We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit, will return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Homestead Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Omni Homestead Resort to your Saves list
The Omni Homestead Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save.
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“First visit, will return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I always wanted to visit Homestead Resort , and this time I tried Groupon offer - 2 nights stay plus breakfast. I called resort to make a reservation and asked about upgrade to a room with a view, which was extra. We picked late November weekend for our trip, when main hotel and grounds were already decorated for Christmas. We arrived late Friday afternoon, and hotel stuff was very pleasant and attentive to us, we was helped with valet parking and our luggage has been delivered to our room. Room was a nice size, with 2 double beds, big storage closet and nicely decorated bath, we really liked old time style décor of the room and bath. Next morning we started with breakfast buffet and really enjoyed service and variety of hot and cold breakfast choices. Restaurant tableware sets resembled a style from old days, which was a nice detail.
After breakfast me and my son decided to try some ice skating, we paid extra for a rent and a block of skating time, which I think could be included into resort fee for guests. Heated outdoor pool was very nice and clean, but we decided do not use it. We went to check out an indoor pool, located at the spa section of the resort; spa was under renovation and pool was cold and all changing rooms were closed. I ended up booking a massage for my husband, which he liked. We stopped by the guest service desk and reserved a carriage ride for the same evening, it was extra as well for adult, small kids were free. The weather that day was very sunny and a little cold, so we decided to go to a playground, I liked that playground was big and my son liked all slides there. Playground located next to kids camp, where parent could leave kids for a day or half, camp room looks nice with a lot of toys, but we didn’t use that option. We visited gift shops and I really like a shop with Christmas décor, located outside, there were a large variety of Christmas ornaments and prices was OK. When my son took a nap, I went downstairs for an afternoon tea. The lines for tea and cookies were long, but I got lucky to be in front. Enjoyed tea time and some piano music! Same day at the afternoon we took a carriage ride, it brought us up the hills and woods, we could see resort from far distance, we made a stop at the ski area and made s’mores and hot cocoa. Hot drink worked good as the weather became chilly. We enjoyed the ride, extra layer of clothing would keep us warm. After arriving back to the resort we decided to check out a movie theater, which was showing a Christmas movie, there were 2 more people at the theater with us. I liked old style of movie theater, but a movie selection that evening wasn’t the best and my son got bored very fast. So we returned to our room and watched TV.
Next morning we started with breakfast buffet again, when walked around resort ground, stopped at the library, gift shops, etc. It was our last day at the resort. We checked out and drove back home. We took some small country roads an way back a scenery was beautiful.
We enjoyed our stay, even with limited selection of winter resort activities during that time. I wished a spa and indoor pool renovation would be completed. We definitely like to go back late spring or summer time and include hiking and other outdoor activities into our trip.
I like a history of Homestead Resort, quest s can find a lot of historic facts at the first floor library, full of old photographs , books and memorabilia items. We knew that resort is on ‘haunted resorts’ list and actually some of personnel shared their ‘ghost encounters' with us, we even stayed at a floor below the ‘haunted’ floor, which was cool and a little mysterious same time.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a mountains view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing the highlights and photographs of your first visit to The Homestead. We are thrilled that you enjoyed many of the things that make our historic resort so unique and special. Our Canyon Ranch SpaClub and Spa Garden will debut in the spring and it would be a delightful time to schedule a return visit. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,349
    697
    353
    187
    102
See reviews for
840
1,086
39
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Staff were very accommodating. Beautiful spa/resort. Plenty of amenities for the whole family!! Husband & I enjoyed the getaway. Loved everything about this resort, indoor pool, ice skating!!!!!xvzxxxxxxxccccccccccc

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
And thank you for your amazing review! It was our pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to seeing you again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

For hundreds of years, the Homestead has provided its visitors with rest, relaxation and outstanding entertainment and dining. I have been coming here for nearly 30 years now, and am very glad to have the opportunity to bring my own family here. Of late, the resort has relaxed its strict rules of dress and etiquette - I miss some of the old formality, but this was my first visit with my own children (ages 3 and 1) and, as a parent, I appreciate the new, more relaxed regime. This was a great experience for the three-year old. She was able to try to ski for the first time. The ski area is small and close, and great for beginners. For me, though, it would appear that this hit of the trip was the new Allegheny Springs Pool area. It is a bit of a schlep to get there from the main hotel - but in winter, the enormous outdoor pool is heated. There is a new outdoor hot tub replete with waterfalls. The kids pool is transformed in winter to an ice rink. This pool/ice complex (which in summer includes a lazy river and water slides) is a fantastic addition to the resort. The kids loved it, we loved it. Five stars! The dining experience remains fantastic. The Jefferson Pools remain unchanged. The Spa is undergoing significant renovation at the moment - the indoor pool was not at its peak right now. We are already planning our next trip in June to celebrate our daughter's birthday. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Be certain to discuss room options before you go so that you are not dissapointed with the room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your family's visit with us in January. It is always good to hear from our long-time guests as your opinions are respected and valued. We are glad that you enjoyed our many winter activities including the ski area, ice-skating and our new Allegheny Springs Winter Wonderland! We look forward to welcoming you back in June to celebrate your daughter’s birthday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was our 1st time visiting the Homestead. After reading several different reviews and tips we realized which helped us out the most in planning for the weekend getaway:

Tips:
*call and ask for a room in the main building/tower/or west wing-reason-best views and close to shops and main dining room. We stayed in the west wing-the bathrooms and carpet were recently upgraded and still had some old world charm....few doors and window in our bathroom were older (still functionable)
*take advantage of the 3-4pm tea time in the main lobby, they serve hot tea,iced tea and small sandwiches and cookies-all were very good
*go here to practice and learn how to snowboard or ski-slopes are great for beginners
*go to the jefferson pool at least once to experience it-you do come back feeling very relaxed-note to self-you must pay to go its $17 each day and they can charge it to your room-I didnt know this and honestly didnt think it was worth $17 family time is 12-2pm so drive yourself over there to take advantage of the 2 hours you get-and you can talk all you want in either pool :)
* From 2-5pm the jefferson pool is available for men only in one pool and women in the other pool-if you must talk you can only whisper and its clothing optional
*You must make a reservation at the Waterwheel Inn for dinner at least one night while there-service is the BEST and food was FANTASTIC!
*Go to the little cafe up the road for breakfast-best meal for the $$$
*Pack your own water bottle and fill it up in the gym-or visit the spa and enjoy filtered water anytime

We went on a busy holiday weekend. We never were able to sit by the fireplace in the main lobby-people kept hogging it. We wanted to try the casino room for dinner one night, but the times they had available were too early-so we were offered the buffet in the empire room-for $35 its was overpriced. Food selection for the buffet was ehhh, I was not impressed at all-another night at the Waterwheel Inn would have been better. We did not want to try the main dining room or Sam Sneads Tavern due to all the bad reviews.Many said it was overpriced for what you get. If we go back one day we will try to go to the Players Pub-too bad they open from 7pm-2am though. Oh and avoid ordering in your room-they charge you fees just for ordering room service not to mention the tip once the food arrives-its a rip off. Again -they are doing renovations to the resort-they are creating a wellness spa and got rid of the bowling alley. The theatre room is pretty big but they played movies for kids to see. We enjoyed playing cornhole and ping pong passed the garden wing. We opted to park our car ourselves -its a short walk and we didnt mind it. The staff was very friendly-except these 2 young girls at the front desk just kept talking to each other-we felt we were interrupting them from a very important conversation-not a very good first impression. We noticed they did not have enough activites to do and they were understaffed. Need more activities for adults and maybe activites for older kids!! They also need more of a variety of food /restaurants in the resort! Last but not least-I saw a roach on the bathroom floor the last night we stayed!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the main building/tower/west wing for better views and proximity to everything garden wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your stay at The Homestead. We value input from our guests and use all comments and suggestions as tools for improvement. We are delighted you enjoyed many activities at our resort, in particular afternoon tea, the ski area, and the Jefferson Pools. We do hope that you will return again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The is a wonderful place for a family for a quintessential family winter vacation! We went to the Breakers last year and, although that was gorgeous, we would say we would be more inclined to return to the Homestead over the Breakers in Palm Beach, FL. Parents and children had a great relaxing time. Our children learned to ski - did the bunny school. We all went ice skating and swam outdoors in a beautiful new pool and hot spring hot tub. We toasted s'mores under a gorgeous star filled sky. We played checkers, read books, had tea, went hiking and finished one night with delicious dinner and dancing to a lovely band. We look forward to the opening of the new spa and spa restaurant. Our room was much larger than expected - a suite with an enclosed heated sun porch. Bathroom was new and immaculate. Beds were very comfortable and walls must be well insulated because we were not awakened to noise in the hallways - and we were right across from an elevator.

Room Tip: We got a suite for a family of four. Perfect! I would highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for writing about the highlights of your family’s winter vacation at The Homestead. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have been to The Homestead numerous times and have always enjoyed our visits. Is it pricey? Yes, but it is worth it. The Homestead is not the Holiday Inn, so do not expect that. I have read reviews of people being treated poorly and all I can say is this: The Homestead is a classy place. Are your children running around the great hall during tea acting obnoxious? Then yes, you might get a look or two from people who are there for a nice vacation. I witnessed this happen and a staff member spoke to the parents (quietly) and they were furious that they were "treated poorly". Are you wearing your old Whitesnake t-shirt and jeans to breakfast? Yes that actually happened and yes, you will get a few looks. There is a dress code and it should be followed. If you don't want to, then go somewhere else. The activities are wonderful and you should take advantage of everything they have to offer. Make your reservations for activities and dinners before you arrive. (especially for dinner....can not tell you how many people I have seen yell at the concierge because they can't just walk in to the dining room whenever they feel like it) . In short, The Homestead is not for everyone....if you want a classy experience with great food, great service and a charm that can not be found anywhere else, then book your stay immediately.

Room Tip: There are several wings, so do not be suprised if you have to walk a little ways to get to the shops...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for writing your comments about The Homestead. We enjoy hearing from our long-time guests as we value your opinion. Your suggestions and tips will be helpful to future visitors. We look forward to welcoming you back again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

A great 2-night get-away. We spent one day skiing ( a great ski place for BEGINNERS as only one real slope). We also enjoyed the tea every afternoon. The outdoor pool in January was the best, a family favorite. The top of the stay was dinner and dancing in the main ballroom with my kids. Took the in-laws who had never been. They spent their time relaxing and reading in the library and taking the 10am tour of the hotel. Bathroom was recently upgraded, but by no means modern (thank goodness). Comfortable beds. We were by the elevator and the noise did NOT bother us at all. It's a little slice of serenity tucked in the valley of the mountains.

Room Tip: like Homestead on facebook, and you'll be in the know for room deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at The Homestead. We're pleased you enjoyed some of the unique features that make our historic resort so special. We hope to welcome you and your family back for another relaxing visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni Homestead Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.