We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Homestead Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Omni Homestead Resort to your Saves list
The Omni Homestead Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save.
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Detroit
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Southern Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have very fond memories of visiting the Homestead when I was a young girl. I remember dining in the main dining room where the gentlemen were dressed in suits and ties and the women were wearing their finest dresses. It is my memories that solidified my desire to visit with my husband and children a couple of years ago.

I will try to be brief with my assessment. The grounds are very well manicured and the resort itself is well maintained. The Homestead has a vibe of being much more family friendly than when I visited as a child which I believe is a good thing; however, if you are traveling without children, this may be more of an annoyance.

We participated in many of the activities which as others mentioned are expensive.. We enjoyed the gorge hike with our very informative guide; also,the multitude of waterfalls were beautiful so make sure you bring your cameras! We also participated in shooting, falconry, horseback riding and archery. We had a wonderful and patient shooting instructor although since some time has passed I can't remember his name. We never used the indoor pool since it was closed for renovation during our stay.

There are shuttles that take you to the various activities and all of the drivers were friendly and helpful. Also, some evenings, my husband and I would just sit and relax on the porch after a long day of activities.

My only real complaint is the lack of good restaurants although I understand a new restaurant has recently opened. Sam Sneads was okay but our other dining experiences were at times below average. My teenage son, who loves to eat, was thoroughly disappointed in the food. Our best dinner was at a little diner in town which doesn't say much for the resort when you are paying so much money! Also, I was not impressed with the main dining room. We ate there one evening and one of the servers in particular seemed like she was trying to rush us not to mention that the dinner was average at best.

If the food would have been better, I would have given my rating 5 stars. The resort is beautiful and relaxing and I hope to visit again some day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for writing about The Homestead and for sharing your childhood memories! It is always good to hear from our long-time guests as your opinions are very important to us. We are delighted you enjoyed many of the special activities we have to offer; however, are sorry you were disappointed in your dining experience. Be assured your comments are being reviewed by our Culinary Team as we view all feedback as an opportunity to make improvements. Jefferson’s Restaurant is a casual, yet elegant setting and the latest addition to The Homestead’s dining options. A modern American grill with regional influences, Jefferson’s takes a farm-to-table approach with a hand-picked selection of prime and regional meats. We hope you will return soon and give Jefferson’s Restaurant a try; we are sure you and your family will enjoy it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,346
    697
    353
    187
    102
See reviews for
838
1,086
39
402
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmimgham, AL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The Homestead Inn including the ambiance, the breakfast buffet, the new fitness room, and my guided nature hike were all wonderful. My room was bit outdated. The service was average. The Canyon Ranch Spa did not live up to my expectations of even an average spa. The workers were not familiar at all with the services. No one gave me a locker until I asked for it. The relaxation room was dark, dingy, and the "music" was a loud continuous motor noise from the air conditioner. There was a pitcher of water and plastic cups. The co-ed relaxation room was nicer but barren with a carafe of tepid water, a few tea bags, and paper cups. There was no one in the Aquavana area to even show me how to navigate all of the various options. My deep tissue massage was not at all a deep tissue massage and the therapist left the room half way. The Spa Garden was beautiful as was the Finnish sauna.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your observations from your stay at The Homestead. We are delighted that you were able to enjoy many of the things which make our historic resort so special. We are sorry, however, that our new Spa did not meet your expectations. We have just completed extensive training in the Spa and I am confident that on a future visit you will find a vast improvement. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our family spent the weekend after 4th of July at the Homestead and did the unlimited activities package. This included golf, horseback riding, skeet shooting, a hay ride, mini-golf etc. The hotel itself is a beautiful old building but starting to get somewhat tired. Our room faced inwards so we had an unpleasant view of the roof below us. Ask for a mountain view. The breakfast buffet was about as good as one can expect from a buffet. Dinner in the main dining room was wonderful (men over 12 have to wear jackets) but it was still very family oriented (lots of fathers/daughters and grandmas/grandsons dancing). The new pool area with slides and lazy river was a great addition for our family.

All in all, it is a very expensive vacation. With room, meals, and activities, it worked out to almost $1000/day for our family of 4. I would return with my family, but would not visit with just my wife. It may have been because of the 4th of July holiday, but the resort was teeming with kids (mine included). I felt badly for a number of couples visiting because the atmosphere was not nearly as relaxing as it could have been with fewer kids.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your 4th of July experience at The Homestead when the resort was bustling with families enjoying all that we have to offer. It is good to know you enjoyed many of the things which make our resort so special. We do apologize the view from your room did not meet your expectations. Should you wish to visit again in the future for a romantic getaway with your wife, may I suggest our adults-only Spa Garden pool, a carriage ride, a hike with our naturalist in the Cascades Gorge and a Falconry demonstration, history tour, room service breakfast, and relaxing in the Great Hall by the fireplace during afternoon tea. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockeysville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was our second trip to the Homestead and we couldn't be happier with the resort. We were treated incredibly well by every single staff member, making our weekend very pleasant. We also got engaged at the resort this weekend so it will always hold a special place in our hearts. We will be coming back in the winter for sure! Keep up the good work. Btw, if you go, sit by the new fire pit and enjoy some conversation with the other guests. They were very friendly. BTW, this place is much more friendly than the Greenbrier.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
First, our very best wishes to you! The Homestead is indeed the perfect romantic resort to become engaged, get married, and celebrate many anniversaries. We are delighted you plan to return in the winter, which is one of our most romantic times. Our Winter Wonderland includes an outdoor ice-skating rink and year-round heated outdoor pool and whirlpool. Guests also love relaxing in the Great Hall, reading a book by the fireplace, and enjoying afternoon tea to live piano music. We can’t wait to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Spent four days here, part meeting, part vacation. A true resort. Traditional, southern, gracious. New spa, wonderful outdoor pools. Overabundant buffet breakfast. Service was excellent - clearly a focus with senior staff closely supervising new staff. Rooms could use a bit of updaing but didn't subtract from experience.

Room Tip: My room was in the conference area not the older hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for visiting The Homestead for business and pleasure. We are delighted you enjoyed our new Canyon Ranch Spa and pools, our bountiful buffet breakfast, and the gracious Southern hospitality of our staff. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Spent the 4th of July weekend at The Homestead, nestled in the western mountains of Virginia. It's a beautiful resort that is both family oriented, and a romantic get-away destination for couples.

The Homestead's activities vary from a world-class golf course, top-tier spa and fitness center, tennis, skeet shooting, archery, hiking trails, and water-park to numerous places to sneek away and read & relax, including sitting in rocking chairs on the front deck overlooking the mountain.

The entire staff is extremely attentive and friendly - obviously well trained in all respects.

The Homestead is not inexpensive so be prepared to spend your vacation fund - but it's truly worth it. One method that many people used to save money is bring your own wine, beer and spirits and set up a bar in your hotel room. Ask the staff, and they will deliver a refridgerator to your room to keep the white wine chilled.

The restaurants are nice, the food is good, and the service is impeccable.

The main dining room requires a sport coat in the evening (most men did wear a tie), which wasn't a problem and it was nice to see people dress up a little for dinner. They also have a band playing and the dance floor was well used by the guests.

The new Jefferson Restaurant opened the week we visited. It follows an evening resort casual attire policy, with some gentlemen still wearing sport coats - although ties were definitely out. The menu was solid with something for everyone.

It was our 1st visit to The Homestead. We intend to return in the winter to cross country ski on the golf course, sit and enjoy the fire pits in the evening, and experience winter in the mountains.

I recommend giving the resort a try.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are nice, but unless your staying in a suite with a balcony, you will probably enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for writing about your 4th of July visit to The Homestead. We are thrilled that you finally discovered us and enjoyed your stay! We note you plan to return in the winter, which is a delightful time to visit in the Allegheny Mountains. We offer skiing, snowboarding, guided snowmobile tours, snowtubing, and our Allegheny Springs “Winter Wonderland” which is our heated, spring-fed outdoor pool and ice-skating rink, with s’mores on the firepit. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I was not convinced that the water park was a good idea. I was wrong. It an the updated spa are great additions The new restaurant was not yet open but I have high hopes in light of the other improvements. Go!

Room Tip: A great difference in the rooms but all are good. Decide on your budget and square footage needs and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed our new Allegheny Springs water feature and new Canyon Ranch SpaClub. Both have quickly become very popular with our guests. The two-acre Allegheny Springs water complex converts into a winter oasis with a heated, spring-fed outdoor pool and ice-skating rink. The Jefferson’s Restaurant is now open and is a favorite of first-time as well as long-time guests. Jefferson’s features regional influences and a farm-to-table approach for dinner in a casual, yet elegant setting. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni Homestead Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.