We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Homestead Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Omni Homestead Resort to your Saves list
The Omni Homestead Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Special
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Martinsburg,WV
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Almost Perfection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary in May 2013. It is grand when you drive up to the entrance of this beautiful resort, making you feel as if you have stepped back in time. Check in was a breeze and our room was very nice, did note some wear and tear, but everything was clean, spacious and with nice amenities. The property itself is large and beautiful and it was fun just exploring all that was available. We participated in Falconry and were fortunate to be the only 2 who booked at that time. IT WAS FABULOUS, highly recommend (as long as you are not squeamish about seeing an animal hunt)!!!! We enjoyed the afternoon tea provided, nothing special though. We had dinner in the main dining room the night of our anniversary and it was phenomenal! Our waitress was exceptional and took such great care of us, and the food and atmosphere was excellent. We had breakfast included in our package and what a breakfast it is!! If you cannot find something to eat with all of the options provided, there is something wrong with YOU, not the resort. We did have massages at the spa, which was the only downfall of the trip. They had yet to open the new spa area and the waiting area was anything but intimate and relaxing. The massage itself was fine but way overpriced for the experience provided. I'm sure with the new spa area, things are much improved. We had dinner the second night at Sam Snead's tavern, which was fine, good service and good food. Overall we had a wonderful experience and hope to return to experience all of the great new upgrades and renovations believing then we can give the resort the 5 stars it is capable of receiving.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,117
    607
    305
    168
    98
See reviews for
705
934
33
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paducah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was our first visit to the hotel. After having read numerous varying reviews beforehand, I think I entered with an open mind. The hotel was gorgeous and yes, being older, it would not be the most "up-to-date" facility one might expect; however, I was quite pleased because we chose it for what it was--an historic structure. We were not disappointed. Our room was large and well appointed. Unlike some of the other reviews, the staff we encountered were extremely pleasant and helpful. However, being what it is, you do have hefty fees for everything. Again, I was prepared and I'm not sure the fees themselves were all that out of line. I was mislead by my booking agency because i was under the impression that the only additional fees to the room I would have would be tax; however, there was a resort fee added that added, along with the tax, over $100 to my two night stay. In defense of the booking agency, they may have been referring to a gratuities fee that could also have been added to each night/per person of stay. At any rate, my only real complaint with the hotel would be that the toilet paper was chintzy for such an elegant place and we had a terrible time of getting the pass card to work on getting into the room.

Room Tip: ask for room facing resort area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

A group of dancers from Baltimore visited the Homestead during early September.We were looking for a scenic location with activities,good food ,great service and dancing opportunities.We found all of those and more at the Homestead.The staff was excellent.Many of our group went to the pools,spa and were involved in activities like falcontry,horseback riding and the segway tour .We met each day for the tea in the great hall and for dinner and dancing in the formal dining room.It was an experience that we hope will be an annual one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Please renovate! The hotel staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel and rooms however need attention. The bed was bad for our backs and the entire hotel and rooms need renovation. Some folks may like old dirty and stained carpet and chairs, I am not one of those. Please contact Omni and encourage the hotel chain to restore this property to its former splendor. It has such great "bones" and could be wonderful with some much needed TLC.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted you enjoyed the Southern hospitality of our staff; however, we do apologize for not meeting all of your expectations. This year we spent $25 million to renovate many areas of the resort including our Spa, dining venues and other areas, including new bedding in many guestrooms. Exciting plans are underway for more improvements in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gainesville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The resort is beautiful. The spa experience is out of this world. The room was very clean and comfortable. However the water pressure for the shower was terrible. We booked breakfast buffet . The breakfast is served in a beautiful dinning room. The staff was fantastic. As for the buffet food the eggs, biscuits, sausage, hash browns and gravy were cold. The fruit selection was very fresh. even though we had some problems I will go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for visiting our historic mountain resort. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the Spa, the friendliness of our staff, and your clean, comfortable accommodations. We do apologize for the water pressure issue we were experiencing during your stay, and for the cold food on the breakfast buffet. Our Executive Chef joins me in extending his apologies as well for not meeting your expectations for breakfast and assures me he has implemented corrective measures to prevent a recurrence. It is good to know that you will return and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This resort was overpriced & did not offer good food. Do not dine @ Sam Snead's Tavern. Holiday cook-out ($78 per person, excl beverages) was a rip-off. Hot tub by the swimming pool was filled with young kids- resort policy allowed kids 6 years + to use it..awful policy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting The Homestead and for writing your review. I was disappointed to see your experience was less than exceptional. Please know that we will review your comments with our culinary team to ensure that we continue to improve the quality of our menus and food. Our commitment is to provide exceptional experiences, and we will re-focus our efforts to exceed that goal. We hope that you will return in the future and may we suggest our Spa Garden on your next visit which features an adults-only year-round outdoor pool and whirlpool as well as many other amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Homestead has long been one of the premiere venues for vacationers who love live music (piano, bass and percussion) and being able to dance in the styles of Ballroom, Latin, Tango, and Swing on a generous and beautiful floor. This all takes place in the gorgeous Main Dining Room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Otel, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni Homestead Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.