We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable mountain resort with 5 Star activities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Homestead Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Omni Homestead Resort to your Saves list
The Omni Homestead Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save.
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Remarkable mountain resort with 5 Star activities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Very impressive really a fantastic getaway with an amazing amount of activities to choose from. Super for families and couples alike. A well done blend of upscale and comfort with ample opportunity for privacy when desired. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,411
    712
    365
    189
    102
See reviews for
858
1,127
40
421
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Excellent weekend! Can't wait to return! We usually visit The Homestead in Feb. but we are definitely planning to bring the whole family for a long weekend next summer! There is so much for children to do as well as adults. We are thrilled with the excellent changes that the Omni Resort has made. My only recommendation would be to change tea hour to 4-5pm. We missed it on the day of arrival and it rushed us on Sat. of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We chose The Homestead for our 24th wedding anniversary. We had stopped there for lunch many years ago and thought it would be a nice place for a special occasion. Although showing it's age somewhat, The Homestead is a grand hotel/resort in a beautiful location. We have also stayed at the Greenbriar, nearby in WV. The two resorts are very similar, grand old ladies offering lots of activities, excellent dining, and ambiance. The history tour is recommended. The Lobby Bar is a beautiful location for pre dinner cocktails.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful for what it is. The staff however leaves a lot to be desired. I have to say this coming off of a fabulous July 4th at The sanctuary at Kiawah last year. The pool is fantastic for kids - although they close the fun part at 6pm. We rented cabanas at the pool both days ($225/day) - 9am- 6pm. When we got there at 9:30 the first day, no one was there to tell us which cabana we had. By 10:30, they had their act together somewhat and told is where ours was, brought us water and fruit and did well for the rest of the day. The second day, we anticipated that and got there at 10am. No fruit - water brought over at 10:45. Disappointing. All of the bartenders seem to have quite the snippy attitude - that is if you can get their attention. The rooms are fine, but NOTHING to write home about. The food is really good (except at the pool). We did however reserve Sam Sneed's the first night which is not on campus. After the bartender in the hotel insisted that I purchase a 9oz pour of KJ 15 min before dinner and said I could take it with - as soon as I walked in the restaurant with it they said it was not permitted. Lots of little things gone wrong. Right server/attendant makes all the difference. Just be prepared. The spa is nice, but the service there isn't fabulous either.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is a beautiful old hotel hidden away in the mountains of Virginia. The hotel and the scenery are spectacular, and there is so much to do for families with children of any age. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Elegant, cool old hotel. Great food and drink on property, though expensive and if we stayed longer we would venture off the resort. Hiked some great, and tough trails, and husband mountain biked some really steep roads, and the wider trails. Amazing nature and views around the resort. I did a morning in the spa and had a very good mud wrap and massage, top quality. The spa includes free access to the unique "Thermal Suite" and absolutely lovely outdoor "Spa Garden" with an hour's treatment, really maximizing the experience. And the spa building is both historical and beautifully modernized.

This would be a great spot for a family reunion, older couples, a quiet getaway, and families with younger kids (the pool is SO cool for kids). Maybe not such a a great spot for teens, unless they are the cool sort who will hike, shoot bow & arrow, and try falconry (actually - teens might really like it!) Definitely not for the 20 something Club crowd...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My recent stay at The Homestead was somewhat disappointing as I expected to be staying at my old familiar place. It has changed and is not as good as it used to be in many ways - but it is better in some. True some interior rooms in the old section have been updated and there have been cosmetic changes. Still the hotel is not the value and isn't as classy as it was previously. The new Spa is absolutely gorgeous but is only available to a guest if you have a booked service for that day. Otherwise there's a $40 per day fee to use. Cheesy policy. Also - you now pay a $10.00 per day fee to park your car. Really? It feels as though there are just too many ways to get another dollar from you. The hotel is now owned by Omni.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni Homestead Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.