We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Homestead Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Omni Homestead Resort to your Saves list
The Omni Homestead Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Special!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for families!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The Homestead is a picturesque hotel in the Allegheny Mountains in Virginia and is a perfect getaway for couples, families or groups. There are so many great activities and amenities - three days just wasn't enough. Rooms were clean and well-appointed (we were in the newest wing), food was great and service was amazing. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,171
    616
    314
    169
    99
See reviews for
729
957
33
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Not sure what the people who gave this place the high ratings are used to but I was very disappointed. The building itself needs a lot of maintenance. There is rusting and paint peeling. The photos online are particularly misleading especially the indoor pool. The walls were cracking and one of the huge vents next to the pool looked like it was going to fall off the wall. Our room was also hugely disappointing. Very small. We had two rooms - one for our kids and one for the parents. The bathroom looked like a Motel 6 including a terrible shower with very weak water pressure and a faded wicker shelf next to the toilet. After our 4 hour drive, we went to Jefferson's to grab an afternoon snack (dinner wasn't served until 5:30). Our waitress took FOREVER to bring our drinks so we had to go to the bar and just order it ourselves. The food took 30 minutes to arrive as well and it was just bar food. Same thing the next day at the Casino restaurant. The service throughout the hotel was very slow the whole weekend. We put our kids - age 7 and 9 in the kids camp and they ended up calling us on my cell begging us to pick them up. By comparison, we did the same at Nemacolin in PA, and our kids threw a fit when we came to get them because they loved it so much and didn't want to leave! So not very relaxing for the parents if the kids aren't entertained at the kids club. All I can say is we went there so now we know what it's all about but never again. I would give it 2 stars but I wouldn't say it was poor but definitely average and not worth the time or money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for posting your candid review. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations or ours during your visit with family. The Homestead recently completed a $25 million restoration and plans are underway for continued restorations to this magnificent historic property. We do apologize for the slow service during a very busy time period and ask that you return again in the future so we may regain your goodwill and confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Lovely location for a three generation Easter weekend with many activities for all ages, good food, lovely amenities. The place oozes with elegance, but it is not stiff and haughty. The staff are all SO nice, friendly and eager to help with anything. Rooms are huge.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We are thrilled that your family of three generations chose The Homestead to spend your Easter weekend. As you found out, we have lots to do for guests of all ages! We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The Homestead is a beautiful old historic hotel and is definitely worth the experience. The outdoor and indoor swimming pools as well as the natural hot mineral springs are wonderful. The staff are very friendly and it is a great place for kids. Plenty of entertainment for kids of all ages. The price for the room is not that much - but the restaurants, spa and other things are what makes it really expensive - though I would say the spa was worth it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Virginia, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Our family loves getting together for a long weekend at the Homestead. Some other high-quality resorts have a "snobby" atmosphere. But the sincere, down-to-earth, "above and beyond" service at the Homestead makes us feel as though it is a "home away from home."

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel is very pretty and fancy. Rooms are all well-appointed. Just be prepared for all the extras as not much is provided within the resort charge but for Internet access and the pools. Restaurants are pretty expensive. If you have a family, do take advantage of the outdoor and indoor pools, the free movies at night, and the chess and checkers tables. Make arrangements far in advance for dining, even for their "low-end" restaurants. We dined at Martha's Market for breakfast and found that to be a great option with a family. And it was packed too. It was too chilly when we were there, but there is a playground and some nice hikes as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Excellent spring break at a beautiful resort with something for everyone! Helpful staff at every turn and activities to draw you outside and into the rich history of the area. Family particularly enjoyed the unlimited activities package which allowed everyone to participate in activities they enjoy as well as try new activities!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni Homestead Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.