We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, the bad.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Homestead Resort

Save Saved
You added The Omni Homestead Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Omni Homestead Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hot Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
new york
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“The good, the bad.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was our first visit to the Homestead. My husband and I brought along our 12 year old grandson for our 4 night stay. We arrived on the Sunday before Labor Day and left on Thursday.
When we arrived we saw a completely filled hotel with tons of little children running throughout the lobby. Apparently all dress codes were ignored throughout the hotel. I too was sorry that the Labor Day picnic was now indoors. The food was good and the fireworks sppectacular, and this review from a New York City family.

We reserved a one bedroom suite, which was lovely. Upon arrival we asked about our Omni select guest upgrade and none was offered. We later learned that the connecting bedroom to our suite was available. We were not able to resolve this until the next morning when I spoke to Tonya, the omni concierge, and she arranged for us to have that room also so we had a 2 bedroom suite which was great. However, This was the first time that we stayed at an omni and were not automatically offered any kind of upgrade.

On Monday, Labor Day, the big check out began. All was well.
The Jefferson pools were amazing in the history and tranquility. We loved that experience.
Dinner at the main dining room was lovely and delicious. The staff accomidated everything that my grandson requested. The new Downtime game room was a big hit. I even tried out the bowling.

On Tuesday we hit an unresolved BIG SNAG. We headed off to the pool to find that the lazy river and slides were closed and would not reopen until the next weekend. I complained to the staff, the omni concierge, a manager and anyone I could find. Your website clearly states that the lazy river is open during the week. It is one of the reasons that we choose the homestead vs the greenbrier.
I checked online again and sure enough it states it is open even when it was now closed . It was a great disappointment for our grandson and therefore us.

IT IS CLEARLY FALSE ADVERTISING and the few other families there were upset aS well.

Before we made res. at the homestead I doubled checked what activities would be open and available to a 12 year old boy. The lazy river and water slides were the selling point for him.

I know that management checks out these reviews and I would greatly appreciate a response to this issue. I will complete my review later on.

J.Sturm
Room 1187

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Homestead to spend Labor Day with your grandson. We are thrilled that you enjoyed many activities at our historic resort. You are absolutely correct that we did not update our website in a timely manner to reflect the off-season hours for Allegheny Springs. We do sincerely apologize for this unintentional oversight and for the disappointment and inconvenience you and your family experienced as a result. Be assured we are making every effort to do a better job with internal and external communication and updating our information on a timely basis. The website information is now correct with the new hours of operation for Allegheny Springs (the Family Pool and whirlpool are open daily from 9am-9pm; the lazy river and water slides are open Fridays Noon-6pm; Saturdays and Sundays 10am-6pm through October 13, 2013-weather permitting. The children’s Water Play Zone is closed for the season.) I will be reaching out to you to discuss this matter further and extending my personal apologies. It is our hope to make amends and welcome you back in the future in order to fully regain your goodwill and confidence.
Sincerely,
Brent Glashan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,903 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    893
    510
    262
    154
    84
See reviews for
612
759
23
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

All of our expectations were exceeded. The area is beautiful, the staff friendly, there is so much to do - the food is good and they have great packages to make affordable. As a golfer LOVED! The renovations are beautiful - pool and Spa and restaurants. Also, we heard it was hard to get to, but the 90 minute ride after landing in Roanoke was easy. Just don't take the GPS recommended curvy road - stay on 64!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here for a birthday weekend at the last minute. Everything about the stay was perfect. Warm service, great food. Offered an upgrade due to birthday celebration and arrived to a beautiful room with a welcome gift. Wonderful complimentary afternoon tea daily. Spectacular food and dancing in the main dinning room make for a full evening. Grand indoor pool. Don't miss the nearby Jefferson pools.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Building was grand but old. Nice and quite though. Food was OK. Pool was nice...had a lazy pool. Canyon Ranch spa was not up to standard but had a great separate pool area. Overall a nice long weekend but not worth the money or the long drive for us to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for being our guest and taking time to provide your feedback. We are sorry you do not feel your trip was worth the long drive. We hope you will consider staying with us again for a longer visit allowing time to relax as well as enjoy more of what our historic resort is all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel, grounds, amenities were great The history tour EARLY during a visit is a must. Activities were not explained in any detail so one had to ask questions too often Jefferson dining was the best for us. Restaurants do not cater to vegetarians and one must be prepared for $12.00 martinis. The main dining room can be enjoyed for breakfast and reasonable with a B & B package. Cascade restaurant is informal; a much needed option. We chose to pay extra to upgrade our room but I would have liked to view something other than a roof top.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Was right up there with most pleasurable vacations! Staff were welcoming and helpful from arrival to departure. Food was delicious and service was very professional and friendly. Spa was sensational and definitely added that touch of serenity!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, VA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

WE had a very nice room, golfing was great but wife stayed in room and view was bad. Otherwise nice stay. We visited the Canyon Spa Club and realized we missed something by not using it. We only stayed two days but after leaving thought that another day would have been super

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, Expedia, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni Homestead Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.