We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Checking my calendar and their specials after I type this review!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Homestead Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Omni Homestead Resort to your Saves list
The Omni Homestead Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Special!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
NorthCarolinaUSA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Checking my calendar and their specials after I type this review!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Simply needed a good rest and found it here in August 2012. This was our first visit to The Homestead, and the room was finely decorated with comfortable bedding. The experience of enjoying the entire property was enhanced by the attitude of the staff. Delicious breakfasts, lunches, and dinners were plenty in selection. We opted for the "breakfast and dinner plan". (I rated the prices excellent because we took advantage of packages.) It even allowed us to go to their Sam Snead's Tavern too, which is off the property. There was a great menu in the spa and we enjoyed repeat visits. Be sure to look at the renovations since our visit as they introduce Canyon Ranch Spa. If you time your services, you can enjoy tea in The Great Hall in the afternoon. The indoor pool was a quiet and relaxing space. If you find yourself in the Great Hall before dinner, stop in the Lobby Bar or have drink amid the rockers on the porch. Having the luxury to sleep in the mornings led me to the turn-of-the-century theater at night. There was not enough time to enjoy everything The Homestead offers. I learned to use an acorn to create a piercing whistle during our hike with Brian. It was a very informative nature hike at a leisurely pace that suited all ages, not one intended for an aerobic workout. During our stay, we did go off the property to enjoy the nearby Jefferson Pools natural mineral waters. My advice concerning the Jefferson Pools is to take a look online before you go. The pool house is not impressive, but when you grab a noodle and step into the water, it is easy to close your eyes and enjoy the experience of soaking where Jefferson did. If we lived closer, I would surely take our children, grandchildren, and parents to The Homestead, Can't imagine anyone not enjoying themselves. Even the shopping within the resort is diverse to suit all ages, offers a good variety, and fair prices. This corporation had just acquired The Grove Park Inn in Asheville, North Carolina. Since I have stayed at The Grove Park, I look forward to returning there to note any enhancements.

Room Tip: I would call and ask for them to explain the property to you, especially if you are traveling with y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our historic hotel and wonderful staff! We are thrilled you enjoyed your first visit and so many of the time-honored traditions that make our resort so special. We look forward to welcoming you back many times in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,171
    616
    314
    169
    99
See reviews for
729
957
33
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great old hotel. The staff was friendly and the rooms comfortable. The food was great! The spa is undergoing renovation, the temporary spa was fine for this trip. We are looking forward to visiting later this year when the hotel is back to full amenities. We were on a ski package that suited our needs just right.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your ski weekend at The Homestead. Our ski slopes are in great condition, particularly after the foot of snow Mother Nature just blessed us with, and we have extended the ski season to March 17. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again later this year and hope you will enjoy our new Canyon Ranch SpaClub and other new enhancements at that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is the perfect place to go to with your kids. We have been twice now and already feel like familly. The staff is superb, and the food was wonderful. The amenities are bountiful, our kids loved the snow skiing, tubing, outdoor heated pool, movie theater, and the ballroom dancing during dinner in the main dining room. We will definately go back in the summer as well.

Room Tip: see if you can get an upgrade to a suite, more space than you will know what to do with!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. It is our goal to treat every guest like family and to welcome them home. It will be nice to see you again this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
220 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
473 helpful votes 473 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Coming from New York City, where there is no daytime nonstop flights to Roanoke, it was a real trip changing planes in Charlotte and then driving almost 2 hours (and be aware that the instructions from MapQuest are awful; print the ones from the hotel's website). But when my wife saw the dining room and the band for dinner and dancing, she gushed that it was all worth it. We were quite nervous not knowing what to expect here during the winter, but were attracted to the place as a winter time ski resort with above-freezing daytime temperatures. Our kids had a ball -- our 7 year old daughter said it was "better than Disney World."
Our Landmark Suite was beautiful with two bedrooms, two baths and a sun porch filled with windows, and was great value for money. We liked breakfast (although for longer stays we'd like a la carte options besides the buffet which is the same every day), dinners in the dining room were excellent, the children's buffets which they had during the busy holiday weekend did the trick, Sam Snead's upstairs was a good dining experience, and the mini-market just off the lobby was rather good for snacks and lunch. Afternoon tea was delightful; the temporary gym had all the right equipment in it and was better than most permanent hotel gyms; the temporary spa was fine for what it was; the shuttles to the ski area were continuous; the entertainment such as the magic show and balloon man were perfect (although this kind of show, which ran all 3 nights, could have had one night with an earlier than 9pm start time for families with kids who can't stay up so late). Ski school was fine and the private instructors were all good. Clay who runs the ski school was very accommodating.
This trip could have been a total disaster and we were thinking of cancelling out 2 weeks before the Presidents Day Weekend when I tried to get reservations for all sorts of things at the hotel but was told by Crystal at reservations that virtually everything we wanted was already booked by others. And if you're not doing an activity there during the winter you're probably going to be bored. I insisted on speaking to a manager and got through to Pam the next day who told me not to cancel and that she would turn No's into Yes's. And she and Clay over at the ski school did, and we got just about all the dining room, spa, ski lessons and snow-tubing appointments that we wanted when we wanted them. Moral of the story is that either you book far ahead for things at this hotel during busy periods, or you go past the concierges in the lobby and at the ski school who all want to say No, up to the managers who are more interested in saying Yes and squeezing you in.
All things considered, we are in the process of changing our summer plans to include a stay at the Homestead which looks like it will be a lot of fun during the summer with lots of activities that the kids will like, along with a new spa and several new eateries. There is a lot of construction going on there right now; they are investing heavily. Beyond all the facilities here's what counts to us as families with kids is making our kids happy which is where my comments lie: It will be important that they have a decent kids menu; we're not sure what we would have eaten all weekend had there not been a kids buffet all 3 nights, and we note there is no fish item on the kids menu. We have previously visited the Greenbrier, but a lot of the things we used to like there don't seem to exist anymore and we're not sure we'd go back there. Only 22 miles separate the two places and they are certainly not clones of each other. Keep the dining room with dinner and dancing -- helps keep the place unique and it gives adults something to do during the evenings. The hotel is also one of the last bastions of southern charm -- just about every boy there from a few years old and up had a jacket and tie on during the evening and we thought it was great seeing kids running around the whole place during a holiday weekend. I guess some other reviewers didn't like it, but I'm told that if you come there mid-week it is a very different atmosphere and that you can basically get any activity you want when you want it. Problem of course is that with kids you have to book around school holidays so you gotta know how to "work" this property if you want to be there at prime time.
We found the people there very friendly and liked the fact that it did not appear that people turn over in their jobs a lot. The ski instructors were really cool; our kids had a great time with Aaron and Ryan and by the second day our daughter was going up the ski lift. I strongly recommend going with private lessons after the first day at Bunny School. Evidently, based on other reviews recently posted, we're not the only ones whose kid went flying on the snow-tubing when the cable came loose after the big bump at the top of the hill (resort: take note); we were very nervous seeing our kid's tube barreling down the mountain but he thought he was flying and that it was awesome. Ah, to be 5 years old and fearless!
Somebody should take note of the driving instructions being handed out to people when they go to the airport by the concierges and at the front desk. The instructions are too complicated; there are easier ways to drive to the airport, such as those printed on the hotel's website.
Two points in terms of suitability for kids: First; The hotel touts these outdoor swimming pools that are heated for winter use. True, the weather while we were there was a lot colder than normal but we didn't think it made sense to risk illness with little kids going out in the cold. One person heading up the path said their hair froze between the time they got out of the pool and back into the hotel building. The indoor swimming pool was not warm water and kids do not take well to the sulfur smell at the Jefferson pools. The new spa will not be kid friendly, so I hope that if there is bad or cold weather there will be some place to take the kids where they can swim or at least sit in a jacuzzi. Two, the day camp charges during the day for dropoff. They wanted to charge us $104 to drop the kids off during the day for 3 hours where they were going to have "rest and relaxation -- meaning sit in the clubhouse and watch a movie -- and have free play in the hotel lobby. This is a service the hotel should offer -- we could go to the spa, shop in the lobby shops or do some kind of activity if we could occupy the kids for a few hours here and there, and we couldn't because it just didn't make sense. Bunny School for 5 hours made sense and we thoroughly enjoyed our freedom while the kids had something real to do but that only works one time. But our favorite resorts are those where you can drop off your kids at camp for an hour or two whenever you want during the day, and not have to pay a large premium or book in for a half day minimum in order to do so.
Anyway, kudos to those people at the hotel who found ways to say Yes to make things happen and for making sure we had a good first winter visit; which now looks like it will lead to another return visit during the summer. In fact, we just booked it today, just a day after coming back.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of your first winter visit to The Homestead. It is good to know you and your family enjoyed so many of our activities. We appreciate all your suggestions as they will give us an opportunity to make improvements. We are so excited to read you have already made plans to return this summer! Our new Canyon Ranch SpaClub will be open, and your family will enjoy our new Allegheny Springs pool with lazy river, slides, children’s pool and whirlpool. Other summer family activities we suggest are archery, kayaking, Falconry, canoeing, horseback riding, mountain biking, fly-fishing, hayrides, paintball, Segway, and our legendary Cascades Gorge guided hike, to name just a few! Pam will be delighted to assist booking activities for you. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

I know several people who have stayed at the Homestead, so I decided to go. Wanted to take my grand kids for Presidents weekend, wanted to stay 2 nights, but your policy is 3 nights, so we were forced to stay an extra night, Why? That policy stinks. Because of the cold weather a lot of outdoor activities were unavailable, so I asked what indoor activities you offer. I was told bowling and game rooms consisting of foosball, air hockey, darts, etc. when we got there, we were told the bowling alley is shut down due to spa construction. Also the so called "game room" was a joke. It consisted of a battered ping pong table, oversized chess pieces, pieces of wood you throw bean bags into. We tracked down the air hockey table it was full of cobwebs. Please instruct the people you answering your phones not to lie to the public. After we checked into our room, we discovered it was full of bugs. After complaining, your staff vacuumed and sprayed but the next day some were back We ate dinner the first night at the buffet, the food was horrible and overpriced. And did not appreciate you automatically adding the gratuity.
The next night we cancelled the buffet and ordered room service. That was a little better. The third night we went to Sam Snead, food was good, but the service left a lot to be desired .
All in all not a good first impression.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We apologize you were disappointed with your experience. We pride ourselves on being a luxury hotel with elegance and cleanliness throughout the property, especially our guest rooms. Bowling has been discontinued as its former location is being converted into a state-of-the-art fitness center to complement our new Canyon Ranch SpaClub when it debuts in the spring. We are sorry you were misinformed as we have made every effort to update our web site, printed material, and our staff is aware of this change. We are hopeful to relocate some of the bowling equipment to a family fun center we are planning to open in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We took the kids for a three day weekend over Valentine's Day and had a phenomenal time. There were some highs and lows that I'll share. Let's start with the highs. From the moment the valet opens your car door, you're welcomed to the Homestead. We had exceptional service the entire weekend. The staff had clearly been trained how to treat guests and it showed. We arrived late and ordered delivery from a local restaurant that the front desk very kindly recommended (they even printed out a menu for us). Breakfast the next morning was great - omelette station was delicious, fresh OJ, homemade pastries, yogurt, granola - you name it, they had it. Then we headed off to ski. The kids went to Bunny School with Angel - who truly was an angel. She was fabulous with the kids. They had never skied before and she had them going safely down the biggest hills by the end of the day. It was amazing. We did a lesson with Carter who was also great - very friendly and patient. Shuttles ran all of the time from the ski lodge to the hotel. We swam in both the indoor pool and outdoor pool - both had attendants that were always replenishing towels and cleaning up. We also went horseback riding and the staff there were also friendly. Even our housekeeper was sweet and good at her job - our room was spotless. So the lows - they weren't terrible and not enough to make me never go back, but here goes. First, the mattresses were uncomfortable. It could just be that I'm getting older, but I couldn't get comfortable on them. Second was the tubing. My daughter got knocked off the j-bar that pulls you up the hill and she ended up in the woods. The staff was quick to assess that she wasn't seriously injured, but it seems like an accident waiting to happen. That was our first run and needless to say, our last - we left. They fully refunded us for the tubing, but I wouldn't recommend tubing there. It just didn't seem safe. Even the hill at the end to stop wasn't high or long enough so riders had to crash into pads to stop. Save the tubing for somewhere else. Last comment isn't really a low - more of a "be prepared" - food and activities were expensive. The buffet dinner was almost $200 for 4 of us. The food there was great and fresh, but seemed overpriced. So with all of that, I have to say that we had a really nice time and we'll plan to be back next winter. It is beautiful and charming - definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your family’s experiences over Valentine’s Day at The Homestead. We are thrilled to read you had a phenomenal time. We apologize your tubing experience did not live up to the same level as the rest of your stay. We hope to see you again soon for another fun-filled family getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here over Valentine's Day weekend, and it was very nice. The place is beautiful, the food was delicious, and the service from the staff was impeccable. From the luggage guys to the housekeepers to the front desk staff, every single person with whom we interacted was friendly, courteous, and professional.

Our only complaints: the beds in our room were very uncomfortable. They both had significant low spots in their mattresses, and so for almost $400 per night, the beds could be improved. Also, food was rather expensive.

One final note: we too noticed the small things that need attention (paint, seat cushions) throughout the building, but honestly, they did not detract from the experience for us. Yes, the facility could use a renovation, but frankly, my husband and I love historical things, and if we had wanted a contemporary hotel with spit shine levels of polish, then we would have gone elsewhere. Where else can you get the Jefferson hot springs? Where else do you get the extraordinary level of service that The Homestead offers? We enjoyed our stay (except for the beds!) and hopefully you will too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for visiting The Homestead. We are very pleased you enjoyed your experience at our historic resort and we hope to welcome you back soon. (P. S., we have replaced the bedding in many of our rooms, and more will be replaced in the months to come.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni Homestead Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.