We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Homestead!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Homestead Resort

Save Saved
You added The Omni Homestead Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Omni Homestead Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hot Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Loved the Homestead!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Before going, I was convinced that the grandeur of the Homestead (based on the pictures) or the service (based on chain ownership--Omni) would fail to meet my expectations. But after my family (wife and 2 girls—3 and 5) spent 3 nights there, I can say that all my expectations were not only meet, but surpassed.

Here is my review of some topics, forgive the length.

Dining: We ate at all the restaurants at the resort, and enjoyed them all (although every restaurant opens at 5:30 for dinner, so an afternoon snack was required for my girls.) I would say the price breakdown (from most costly to least expensive) would be the main dining room, the Jefferson, Sam Snead, the Casino. I liked the Jefferson and the Casino the most. If you want to eat off site, the hotel’s shuttles (always an abundance of) will drive you to destinations within 5 miles. This allows you to go to restaurants like the waterwheel in Warm Springs. If you are looking for something quick, maybe for lunch: Martha’s Market has sandwiches, there is a Subway by Sam Sneads, and the pool restaurant has good options. I would recommend purchasing the $100 meal cards for $85 before going, 15% is always a nice savings.

Accommodations: Our room was huge. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the room, and the ability to have a fridge. The bathroom had heated floors which was a bonus, but overall very nice.

Pools are amazing! For my 3 year old, she loved playing in the kid’s pool. The water features and sand area really kept her busy. My 5 year old loved the main pool because it starts at 3 feet, allowing her to touch. Both loved the lazy river, and I loved the water slides. They provide ice water around the pool which was appreciated. The indoor pool was very warm, almost like a bath. It was very deep, starting at 5 feet going to 7 feet. They have noodles and kick boards here.

The best part of the trip really was the staff. They are exceedingly friendly. I know it a service industry, but I’m not sure I could be that nice all the time. One employee saw my family sitting on a couch along the front deck and decided my girls needed ice cream, so she went into Martha’s market and bought them some. Just very good people, always saying hello, asking if there’s anything we needed.

Other tips:
- Upon arrival, I decided to self-park as the lot was maybe 60 yards up a gradual hill, so very simple and budget friendly ($10 per day, as opposed to $20 per day).
- They have a fairly large playset that is nice. The arcade (with mini bowling alley) is nice, but expensive. We went through $30 in 15 minutes. You can do bumper lanes for bowling ($3 per 5 frames)
- The carriage ride is somewhat expensive, but if you get there a little earlier and wander the stables, it helps justify the expense.
- The movie theater has 2 movies per night 7pm for kids and 9:30 for adults.
- Crocket and corn hole near the fire in the evenings was a hit for us.
- Arcade opens at 4 on the weekdays.
There will be a 15%(I think that's right) tax on most things, from food ot activities. For example, the carriage ride, $95 for 30 minutes is $109.25 after tax.

Room Tip: We stayed in the west wing, which I think was an ideal location. close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,932 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    913
    516
    264
    154
    85
See reviews for
622
771
23
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We arrived and were greeting with professionalism and kindness from the gentleman at the entrance to the bellmen to the registration desk to the waitresses and the entire hotel staff. The building was built in 1902 and gee they have loved it well, wonderful to see such care, which we could see in the grounds, the pools, the spa and the dinning rooms. It can be a bit on the expensive side, but everything was so worthwhile.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The Homestead is a wonderful place to visit and bask in luxury. Since Omni has taken over the hotel it is a bit less formal, which is great. The Cascades golf course is a treat--but be warned it is very difficult! The food is great, but it is very expensive. We are thinking of returning with our kids next year to enjoy the water park.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Omni did a great job on their recent renovations. When we dined at the "1766 Restaurant" before they changed it to the "Jefferson", we were always happy wit the service and the quality of the food. We had a terrible experience with the quality of the food this time around, and it was unfortunate as we were celebrating our 27th wedding anniversary and chose to go there. Unless some drastic changes are made, when we return to the Homestead I don't think we would eat there again, which, unfortunately, doesn't really leave you with too many choices. Sam Snead is good; never had a bad experience with food quality or service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

What a wonderful experience and a return to another era in traveling and lodging. This resort offers amenities as they would have been delivered over a century ago....a true luxury hotel. Very relaxing, with plenty of activities to participate in without leaving the grounds. A wonderful experience...we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Homestead Resort is a great facility. Beautiful location and surroundings, A lot of activities to take part in. The staff is great and will do everything to make meet your needs. They truly look after their guest.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The room was very disappointing. Old and musty. We reserved a room with a balcony, but it didnt come with one. Called front desk and they couldnt help. Said no more rooms available. Dinner was okay but our server was rude as she made a comment on the size of the steak we ordered, as if to say, "You're going to eat all that!" kind of reaction.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni Homestead Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.