We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below Expectations...Again.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Homestead Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Omni Homestead Resort to your Saves list
The Omni Homestead Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Special!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Virginia Beach, United States
1 review
“Below Expectations...Again.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This was my 2nd trip to The Homestead, and the same problems were encountered both times. The room was not up to cleanliness standards (spider webs in corners, last guest's golf tees on floor, dust on baseboards). The paint in the bathroom was peeling badly. The soaps & shampoos were not replenished. The used towels & trash were not picked up. The valet service was a major problem in the late evening. On the plus side, the food was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting The Homestead and for sharing helpful details regarding your room accommodations. Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations or ours during your stay. It is our goal to provide each and every guest with clean, comfortable, luxurious accommodations, and delightful memories of their visit. Many of the details you mentioned have been addressed in our Omni Standard “Care Program” which ensures each and every room is detailed and deep cleaned including furniture twice a year. Food is also a big focus for us right now and we are delighted you found our food offerings to be excellent. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for what we hope will be a delightful experience next time that will exceed all expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,170
    616
    314
    169
    99
See reviews for
729
956
33
362
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mount Joy, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

EVERYTHING from the check in on through the eventual, sad departure was simply AMAZING at this facility. The staff are nothing but first class. This is THE place to stay for a historic, southern getaway. Whether on business, a couples retreat or a family vacation, The Homestead will not disapoint you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Of the many places that my husband and I have traveled, The Homestead is our favorite. There is a sense of grace and peace there that is very rare and special. We would recommend this resort to anyone - young or old. It's wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

After our long drive to the Homestead we were finally rewarded by breathtaking views of the surrounding mountains and valleys. The staff were very friendly upon arrival, and kindly upgraded us to a larger room. Overall the room was of good quality, with luxury sheets and down pillows on the bed, and a spacious marble bathroom. There were a couple of niggling issues though with the TV that wouldn't turn off at the switch and a loud AC unit, although that wasn't all bad because at least it masked the sound of my boyfriend snoring!

There are many activities on offer at the Homestead but as we were having a relaxing weekend we didn't bother trying many of them. The first day was sunny so we went hiking on one of the trails (Deerlick) suggested by the hotel concierge. The trail takes you along the side of the golf course and then to the top of a nearby mountain. We didn't see any other people on the trail, probably because we visited during low season, so it gave us a pleasant sense of isolation. The next day the weather was much poorer so we opted for the spa, which turned out to be excellent value for money at $40 per person. The hot spring-fed whirlpool in the spa garden is just divine, I could've stayed there for a week. Their 'aqua thermal suite' is probably the best I've ever visited, and I'm from Europe where this kind of spa or hamam is much more common. The wonderfully lavender scented herbal cocoon room was my favorite. I suspect the spa is nowhere near as nice when the hotel is full though, its really nice to have the different rooms and pools to yourself.

Where the homestead really lets itself down is on the dining options. We ate at the Casino restaurant, Sam Sneads and the Main Dining Room. Sam Sneads was definitely the best food, sure it was way overpriced for what is essentially basic home cooking, but at least is was done very well, and the tavern has a cosy atmosphere. The other venues make a poor attempt at 'fine dining' and charge ridiculous prices for it, which they only get away with because they have a captive audience. The main dining room was probably the worst, while I can appreciate we were paying for the atmosphere, I would've been upset paying a third of the price for that food. It was stale, unimaginative, and frankly some of it tasted like it came out of a box (pre-made bread rolls anyone? gravy from a can perhaps?). The only redeeming feature is the wonderfully quaint afternoon tea service, which you should definitely try to take advantage of.

Overall I would recommend the Homestead to couples and families. If only they could spruce up their dining options it could really be a top class resort. I understand, however, it's probably difficult to entice top chefs to come and live in the middle of nowhere Virginia, where everything closes at 9pm.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your candid review. It is good to know that you enjoyed your accommodations and The Homestead’s many activities such as hiking and especially our newly renovated Spa. Please, however, accept my sincere apology for not meeting all your expectations on dining options. We pride ourselves in providing a high quality product and experience within our Food and Beverage outlets. However, sometimes we fall short of the mark and we learn from our mistakes. I can assure you that we have taken steps to prevent a recurrence of the type you experienced and hope that you will come back in the future and try us again. As a matter of fact, we are revamping our menus for the spring with new and exciting offerings. Please contact our Food and Beverage Department directly if you choose to visit again and we will personally assist you with dining options.
Gregory Barnhill
Executive Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

As normal, a great weekend at the homestead. I did not like my view from my room, but other than that a perfect weekend. Great food, drink, entertainment, and fun things to do. Loved the Nature Hike the best!! Thank you Brian for a great time with your jokes and nature!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for returning to The Homestead and we regret that on this stay you did not enjoy the view from your room. It is good to know that otherwise you had a perfect weekend and especially were delighted with the guided gorge hike by our naturalist, Brian. Brian is a valued associate who has been with us for many years. We will be sure to pass on your kind accolades to him and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We took a weekend getaway to the Homestead and enjoyed it thoroughly....we got bumped up no charge to a fantastic suite with a view and enjoyed the entire stay. We did use the Kids Center and babysitting service and amazed to find both kids asleep when we returned from dinner.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkersburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

verey nice old hotel great scenery and beauty lots of history the staff is excellant at the resort 1st indoor swimming pool in the country new spa is modern and verey nice new pool area is verey relaxing i felt verey pampered and relaxed

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni Homestead Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.