort. Got free upgrade, hotel staff friendly, tea at three was mighty fine. Staff friendly and happy. Water quality top notch. Go there when you can.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We really loved all the things the Homestead has added for the kids. The pool area was one of the best my family has ever experienced . We can not wait to make our reservations for the fall. We also enjoyed the many golf courses that the Homestead has to offer .

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

My family and I stayed here for a long weekend and enjoyed every aspect. The spa was top notch, the activities were fun & well organized. We rarely spent time in our room. Loved the big front porch with all its seating, it was a great place to hang out and relax. Tea time was classic and the Jefferson Pool Hot Spring is a must do!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This is our second stay at The Homestead and we were charmed all over again. This hotel has a nostalgic, days-gone-by feeling, so it's not for those who want a sleek look and hi-tech amenities. However, it's you're looking for grandeur and a beautiful, remote location where you can breathe the mountain air for a few days, float on a lazy river, be spoiled in the spa, or take a canning trip, then this is the place for you. We're a family of 4 and we booked two adjoining rooms in the Garden Wing. Ours had a kind bed and the kids had two queens. Working out beautifully. The resort is expensive, so if you plan on doing any of the activities, I recommend booking with the Activities Package. If you go on a summer weekend, make dinner reservations before you go. Things fill up quickly. We visited during the Taste of the Region - an alfresco dining experience that allowed guests to sample beer, wine, and local foods. Delicious! We'll be going back again next year as The Homestead is the perfect place to escape the busy, noisy world and enjoy a little peace while not hearing the typical summertime "I'm bored" phrase from the kids!

As far as kids' activities, ours had plenty to do. Between the indoor and outdoor pools, the lazy river, playground, miniature golf, corn hole, giant chess sets, hiking trails, and the paid activities (we went canning, which was really fun) and took the kids on their first trail ride on horseback (which was wonderful thanks to our friendly guide, Ricky Hooker) the kids will be worn out by evening.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We have been going here for years and it's only getting better. Great family destination. Tons of stuff to do. Golf, tennis, miniature golf, pool with slides and lazy river. They stopped including dinner in the package but the B&B package is still available.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni Homestead Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.