We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first trip to the Homestead” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Homestead Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Omni Homestead Resort to your Saves list
The Omni Homestead Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Special!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My first trip to the Homestead”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My wife and I just celebrated our 14th year anniversary so we decided to go to the Homestead for one night on Sat May 17th 2014. We had a great time overall. The grounds are beautiful and very relaxing. The room we stayed in had a king bed and a pretty big sitting area and it was very comfortable. The resort was not crowded at all which was a bonus for us. We hung out at Sam Snead's tavern and watched the Preakness with the bartender Mimi who has worked there for 43 years and she was a wealth of knowledge.
I decided to bring my own bottle of champagne and bucket to surprise my wife and when we got back in to our room before dinner, the hotel had already put a bottle on ice along with chocolate covered strawberries which was unexpected and a pleasant surprise.
Dinner in the main dining hall very very nice as well.
My only complaint is how everything is over priced. There were 2 bottles of Evian water in our hotel room which cost $8.50 each. I don't understand a 600 to 700% mark up on these types of items.
Honestly, if the water was $5.00 each I probably would have paid for them but $8.50 for water is outrageous. I think if the hotel dropped their prices on certain items they would sell a lot more and increase their overall revenue.
Overall we were very pleased with the service, and the hotel.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 14th floor right above the Jefferson dining area it was great. I did not hear anyo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Omni Homestead to spend your anniversary. We are thrilled you enjoyed your visit, and appreciate not only your kind comments, but suggestions as well which we will take into consideration. We hope that you will be able to return soon for a longer visit and enjoy more of what our historic resort is all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,161
    616
    313
    169
    99
See reviews for
725
952
33
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Our long weekend stay was nothing short of amazing. Prior to arriving, Kristen at the concierge desk helped me plan a surprise wine and fruit delivery for my husband's birthday. Everything was waiting in our room when we arrived. Upon arriving, every aspect of the weekend was delightful. Chef Roderick made our dinner in the main dining room unforgettable with fabulous food, including a beautiful and tasty veggie plate. The Jon West band was good and we enjoyed dancing. On Sunday, my massage with Tatyana was one of the best I have ever had. If you have a spa service, you can use the rest of the spa for the remainder of the day and we enjoyed doing so. Definitely check out the eucalyptus steam room and heated loungers. Our Sunday night dinner at the Jefferson was fun and tasty as well and our server, Raylene, was really sweet. After dinner, there was a lovely fire outside which was a perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine before venturing downstairs for miniature bowling and an arcade to end the night. Prior to leaving today, we did the mineral soak at spa and that was a great way to end our weekend. Everyone who worked at the Homestead went out of their way to be pleasant and helpful for the entire weekend. We definitely hope to return soon.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
We are so glad to hear that you had such a wonderful experience at The Omni Homestead. We pride ourselves on providing legendary service to our guests, and will pass along the review to our associates you were so kind to mention so they know what an exceptional impact they had on your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My girlfriend and I were passing through Virginia and decided to stay the night. The experience was incredible, but the kitchens closed at 11pm. I probably would have ordered a lot more of the fancy drinks at their bar if I could have a meal or snack late on Friday night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This Hotel/Spa experience was one of the best I've experienced in years. Truly relaxing, with so much to do. The friendliness of the entire staff is outstanding! Very attuned to your personal needs. Our entire stay was the best!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My family and I had a great weekend at the Homestead. From the moment we pulled onto the premises to the moment we checked out, we were pampered! We really enjoyed the cinnamon donuts at Martha's Market and our round of golf on the Lower Course!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We visit here a couple of times a year, and we love it! Malts night we had dinner in The Jefferson Lounge, and I have to say without question, it was the best meal I have ever enjoyed in this hotel. We had a charcuterie plate, which was outstanding, and crab cakes...yum! So, without question, we love the food!

BUT...for breakfast you have essentially two choices...breakfast sandwiches in the coffee shop, or a full, over the top breakfast. This morning we went to the coffee shop, and they were sold out of the sandwiches, our options were a bagel, or pastries. Big frown. We didn't want a big breakfast, either. So, just wish there were a bacon and eggs choice! Then, 6 stars for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for visiting The Omni Homestead and for posting your review. We enjoy hearing from our long-time repeat guests as your opinions are important to us. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal at The Jefferson, our newest restaurant. We are sorry we were sold out of your favorite sandwiches at Martha’s Market and will take your suggestion into consideration when planning our menu options. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We had a wonderful stay. It is a lovely place to get away and really relax. The dining options are excellent, the rooms are beautiful, there is a ton of activities to choose from and the views are amazing. The staff couldn't be nicer and more accommodating. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni Homestead Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.