We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Homestead Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Omni Homestead Resort to your Saves list
The Omni Homestead Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ponchatoula, Louisiana
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Relaxation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

The Homestead is designed to make you relax. The beautiful scenery and exceptional service make this possible. The property was recently purchased by Omni. It will be exiting to see what they do to update this lovely property.
Tips: go for long walks; play golf on the exceptional courses; must do afternoon tea; eat trout!
Don't do the breakfast buffet unless you are a BIG eatery. At $27 a person, it is hard to feel like it was worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,224
    637
    327
    179
    99
See reviews for
769
997
33
371
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palm City, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We only could afford to stay one night and had a great time. Staff were very friendly from the time we pulled into the driveway. Our request to upgrade to a suite was granted which made our trip even better. Complementary high tea, indoor heated mineral pool, and historical tour were great. The rooms dated by to 1904 and were nicely updated but still retained their historic character. Room service was prompt, very friendly and some of the best eggs benedict we've had anywhere. We skipped the spa facilities after seeing how much we could do without spending a small fortune. The grounds are beautifully kept.

Room Tip: Lower floors in the older sections have higher ceilings. As you go higher up, the ceilings get lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Our trip was a visit to the quality resort of years gone by. Comfortable environment with a beautiful setting. Wonderful new canyon ranch spa. Lots of fun doing skeet shooting at their on site shooting range. The breakfast buffet was fabulous! Although the dinner meals left something to be desired and could have been seasoned better. Overall a very nice experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We just returned from 4 days at the Homestead. The hotel and grounds are beautiful. Our room was in the garden wing and larger than the usual convention rooms. We were lucky about that, but the room needed a good cleaning, thick dust along the base boards, old grapes on the floor under the desk and along the edge of the bed.
The restaurant was very pricey, service OK, be careful about wines by the glass, I ordered a Merlot, thinking house wine, $16 a glass.
We had lunch in the bar area, could not find a clean table, one server working that area and there was a convention at the hotel!! The chopped salad had no lettuce and was tiny, with very old tomatoes. The only soup left was an asparagus soup, luke warm. Our server did not charge us for our lunch, which was a kind gesture. I think he was embarrassed.
Be aware of the personal parking, it is the same price as valet parking without the tip.
Also, internet was $19.95 for 24 hours, which we thought was high.

Room Tip: With all the beautiful grounds to see, ask for a view. The convention rooms did not have a view. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. We pride ourselves on being a luxury hotel with elegance and cleanliness throughout the property, and strive to provide each and every guest with a unique, memorable experience. Your comments and observations will be shared with our managers so that we may make improvements. (High-speed wireless internet is included in the Daily Resort Charge; however, there is a fee to upgrade).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Outstanding accomodations and service. An incredible place for a business meeting/conference, or just a weekend retreat. (Great golf as well!) I have visited for both business and peasure, and look forward to my next opportunity to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel will try and charge you twice for meals, and you may even get charged for an event given at the hotel during your time of stay that you did not participate in. Save your money and stay at another resort/hotel. This resort is not worth the money they are asking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
It is disappointing to read this posting after our conversations on Oct. 8 when we communicated and I apologized profusely for the accounting mix-up. This is a rare occurrence and was certainly not intentional. As I mentioned, we have rectified the error and again are very sorry for the inconvenience you experienced. We hope you will return again in the future.
Brent Glashan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

A great hotel but some problems with the food service and quality. Amenities are of excellent quality and the staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. Rooms are large and comfortable. There are some indications of deferred maintenance such as bath mats unraveling and mold around windows but nothing significant that would mar our stay. Overall, it still rates as excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
While I was certainly pleased to read that your overall experience was excellent, I wanted to sincerely apologize for not meeting all your expectations. We will revisit our processes in order to ensure that everything in our guestrooms is in order prior to arrival. Additionally, we have shared your observations with our Culinary Team who will use your comments as an opportunity for improvement. Thank you for letting us know about your visit, and we look forward to serving you again at The Homestead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Groupon and Tingo so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni Homestead Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.