We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than before” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Homestead Resort

Save Saved
You added The Omni Homestead Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Expedia.com
and 7 more sites!
The Omni Homestead Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hot Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
va
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Even better than before”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We have been off and on for the past 13 or so years. This last time was even better. The new pool area quite fun and the spa garden very nice. The spa side was nice and enjoyable. They needed a bit more Canyon Ranch Guidance inside for the services (I am a big fan and visitor of Tucson Canyon Ranch). But, when we were there it had just had the change over. The new spa dining was not yet open and the cafe at the pool was not up to speed yet. That said, it was when they first opened. I am hoping that by the next visit , the bugs will be out of those things.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms over the desk area as they tend to be hot. Corner room are very small if an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,592 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    686
    445
    235
    146
    80
See reviews for
518
631
16
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, VA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at the Omni Homestead Resort in Hot Springs, VA for 2 nights in January. We very much enjoyed our stay, though there are some areas for improvement.

Resort: The resort is lovely, and very large. It has plenty of southern hospitality and charm. The tradition of the afternoon tea (the only thing that is complimentary) from 3-4pm daily is fun, and provides an afternoon snack. The pianist, David Hill, in the main hall near the lobby bar is exceptional, and we very much enjoyed listening to him each evening with a post-dinner drink.

Rooms: We stayed in the older section of the building. From what we understand, these rooms are not as large, but they have more of the traditional feel of the resort in the style and decor. Our room was clean, and well appointed, but the bathroom was very small. The newer rooms in the garden wing, however, are very far from everything else at the resort (spa, shuttle pickup, pools, etc), so if you are on that end, be prepared for walking. It was a little noisy, particularly on our second morning.

Activities: There is no shortage of things to do, even in the winter. Winter activities include use of the spa, mineral/hot springs pools, skiing, snowmobiling, snow tubing, ice skating, etc. We did the Spa Garden pass and utilized the spa amenities and outdoor pools. Despite the cold air, the warm mineral pools were refreshing. We also tried the Jefferson pools, which are actually about 6 miles from the resort - make sure you catch a shuttle which only comes on the half hour. You can get an hour long pass. The snow tubing and snowmobiling were FUN! We didn't try skiing and were happy with that choice as I'm not sure the snow was great for skiing. There is a game room downstairs ($1/game for the arcade style games), bowling, and there's also a theater that plays two movies each night.

Dining: There are several restaurants, including the Main Dining Hall, Jefferson's, Sam Snead's, and the Casino Restaurant (not sure why it's called this as there is no casino on site). We had hoped to have lunch at Sam Snead's but it was only open for dinner, so we had lunch at Jefferson's the day we arrived. This experience was poor. The server did the best she could, but they were severely understaffed. The quality of the food was poor. Dinner at the Casino Restaurant was interesting - not the atmosphere we expected (much more casual), but the food was good. Breakfast in the Main Dining Hall is buffet style - lots of options and good ol' southern food. However, it is overly expensive. Including tip, $70 each morning for breakfast for two people. Dinner at the Main Dining Hall is $68/person for a three course meal. The quality of the food was decent, but not great, and certainly not what we would expect for the prices. But the atmosphere is fun - a fancy dinner (coats required for gentlemen), a live band, dancing, and all in a beautiful room. Overall, the wait staff was always friendly and polite, but could be trained on a higher level of dining experience that I would expect for that style/price. To save money, bring your own snacks to keep in the room (though no fridge in the room). Martha's Market is where you can grab a quick snack instead of a full meal.

Service: The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful, as were those working at the concierge desk. The bell staff and valets were mostly friendly. The wait staff, as I mentioned, were always friendly but could use some additional training on proper etiquette. The spa staff were very friendly and professional, as well all the activity staff we encountered and shuttle drivers. Overall very good service.

Prices: I mention this as a separate category because it is important to know going in and to manage your expectations. The cost of the room and your stay is only one small piece. Dining and drinks are very expensive. Cocktails/glasses of wine were typically $10-15 each. Activities are expensive. There is a $10/night valet charge and a $30/night "resort fee." There didn't seem to be much of anything included in the room price - not even bottles of water in the room. The only things included in the price are the afternoon tea and the one indoor and one outdoor pool. Everything else is at a cost. Check out the amenities and price sheets on the hotel website. My suggestion to management would be to lower the resort fee and include the cost of valet parking in the resort fee. Also, include a couple of activity passes with each stay, provide bottles of water in the room each day, and maybe include some free passes for games in the game room.

Overall, this was a beautiful resort and we greatly enjoyed our stay. The activities are fun, the live music very entertaining, the service is good, and the charm and southern hospitality could never grow old. Our rating of 4 comes primarily from the lack of quality with the food and the prices on everything. Go in with the expectation that you will pay a pretty penny for everything you'd like to do, and you will be pleased with your overall experience.

Room Tip: The Garden Wing is newer but the rooms are farther from everything (activities, shuttles, spa, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Having never been to the Homestead but hearing how great the service was; I was beyond disappointed at the level of service in many facets (or lack there of.) Walking into a hotel room, it shouldn't take a guest all of two seconds to see the king-sized bed had a dip which shaped it like a 'c.' Why the staff couldn't recognize this and rectify it at some point was baffling. When we came back for dinner and Joey was turning down our room, he made an attempt to call maintenance to put a bed board under the mattress. It was futile. The bed was just terrible; leading to a poor night's sleep.
The following afternoon in the Jefferson bar/restaurant; I found simply ordering a beer which was on the menu was too much for one server to handle. He proceeded to tell me said IPA was out as was every other selection except for one. I'd have accepted this perhaps at a Chuck 'E' Cheese but having walked past the bar to our table not 5 minutes earlier, it was hard not to see 6 working taps. After ordering my third choice, I walked up to the bar, spoke to the bartender who offered me a selection that was not even listed on the menu. Changing beers I can understand, but not informing your wait staff was intolerable. Especially when he tried to argue with me further that the selection I wanted STILL didn't exist!
Also, to tell us that bread wasn't included with our salads at lunch was a joke.

Dinner in the Main Dining room, which is supposed to be an 'exquisite event' where you must dress the part was even more miserable. Though the menu looked appealing and the food was actually quite nice, the experience was absolutely awful. We took 6 adults and 3 children for a 6:30 seating. We were placed off the main portion of the room most likely because of the size of the party into an empty section at that point. This should have been a cake walk for our soon to be overwhelmed (which is an understatement) server. A simple question about a menu item returned a blank look on her face with a response, "The menu is new, I'm not sure what that is." there were 6 entree options, how could a staff not be briefed in a place like that?! It's training and communication. Both of which lacked. Some in our party had been here before The Homestead was transitioned to an Omni property and were stunned at the lack of attentiveness and staff. Nevertheless, a three hour dinner when you know there are children involved was totally unacceptable. If you can't handle kids in the dining room anymore, then say so, and we'd have been happy to secure a sitter or pick another place.

Overall, the activities are great and our kids had a nice time but I'm hard pressed to go back to a place what can't seem to shine and be polished like its competitors in the industry.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I must say my family and I had very nice weekend stay at the Omni Homestead. Staff is very friendly, and everyone tries to make your stay as comfortable as they can for you. Only suggestion I have is that you may want to reserve your dinner reservations and activity reservations at least a week in advance. We had a hard time getting dinner reservations, plus could not do the tubing because they were all booked up.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hotel's service makes it not worth the visit to anymore. Staff is ignorant when it comes to taking care of that level of guest properly. Three hours in the main dining room with three kids and six adults because of a lack of understanding of the menu, how to deliver, who to deliver to and when to read your guests dissatisfaction are just the tip of the ice burg here. Staff not knowing what beers are on tap and dour faces all around, don't make one feel very welcome in a supposed iconic hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We were so excited for our weekend getaway since we purchased a living social deal for two nights and an activity voucher for 2 people. When we first arrived everyone was so nice and accommodating then we get to our room which was a deluxe room and felt like we were at a motel 8. It look outdated and very worn with wall paper, peeling stains, dirty carpet. Many dust bunnies as well. Bathroom was horrible, shower was small and you had to turn a timer to turn on the light/fan. Shower head was weak. We ate at Jefferson for dinner and it was mediocre the food price was $$ and food was okay. We got the crab cake and the prime rib sandwich. We were going to have breakfast the next day but saw it was $30 pp for the buffet we quickly asked another guest how it was and they said they didn't care for it and recommended to go somewhere else. The only good thing they had was "tea time" served at 3-4pm to guests at the lobby with various tea, sandwich and scones. Very crowded weekend so it was petty noisy and kids running around so we didn't get to enjoy the pool. We chose to do the skeet shooting which was terrific- jimmy our instructor was so kind and a terrific teacher. Overall the we would rate our stay a 2- room accommodations were horrible and not clean!!! Stay somewhere else if you plan to goto a 4 star resort!!!! Too expensive for everything for a place that is not going to upkeep this originally beautiful hotel/resort

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hotel is very over rated. If you are looking for this type of hotel, go to the Greenbriar. For the price, the service was average, the linens in the room had stains, and the were issues with the shower. The food in the Jefferson was good, but the main dining room left much to be desired. Additionally, there were kids running around day and night. I felt like I was on a Disney Cruise.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
The Homestead Hotel
Homestead Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs
Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Canyon Ranch SpaClub at The Omni Homestead debuted in June 2013 and is the first SpaClub to introduce family spa services. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center and show ring, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni Homestead Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.