We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continues to be a top Virginia resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Homestead Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Omni Homestead Resort to your Saves list
The Omni Homestead Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Continues to be a top Virginia resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

As usual the attention of the staff and the service remain the best in the state. The golf is outstanding as all the sports available. Recent purchase of the property by Omni promises many upgrade the facility.Wonder choice for couples or families

Room Tip: .garden wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,223
    636
    327
    179
    99
See reviews for
768
996
33
371
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

From the moment of check in, there were problems. No itinerary given and when finally got one, it is was incorrect. I had a worm in my tea. The spa had renovations, but it was a line to wait to use the sauna and steam room. My request for a female therapist for my daughter went out the window. We requested maintenance because we had no air, but no one came to the room for the duration of our trip. The employees are not up to the resorts standards in appearance or service. It was so disappointing as I have gone there for 16 years. I would recommend going 30 minutes down the road to the Greenbrier where the service and all amenities are far superior to the Homestead.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for speaking with our Front Office Manager regarding your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your visit. As mentioned to you, it is our hope that you will return in the future and allow us an opportunity to show you a truly great Homestead experience and regain your goodwill and confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Traveled here with a friend who is in the Owners Club. WOW. Individual homes, three bedrooms, three and 1/2 baths. Two levels of screened porches running the length of the house and around the side. Bottom area also contained a hot tub.
The resort provides van transportation around the property-all you have to do is call and bingo they arrive. The grounds are breathtaking, the activities endless, the southern charm never ending.
The best is BRIAN the tour guide for the Gorges Hike. He was knowledgeable, charming, humorous and made the hike the best part of the trip!
The SPA is heavenly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Great Hotel, amazing food and service and location! The spa was great, food was top notch and grounds are perfect and plenty to do. Would go back no problem. Had a great trip. Rooms were excellent and staff was great and helpful. Great activities and plenty to do. Check out the hot springs to swim in and loved it. Go play golf or mountain bike or hike--they have it all and more then you can believe.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This grand old resort has seen a lot of new amenities but the overall grandeur and ambiance has diminished. Omni needs to take some care with the basics. The service when you check in is great but the dining service is very very slow.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for visiting The Homestead for a meeting. We recently completed a $25 million renovation to our historic property, and exciting plans are being made for more restorations. We suggest you return in the future for a relaxing long weekend or vacation and allow us the opportunity to provide you with a truly great Homestead experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

When we need to get away from the chao of the DC area, we take a long weekend at The Homestead. We have been doing this for almost 40 years. It is just like 'going to our Southern home.' There are so many interesting activities, that we can do us much or as little as we want.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Homestead is a beautiful property nestled in the mountains of Bath County, VA. Certainly there is a lot of history here, but I don't think the historical value is equal to the value of the accommodations. When paying +$400/night, one would expect proper lighting in the room, a tub that drains and wallpaper that's pristine. Instead we had a room where there was no light source for half the space, wallpaper peeling in the bathroom and we stood in several inches of water when we showered. We were convinced that we got the less than stellar room because we used a Living Social deal - we could not have afforded the stay otherwise. All in all the stay wasn't horrible. We got fantastic (yet tragically overpriced) massages, had a fun trail ride on horseback, played games in the Downtime room and had some good (though again, overpriced) meals. The best meal we had, however, was in the Village of Hot Springs at a dive called Lindsay's Grill and Bar. I highly recommend eating there over any of the restaurants in the resort. The staff at the Homestead was top notch and the scenery is breathtaking. We were utterly disappointed overall and would be hard-pressed to recommend this property to our friends. Would we go again? I highly doubt it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at our historic resort. We value guest comments and view them as a way to improve the guest experience. We regret that your accommodations did not meet your expectations. We have recently completed a $25 million restoration project and plans are underway for further restoration in the future. It is good to know that you enjoyed your massage, horseback ride, DownTime, and the Southern hospitality of our staff. We do hope that you will consider a return visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Groupon, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni Homestead Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.