We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Long Weekend with the Family - A MUST see!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Homestead Resort

Save Saved
You added The Omni Homestead Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Omni Homestead Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hot Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richmond VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An Amazing Long Weekend with the Family - A MUST see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were at The Homestead for the last weekend in September 2013. My husband, and three kids were amazed! We had a suite, two full rooms! The living room was perfect for the bigger kids to hang out in. They had two large flat screens, multiple seating areas, a fridge and table. Perfect for my family to hang out in and relax with out getting in each others hair. Our room in the tower had amazing views. Windows were floor to ceiling and opened like a patio door.

Grounds were immaculate! Staff was super nice, out of the way nice! Anything we needed was provided. THe lounge area under the Jefferson was perfect for the teens, a large game room, wii, bowling, xbox and arcade. Having a swipe card to charge to the room was perfect for them to use if we were not around. They borrowed fishing poles, had a fish in the trout pond. Played corn hold on the grounds, had a sit around the campfire every night.

Food was great, we had fine dining one night in the Jefferson, enjoyed the salmon. Hub had the steak. Both were above average in size and taste. Kids ate mostly from the game room lounge, pizza, fries and kid food.

Pool and lazy river were the best! Temperature was warm for the weekend, even in late September. Ample towels, lots of supervision via lifeguards, and the dressing rooms were spotless. No hair dryer in the change room.
Indoor pool is getting some TLC in renovations, but still usable and amazing looking! Feels very fancy to be in that pool, very historic.

Shops were in great order and friendly staff. Front desk folk were charming, and the concierge were helpful. Book you r dinners early to get early reservation times. Shuttle bus was easy to use and the stables were great. The staff at the stables were friendly and pleasant even when we were just visiting the horses, not riding.

My daughter and I enjoyed "tea time" at three each day, piano, chocolate and tea. Then rested on the front veranda rocking chairs afterwards. Bring your camera, it's a beautiful place to take photos of the kids.

Beautiful building, enjoyed the atmosphere. Very old south, charming and historic. I will be back again, and I can't say enough about this amazing family weekend. Thank you HOMESTEAD!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "tower" a must for a great view!
See more room tips
Green Features: They only collect towels every third day to save on washing, unless you put them in the shower tub to be gathered for laundry.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,044 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    973
    543
    280
    159
    89
See reviews for
668
815
27
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The food throughout our stay was sub-par. The pastries/bagels in Martha's Market were of poor quality and were not fresh. We intended on eating lunch and Canyon Ranch Cafe and it was closed. We were very disappointed. We ended up having to eat at the Spa Garden. The options were very limited. My sandwich was soggy from sitting pre-made in a container with pickle juice. My wife's chicken caesar had brown lettuce and only a few pieces of chicken. The food at the Jefferson Restaurant was appalling. The shrimp and grits are served with baby shrimp, which I've never seen in such a dish. A cheap way out. The parmesan truffle fries were frozen fries that you would find at a diner with some truffle oil and shaved parm added. The top layer of the brussel sprouts tasted fine, yet when you got to the bottom they were soaking in honey and inedible. We booked for a mini-honeymoon the day after our wedding, which I mentioned upon booking. While it would have been nice for the hotel to do something special, I was not looking for any type of free service. However, it would have been nice for SOMEONE to at least acknowledge our recent nuptials. On to some positives, the grounds were beautiful, the staff was very hospitable, and the spa made for a fantastic getaway. It's unfortunate but the sub-par dining will more than likely prevent us from returning. The restaurants charge way too much to be serving the quality food that they did.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
First, congratulations and best wishes to you and your bride. We are happy you chose The Homestead to spend your mini-honeymoon and that you enjoyed the grounds, the Southern hospitality of our staff, and our new Canyon Ranch SpaClub. We do apologize for not meeting your dining expectations. Be assured your detailed comments have been shared with our Culinary Team so we may make improvements. It is our hope you will return in the future so we may have an opportunity to regain your goodwill and confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

fantastic public areas, rooms , halls , food, horses, grounds are very beautiful pools are great inside and outside breakfast is wonderful everything was great and made the car ride to hotel well worth the visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Great place for a relaxing romantic weekend in a beautiful setting not "too far" from most anywhere in the mid-Atlantic. Expect to enjoy a slower pace of life in a stunning, rural mountain setting--but know many activities (spa treatments, adventure classes, etc.) run on fixed schedules and require reservations. It is possible to rest and have a dash of new experiences at the same time here by scheduling activities (everything from adventure driving to guided hiking to falconry to skeet shooting is available). Do not miss the Jefferson Pools for a mineral bath, essentially a very inexpensive ($17!) spa treatment in and of themselves in a unique setting. Year-round outdoor swimming is available in the attractive new Alleghany Springs pools as well. Use hotel shuttles to navigate the nearby grounds and attend afternoon tea to socialize with other guests. Make advance reservations for dinner and expect relatively pricey meals on grounds. The in-house coffee shop (Martha's Market) is a good option for quick-and-simple food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

I have been going to The Homestead for a number of years now for various conferences and events. Frankly, the old gal was beginning to show her age. A lot of the public area were becoming somewhat shabby and looked worn. Thus, I was excited to read last summer that Omni had purchased The Homestead.

My first experience at the Omni Homestead was less than satisfactory. Service at The Homestead has always been attentive and helpful and the rooms were spotlessly clean. Not this time.

I am not a neat freak and things like this don't normally bother me but I found hair in the shower and a used food container and a used cookie bag under the bed. There was also peeling paint in the bathroom and on the bathroom door. In the closet, the vent cover for the cooling system looked like it would fall from the ceiling any second.

The staff also seemed less attentive and there didn't seem to be as many staff around. In the past, if you passed any hotel employee in the hallway they would always greet you and call you "sir" or "ma'am." That was not universal this time. I also had to wait quite a while at the desk to check in. Again, not a huge deal but definately not something that happened at the old Homestead.

Omni only took over the property in July, so perhaps it's too early to judge, but the first impression was not a good one.

I've wondered in the past how this property has kept its 4 star (or 4 diamond) rating. I'm wondering that even more now.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent visit. We appreciate hearing from our long-time guests as your opinions are very important to us. Our Executive Housekeeper and I apologize for not meeting your expectations, or ours, with your room accommodations. Be assured that on your next visit you will find spotlessly clean accommodations as well as the Southern hospitality you have become accustomed to. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Romantic setting, beautiful grounds, fun "mini-water park", exceptional food, genuine and attentive service, nostalgic and charming. Just wished we could have had time to enjoy the Spa. Definitely on our wish list to revisit for a longer period of time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel was expected. The grounds were great and the area was rejuvenating and fun. We really enjoyed the spa garden for a quiet heathful day. The dining is not good and hopefully the hotel will work on this as it is the only piece missing. If you want to dine on grounds, go to Sam Snead's as the menu is what you would expect. The Jefferson's and the main dining room can be avoided until the Homestead gets serious about food quality. Service everywhere is great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed the grounds of our historic resort, as well as our new adults-only Spa Garden. We are sorry, however, that we did not meet all your expectations. Your comments have been shared with our culinary team so that we may make improvements. We are committed to continuing our tradition of excellence as always and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere and Priceline so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni Homestead Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.