We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Homestead Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Omni Homestead Resort to your Saves list
The Omni Homestead Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Special!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Burke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Really more of a 4.5 star experience. The pools were great, the mini golf was fun (and free because it was a little damp) and no wait for tennis. We were in an executive suite, which was more room than we needed (but great for the kids) and had a beautiful view. The staff was wonderful. I took off half a star because there are some maintenance issues that should be addressed (wall paper damage, elevator doors take forever to open in the tower) and the $10/day parking (even if you self park) is ridiculous. The resort fee bothered me less as we made good use out of the "included" activities. I can't imagine this being the case if we were here in winter instead, though.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,172
    616
    314
    169
    99
See reviews for
729
958
33
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Elverson, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The resort offers a beautiful setting with a good selection of restaurants and amenities.rooms are nicely appointed and lots of welcoming spots to sit and relax throughout the resort. The spa is excellent.Nice band in main dining room at dinner, and grand piano playing often in the lobby.
Some minor maintenance issues throughout, but overall a wonderful experience.Lots of great activities.Excellent staff.A very relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Let's start with the good. The hotel is beautiful, looks just as beautiful as it does online, if not more, as in person. I was so please with my suite (I stayed in the jr suite) it was a wonderful view and so nice and spacious on the inside. The activities are loads of fun, the spa is heaven, the staff are very friendly, helpful, and everywhere so you don't have to worry about getting lost. Now the bad, I had to wait 2 hours to get checked in which after the 7 hr drive there I was a little upset with but I brushed it off and toured the facility which is huge. Once I got in my room I was so delighted and they gave us some sweets to apologize for our wait. Then I went to the main dining room and the food was pretty damned mediocre. I ordered the lobster bisque which was great and it came with a cumber and tomato salad which was laden with red onion, no one warned us of that, so we simply sent it back and waited for our entree. I ordered the shrimp and scallops and they were very salty and had, what looked to be, leftover burnt food from the surface not being cleaned properly and my guest had the lamb which was very fatty and he did not enjoy the sausage at all, he said it was over spiced. We told our waiter and he said he would only charge us for the wine. At check out I find out that the a separate bill was charged to my room with the food on it without my knowledge or consent. I was very upset about that. Then the next day our room did not get cleaned until 10:30pm when we had seen the housekeeper on our floor around 1. And then I ordered from room service that night and they sent me the wrong food and drink and when the right food came it was not even good. I ordered the sausage rigatoni and it tasted like ground beef. On the departure day I called for a bellman to load my car, gave him my ticket and went down to the spa. When it came time for me to leave my car was not loaded and the bellman told me he did not receive my car ticket, when I'm for sure I gave it to him and my guest was my witness. But I did not complain I just will not be staying here again. An to top it all off I got charged $885 and the billing department could not even tell me what I was being charged for. I could do nothing but shake my head and call my bank. Overall I would say stay here but don't eat here. And pay close attention to your bill.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

First, the resort charges unnecessary resort fee that doesn't cover anything including the amenities. We did archery, skeet shooting, sniper/long range shooting, and a hayride. Even including our all activity package, they limit the number of people to go to each, and the activity package cannot accommodate you for all activities; therefore, you end up for most of them.

Second, before it became OMNI hotel, the hotel staff had a liberty to up grade your room, since it became OMNI they wouldn't do it anymore. As their discretionary power is curtailed since it became a branded hotel. However, they had a very nice ice skating ring, although it is free as part of the package, but they charged you for skate rentals (really - then its not free) who brings their own skates.

The resort is nice - they have a very large fire place there. We were lucky and ended up with a great group of people that we met. One turned out to be a singer in a band and brought his guitar with him and we had a great evening sitting outside listening to him sing .

But their bar is amazing. You really become part of the history. There is no doubt that the resort is beautiful. The hayride was nice as they stopped at the landing of the skiing where the fireplace is located and we had toasted marshmallows there.

For the bowling ally there was a charge as well, then you wonder what is the resort fee for. They state that it is for the pool and the internet. Really, all other hotels provide that for free. We will NOT stay there again, it is REALLY NOT WORTH THE PRICE ANY MORE WITH THE RESORT FEE. Do not trust other websites such Living social and Groupon as they do not tell you that the resort will charge their own taxes based on the current rate, plus the resort fee. I think there are other better options out there. If the price is reasonable and the resort fee includes all activities that one wants to do, and not when the activity center states that they can only fit you for one activity - PARTICULARLY IS A WEEKDAY - then it is worth the price.

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony room. The hotel front desk used to be nice before it became OMNI when they wou...
See more room tips
Green Features: I wouldn't know and I don't want to read Omni Homestead Resort's environmentally friendly practices as trip advisor wouldn't let me post this until I put certain number of characters in it. It is requiring me to read the policy as I did not had enough characters in this section.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed at the Homestead for the first time for our 25th wedding anniversary. All of the staff are so kind, always smiling and so eager to please. I felt like a princess. It was truly a fairytale experience. I wish to return for every anniversary now!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for choosing our historic resort to spend such a special occasion. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back for many anniversaries to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The Omni Homestead resort will put a heavy dent in your wallet, but it is a great experience. The inside and outside of the hotel are breath taking and the grounds rival those of Busch Gardens in Williamsburg, which is saying a lot. There are many activities to keep you busy all week, some of them are very relaxing while others are for the active. Prices for dining and shops are suited for the well to do. The room was very large and clean. Attention to detail on maintenance and cleanliness of the facility in general could be better and the Jefferson Springs "shacks" appear ready to collapse at any moment. Still, I do recommend this resort for special occasions as my overall experience was very positive. Remember to set aside a healthy budget for activities and dining. I recommend the unlimited activities package which will provide a wide array of activities and will also save you $35/person/day to eat breakfast in the main dining room.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for posting your review following you recent visit to The Omni Homestead. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our historic resort and grounds. Maintenance and cleanliness are top priorities and our new “Care Program” ensures each and every room is detailed and deep cleaned including furniture at least twice a year. We recently completed a $25 million renovation project of our historic resort and many exciting capital improvements are being planned for the near future. The Jefferson Pools are currently receiving some improvements in regard to painting and maintenance, and we are looking at a restoration program for these historic landmarks in the future. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I had a conference at the Homestead and had styed there several times over the last 30 years and was pleasantly surprised to see that the standards have not changed since being taken over by the Omni Group. The staff was friendly and helpful , the food was very good and the sports facilities excellent. Will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni Homestead Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.