We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful property and spendid staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Homestead Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Omni Homestead Resort to your Saves list
The Omni Homestead Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gray, Georgia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful property and spendid staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My family visited this property while I attended a conference. I was awestruck by the palpable history of the resort and the calibre of the employees. Built originally in 1766 and rebuilt after a fire in 1901, the rooms at this property are certainly old, but in a truly wonderful and majestic way. The resort is remote, which is a plus for us as we prefer out of the way, secluded destinations. Despite being pretty busy with lots of guests, the property is filled with quiet nooks and secluded vistas allowing you to find quiet time and privacy for intimiate moments or conversations. The front foyer, which they call the Grand Hall, is an amazing bit of architecture. The outside views of the buildings and the surrounding mountains were very impressive. We particularly enjoyed the pool and the late night conversations around the firepit.

While the property is amazing, what most impressed me was the quality and depth of the employees. From the first bellman we encountered to the guy playing piano in the lobby, the staff of this hotel was first class. The only negative thing we encountered was a cleaning lady who barged into our room without knocking while I was changing clothes. She got quite the shock as did I, but quickly apologized and fled.

I highly recommend grabbing a glass of wind or ice cream from the market and sitting out front in a rocking chair. It reminded me of what hotel travel must have been like 150 years ago. Unfortunately, they do allow smoking on the front porch, which was a bit annoying.

We did not purchase any of the excursions because they were just too expensive, but we thoroughly enjoyed the amenities there on the grounds. Despite being remote and a bit pricey, this is a charming place that I would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,063
    587
    298
    167
    97
See reviews for
694
889
32
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Homestead is a great family oriented classic resort that has something for everyone. Nestled in an absolutely beautiful setting-the architecture is fantastic and the service and food is very good. The newly completed pool is perfect for families as there is now a lazy river!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very nice relaxing get away. Staff very friendly. Slept great bed was so comfortable. Whether you are wanting a romantic get away for 2 or a great family vacation Omni Home Stead is the place to stay. The restruant is very good place to eat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Homestead Resort is a "cruise ship on land" and caters to children with all kinds of indoor and outdoor activities. I would bring my grandchildren to this resort and they would have a grand time. We were seeking a quiet, romantic getaway for our Anniversary. Did not happen. And yet, room was great, service, very good, gof was very nice, food was good, so we had a good time.l

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great resort, like an all-inclusive but nothing is included in the room rate. Very pricey - they nickle and dime you for everything. It was gorgeous though and the food, staff and amenities were wonderful. We were there for 4th of July, the fireworks were great and so were the outdoor concerts. Would recommend only for friends willing to spend big bucks!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Unclean bathroom. Hair found in bathroom floor, tub, rug, etc. Didn't want to use the robe - seemed uncle too. Water stains in carpet. Door handle to balcony fell off. TV remote did not work. I don't know if I would recommend this to members of my family who are used to high end experiences.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for visiting The Omni Homestead. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. Your findings are unacceptable and will be shared with our Executive Housekeeper so we may improve the quality of cleanliness in our accommodations. It is our goal to provide each and every guest with clean, comfortable, luxurious accommodations, and delightful memories of their visit. We hope that you will give us another chance so we may regain your goodwill and confidence. Please contact me directly (540-839-7570) so I may personally make your reservations and ensure an enjoyable stay. We do hope that you will return again soon.
Leslie Tune
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Only areas for improvement are the breakfast buffet food quality and the Hotel is getting a bit run down and needs modernization. This could be turned into one of the best 5 star level attractions desparately needed in Virginia. People / staff are just excellent with and really good attitude. Activity choices are really good. A bit pricey but overall good. The Jeffereon offers a very small choice for meals and needs options for vegetarians. It has an excellent opportunity for improvement. The lobby bar was almost always empty as it didn't seem inviting. Maybe convert it to a cigar bar and let the rest use Jeffereson as was the case.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for visiting our historic resort and for posting your review. We appreciate your observations and suggestions. It is good to know that you enjoyed the hospitality of our associates and the wealth of activity choices we offer. Our new Lobby Bar, with portraits of the 23 presidents who have visited The Homestead, has proven to be a popular venue with our guests on most evenings. We would not be able to convert it to a cigar bar due to its proximity to the Great Hall and current Virginia law, but, again, appreciate the suggestion. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni Homestead Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.