We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“golf heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Homestead Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Omni Homestead Resort to your Saves list
The Omni Homestead Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“golf heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was the first time that I have visited the Homestead without my familly. My golf buddies and I were treated just as warmly as always. The golf was top notch , and the hotel amenities that have recently been added , such as the arcade , was perfect after golf entertainment. The staff really makes the experience special, Montiro and Luis at the Casino restaurant and Oniel/ Herbert and especially Neville in the banquet dept. are all outstanding, with wonderful service and personalities. My familly looks forward to our twice a year visits, it really does feel like home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for visiting The Homestead for some golf on our top-rated mountain courses. It is always good to hear from our repeat visitors as your opinions are important to us. Thank you also for recognizing so many of our associates by name. We will be sure to share your accolades with them and they will appreciate you taking the time to recognize their efforts to be of service. We look forward to welcoming you back “home” again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,340
    693
    351
    186
    102
See reviews for
835
1,078
39
401
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nokesville, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great customer service,food at Jefferson Room was not good at all. Indoor pool not open but was not told until arrival Older resort needs some upgrading. Fantastic golf and amenities but very overpriced overall

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
While I was pleased to read that you enjoyed great customer service and fantastic golf during your recent visit, I would like to apologize for not meeting all your expectations. The indoor pool did need some maintenance that necessitated closing it on short notice. Many of our guests instead enjoyed the two heated outdoor pools that remain open year-round, one a family pool and the other an adults-only pool. I have shared your comments regarding Jefferson’s with our Culinary Team so that we may make improvements. We recently completed a $25 million renovation project to dining venues, public space and our Spa, and are making exciting plans for additional future improvements to our historic resort. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

While the hotel is not easy to get to the journey was worth it. located in the mountains of VA the historical hotel, great service, fantastic scenery made it all worth the extra effort. The old course was fun to play and we enjoyed a day of spa service and took a carriage ride around the property. Was a lovely 4 day get away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We didn't get the room we reserved which made for a very uncomforatble first night on double beds in a hot room. The Homestead is a beautiful historic hotel, but make sure you know the kind of room you're getting since they range from nice suites with beautiful views to "EconoLodge" variety.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We sincerely apologize we were unable to accommodate you in a king-bedded room the first evening of your stay and that you found your room to be uncomfortable. It is our goal to provide each and every guest with first-class accommodations, Southern hospitality, and a unique, memorable experience. Please contact me the next time you would like to visit so that I may personally oversee your arrangements and ensure a great Homestead experience.
Brent Glashan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I know that the Homestead will start with the cookie-cutter response of "thanks for highlighting the positive aspects of your stay," but it is impossible to ignore a few of the issues that still prevent this from being a top-notch place. Just recently returned from a 5 day trip with family - as previously reviewed, I have been here many times in the past, so I have a decent perspective on how The Homestead has evolved over the years.

The Jefferson Grill is downright odd, and not in a good way - appreciate that they've livened things up in the bar area (vs. the very stodgy President's Bar), but the restaurant retains the high-end prices without the high-end food or high-end atmosphere (previously the food was quite good). The service was downright awful - confused host and waiters from drinks to dessert - and the food was equally bad. The bone-in filet is mediocre at best (gray, lifeless), with a stock marinade of Lawry's quality and a $49 price tag - terrible mashed potatoes (a holdover from my last review) and lifeless asparagus. I cannot overstate how poor the dining experience was. It was atrocious.

The "pub" beneath the Jefferson has been rejuvenated with a kids focus - new arcade games, mini-bowling, air hockey, etc. A bittersweet change - we've spent many nights in the old version of the bar, but my kids certainly appreciate the new look and feel. Overall, an improvement for sure.

Great bar/staff in the lobby - one of last year's upgrades, which was closed when we were there due to low occupancy. This time it was very lively and fun. Also glad they found a proper home for the President portraits that previously adorned the President's Bar.

Fishing pond - just to the right of the pool complex/mini-golf area. We borrowed a pole from the Allegheny Activities shop in the main house for my toddler to use. When we got to the pond, it couldn't cast. The reel was basically rusted out and useless. When I went back to exchange it, the lady commented "yeah, none of them work and we are trying to replace them." First - why give us a rod in the first place when you knew it was busted? Second - those kids Zebco's cost $15 on Amazon, so there is no excuse to have a bounty of them available. Others in my party commented that the legitimate fly fishing gear "available" for rent was also broken, which is completely inexcusable for a peak weekend in the fall. As I understand it, the hotel was 98% full on Saturday, so they likely angered a lot of people.

The new mini golf is poorly conceived. Good looking, but not your proper layout. As silly as it may seem, most holes should have a path to a hole in one. This "track," however, is just a bunch of arbitrary bumps and curves, with no rhyme or reason. Also think it is insulting that they list a $1.25 lost ball fee and a $50 destroyed putter fee - are people so reckless that the masses have to be insulted with that type of "bounty" for issues? Definitely not fitting of a classy hotel.

The new lazy river is very cool, and my kids enjoyed it thoroughly. A particular shout out to the lifeguard staff, who were extremely friendly and engaging. They were far and above the most memorable folks we met on our trip. If the lazy river does, indeed, stay open all year, I think they should consider turning off some of the overhead sprinklers/waterfalls. The water is warm, but the air temp could be a problem.

The indoor pool was completely out of commission this week. Another miss, for sure. Apparently it was a broken pump, not a renovation, but still extremely disappointing.

Family did a few spa treatments - the renovations look great, and the staff were generally solid. Things sold out on Sunday, but our party still enjoyed a few pedicures/massages earlier in the week. Not cheap, but well worth it.

Cascades in very good shape this week. Had a great round. Separately, very disappointed to hear they got rid of the Lower Cascades. It wasn't the greatest track out there, but it was very enjoyable.

Overall, it's another hit or miss visit but much more miss this time than the last one I reviewed. A nice dining experience is always atop of my vacation priorities, and the Homestead simply did not deliver. Some promising facility upgrades, but key niggles that are hard to overlook - stop skimping on the small things that really tarnish the overall experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for being a repeat, valued guest of ours. We are very sorry to hear that some aspects of your stay were sub-par as we wish to create amazing memories each time you come. Be assured that your comments have been shared with our team so we may learn from your experience and make improvements. I would really appreciate you contacting me the next time you are planning a visit so I may personally assist with your arrangements. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon so we may provide you with the awesome experience you have come to expect from The Homestead.
Brent Glashan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Homestead is a wonderful retreat with great service and lovely rooms. We have only been in the Fall, but the leaves are always beautiful and the air cool and crisp. We also enjoy the afternoon teas with cookies and sandwiches. One our favorite places to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponchatoula, Louisiana
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

The Homestead is designed to make you relax. The beautiful scenery and exceptional service make this possible. The property was recently purchased by Omni. It will be exiting to see what they do to update this lovely property.
Tips: go for long walks; play golf on the exceptional courses; must do afternoon tea; eat trout!
Don't do the breakfast buffet unless you are a BIG eatery. At $27 a person, it is hard to feel like it was worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni Homestead Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.