We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as grand and exiting a place as I thought it would be!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Homestead Resort

Save Saved
You added The Omni Homestead Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Omni Homestead Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hot Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Belize City, Belize
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not as grand and exiting a place as I thought it would be!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Was not impressed and really thought this place was overrated and overpriced.
Golf course was great!
Staff were very helpful!
Was very disappointed by the quality of the food, and over the course of our 4 day stay, ate downtown mostly. Some very nice restaurants and steaks in town!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for visiting our historic resort this past April with friends. We are happy that you enjoyed our golf courses and the Southern hospitality of our staff, but are disappointed that we did not meet all your expectations. We are hopeful that you will consider another visit with us and allow us to provide the positive experience you were expecting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,901 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    891
    510
    262
    154
    84
See reviews for
611
758
23
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This place was astounding. The hospitality was top notch. The food was amazing and the spa is just to die for. This was our first trip, but we're already planning another back! Also, the staff was LGBTQ-friendly (it was apparent to some, based on our accommodations and all, that we were a same sex, mixed race couple). We never had a problem.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Wonderful getaway within 5 hours from Maryland. Beautiful setting and lots to do for all ages. The food and service are outstanding. Loved the afternoon tea. The Jefferson pools are a must do. Be cautious of the extras that can raise the overall price of the stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynchburg, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

The experience was excellent. Price is high, but went into it knowing that and can understand why. The place is top end and the upkeep must be significant. We stayed only one night, and everything was great - excellent staff assistance whenever needed. Service ranks very high.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Overall we had a great time. I think some things at your hotel are way overpriced. the $8.50 Evian water in the room is ridiculous. If you were to drop these prices to even $5.00 I think more people would pay for it. Marking up items like this 600 to 700% is outrageous and can give you a bad reputation. I have ready many negative reviews on the Internet and they all revolve around the pricing. If your management can adjust "some" of these prices I think the negative reviews will disappear.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for visiting The Omni Homestead and for your useful commentary and suggestions, which we will certainly take into consideration. We hope that you find the opportunity to visit with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Absolutely blown away at the friendliness of the staff--the Bellmen, Front Desk, Gift Shop and the ladies at Martha's Market. The property itself is a sight to behold. It has the charm of an old colonial mansion, but is tastefully appointed with all the expected modern amenities. Our excursions were to the Jefferson Pools and the Gorge Hike. You will see many comment on the condition of the pool buildings, but once you're in the water, you kind of forget about it. Such a cool experience. The Gorge Hike was also very good. The scenery was amazing and our guide, Allen, did a great job at explaining various things as we made our way through the forest. We ate at Snead's Tavern for dinner on both of our nights. On our first night, we had the pleasure of having Steve as our waiter. Steve is from Jamaica and as frequent visitors to Jamaica ourselves, we enjoyed talking to him. A true gentleman. You will pay premium prices , but the food is worth it (especially the pot pie). We grabbed breakfast at Martha's Market the morning of our checkout and had great food and great customer service by the staff. If you like to hike, the Deer Lick trail which starts by Snead's Tavern is a very challenging hike, but is well worth it. Plus, the best part is it is free! As a life-long Virginian, I am proud to say that the Omni Homestead is located in my state. I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This was our second trip to the Homestead, but this time it was just my husband and I. Yet again another exceptional experience. We spend our days in the spa garden which was very relaxing and serene. Although many other reviewers complained about the price of food I think it's very reasonable for a resort. Sometimes you get what you pay for and all of our meals were fabulous. The breakfast is hard to beat with fresh baked breads, homemade sausage, smoked salmon and capers... I could go on and on. But what really sets this resort apart from others is the attention to detail and the service.

We will be back again and again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni Homestead Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.