We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Homestead Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Omni Homestead Resort to your Saves list
The Omni Homestead Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save.
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

What a gorgeous, secluded resort with old-world charm. It is huge, but everywhere you go and everyone you encounter, the service, hospitality and amenities are consistent and top-notch. There are a variety of restaurants and activities to choose from; all good and interesting. We enjoyed lounging on the front porch watching people come and go, or sitting in one of the many parlors reading a book. This was a truly refreshing and rejuvenating experience.

Room Tip: Based on your needs/wants, inquire about size, views and proximity to the main hall.
See more room tips
Green Features: Would have liked to have seen recycling bins. The resort does give you the choice of daily or intermittent towel/linen changes.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,344
    697
    352
    187
    102
See reviews for
837
1,085
39
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This was our first visit. It was immediately obvious that this resort caters to families, family groups, golfers, and conventions. The vibe doesn't jive with the surroundings. Afternoon tea might as well have been kids club. If you are looking for a romantic couples getaway I'd try other Omni resorts. That being said the food quality was not up to other Omni properties I've stayed , although the prices were. The staff were all exceeding nice and helpful. There is nothing, I repeat nothing at all to do or see in Hot Springs or surrounds, so we tried to take advantage of offered activities. However, the included activities were almost all geared to kids ( except the gorge hike which was amazing for all ages !) and adult activities were expensive. $100. for an hour with the Falconry staff ? The actual experience did not equal the cost. Maybe some adult activities ? Wine tastings, etc ?

Room Tip: The old wing is much more charming than the 70's addition, although our ground floor room there...
See more room tips
Green Features: Big thumbs down - no recycling . You can choose when to have linen service.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Wonderful old time charm, but food is average with uninspired selection. Profess to have a dress code but do not stick to it, detracts from the unique atmosphere. However, the activities are wonderful and the spa is not to be missed. All in all a very nice facility, very nice staff, and glad we went - however it just misses being what it represents itself to be.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The Homestead is sits in one of the most idyllic spots in America. Southwest Virginia, into West Virginia is spectacular in the summertime. When you finally arrive, driving up to the massive red brick hotel, with a an equally large front porch you feel yourself relax. You want this to be a peaceful, special experience. Your first clue that it isn't going to be this magical place in the mountains is the strangely neutral, angle shaped front desk and the hall-like lobby. It screams weddings and conventions inside. This is all good and fine if that's what you are looking for. I was in a studio suite. This room was right up the elevator off the front desk, very easy. I've also stayed in a room in a far wing. It's was like going on a hike everytime I needed something from the room it was so far removed from everything in the hotel. Ask where your room is located in relation to the pool, spa, shops, etc. The studio was a bright, large room with a sofa bed, king bed, desk, and bathroom. The bathroom had amazing light during the day but at night was the kind that was hard to see your features properly...no eyebrow plucking here. It also had a tub/shower combo even though it was recently remodeled. The room was so large I don't know why they didn't enlarge the bathroom and add a soaking tub. Everything else about the room was generic. It didn't have a lot of charm or style. The amenities in the bathroom were the Homestead brand...I hate that nowadays. It's the cheap way out. Just go with a nice spa brand to elevate your hotel. Malin & Goetz, even Neutrogena would be nice. Hotel brands are always so perfumery. The reason we stay here over the Greenbrier (we did stay there for 2 nights before coming here), is the pool and the spa. Both superior to the Greenbrier. The Homestead is also superior in the food offerings. While the Greenbrier has more restaurants, the Homestead uses more local food (and dairy), it's more hip for sure. With the addition of the Jefferson Grill, the Homestead has surpassed the Greenbrier with decent dinner options. They both could still do way better. The Homestead has their own dairy but still offers 'Pet' milk on the breakfast buffet. They need to decide who they are. Are they moving towards serving locally sourced food and beverages without compromise or are they greenwashing? If you have a kids, the Homestead is for you, no question. The pool is outstanding and worth every penny. It was a smart investment on their part. The lazy river and water slide keep my kids busy for hours. The spa is also far superior to anything around due to the outdoor spa facilities. You can make a whole day of it at the spa. It's not like going to a spa for the day and having to sit in their 'relaxation room' and the sauna for 4 hours to enjoy the spa for the day. They have a heat experience plus you can enjoy the quietness of a private pool and mineral pool area for adults only the rest of the day. The Homestead is an all around nice resort. It's owned by Omni. I wish it wasn't. I wish there was a grand resort that wasn't run by a corporation with all of it's ugly uniforms, dumbed down food, Island Oasis drinks, subpar amenities, and overall feeling of blandness. The Homestead would be so much more fun if it had a heart. If the shops were cooler, the food more authentic, and the experiences less generalized.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We spent three nights at The Homestead, and enjoyed every minute! The hospitality/customer service was extraordinary, from the front desk to the dining room, housekeeping, pool and activity staffs. We played golf and tennis and learned to paddleboard - a new activity this year, hosted by a terrific young man named Scott, and not to be missed! The entire dining room staff, especially the amazing Gilbert, were gracious and anticipated our every need! Bryan, the nature walk leader, opened our eyes to amazing things along the mountain trail. And the lovely piano music in the lobby provided a delightful way to wind down with a glass of wine at the end of each fun-filled day. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed here for business/pleasure. Very nice place and kid friendly. Nice quite place to get away with lots to do. We enjoyed roasting marshmallows and making smores by the fire pit. We swam in the indoor pool and outdoor water park.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We had a great time hiking the Cascades and doing other hikes on the premises. We also enjoyed the skeet shooting, falconry, segways, and the spa. The spa is awesome, the quality of the service is fantastic, and you get to use the spa pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni Homestead Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.