We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Family Winter Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Homestead Resort

Save Saved
You added The Omni Homestead Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Omni Homestead Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hot Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Perfect Family Winter Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The is a wonderful place for a family for a quintessential family winter vacation! We went to the Breakers last year and, although that was gorgeous, we would say we would be more inclined to return to the Homestead over the Breakers in Palm Beach, FL. Parents and children had a great relaxing time. Our children learned to ski - did the bunny school. We all went ice skating and swam outdoors in a beautiful new pool and hot spring hot tub. We toasted s'mores under a gorgeous star filled sky. We played checkers, read books, had tea, went hiking and finished one night with delicious dinner and dancing to a lovely band. We look forward to the opening of the new spa and spa restaurant. Our room was much larger than expected - a suite with an enclosed heated sun porch. Bathroom was new and immaculate. Beds were very comfortable and walls must be well insulated because we were not awakened to noise in the hallways - and we were right across from an elevator.

Room Tip: We got a suite for a family of four. Perfect! I would highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for writing about the highlights of your family’s winter vacation at The Homestead. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,867 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    870
    504
    259
    152
    82
See reviews for
600
750
22
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have been to The Homestead numerous times and have always enjoyed our visits. Is it pricey? Yes, but it is worth it. The Homestead is not the Holiday Inn, so do not expect that. I have read reviews of people being treated poorly and all I can say is this: The Homestead is a classy place. Are your children running around the great hall during tea acting obnoxious? Then yes, you might get a look or two from people who are there for a nice vacation. I witnessed this happen and a staff member spoke to the parents (quietly) and they were furious that they were "treated poorly". Are you wearing your old Whitesnake t-shirt and jeans to breakfast? Yes that actually happened and yes, you will get a few looks. There is a dress code and it should be followed. If you don't want to, then go somewhere else. The activities are wonderful and you should take advantage of everything they have to offer. Make your reservations for activities and dinners before you arrive. (especially for dinner....can not tell you how many people I have seen yell at the concierge because they can't just walk in to the dining room whenever they feel like it) . In short, The Homestead is not for everyone....if you want a classy experience with great food, great service and a charm that can not be found anywhere else, then book your stay immediately.

Room Tip: There are several wings, so do not be suprised if you have to walk a little ways to get to the shops...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for writing your comments about The Homestead. We enjoy hearing from our long-time guests as we value your opinion. Your suggestions and tips will be helpful to future visitors. We look forward to welcoming you back again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

A great 2-night get-away. We spent one day skiing ( a great ski place for BEGINNERS as only one real slope). We also enjoyed the tea every afternoon. The outdoor pool in January was the best, a family favorite. The top of the stay was dinner and dancing in the main ballroom with my kids. Took the in-laws who had never been. They spent their time relaxing and reading in the library and taking the 10am tour of the hotel. Bathroom was recently upgraded, but by no means modern (thank goodness). Comfortable beds. We were by the elevator and the noise did NOT bother us at all. It's a little slice of serenity tucked in the valley of the mountains.

Room Tip: like Homestead on facebook, and you'll be in the know for room deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at The Homestead. We're pleased you enjoyed some of the unique features that make our historic resort so special. We hope to welcome you and your family back for another relaxing visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This place is all about taking your money!!! They keep offering this on LivingSocial because they can't get people to pay tons of money for bad experience.

PROS: nice views

CONS: expensive, bad service, small pool, expensive golf/spa and bad customer service

NEVER going back again!

Room Tip: Don't go for their breakfast buffet....it's horrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. We value feedback and view all comments as a way to improve the guest experience. We hope you will reconsider and visit us again soon so we may show you a truly great Homestead experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We've been to The Homestead a number of times and we've always enjoyed our time there. The spa services are amazing and they always make sure you're feeling GREAT before leaving. We've yet to experience the new pools, etc, but have heard they're great as well. While the main dining room is a fun experience, if you're staying multiple nights, you may want to try Sam Snead's Tavern adjacent to the property in addition to the main dining room. It's a different experience, but it's a lot less in money as well. Since we've stayed there a few times, the front desk always welcomes us when we walk in and say welcome back and they have a small gift upon our return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
What a wonderful review! It is always good to hear from our repeat guests as we value your opinion. We're pleased that you enjoy the Spa and your dining experiences. In particular we appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff. We always look forward to welcoming you back and hope you will return soon for another relaxing visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemont, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Attentive staff, and beautiful property! Everything you could want and more all in one place. Tea time, and the pool(s) and grounds are just spectacular. Plenty of dining options and nice shops too. Library and other great historic features at this magnificent hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing the highlights of your visit. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Upon the recommendation of and friend and of a coworker, I decided to take a mini-vacation down to Hot Springs for my most recent birthday and stayed at the Homestead. I don't know if the service was poor because I was only staying one night or if it was because I didn't exude the wealth that all the other guests did. I got there after it was dark and was offered no assistance with my bag (didn't even see one of their infamous bellhops). The lady who assisted me with check in was pleasant but seemed a bit put out with me. My suite was mostly bed and my view of the grounds was actually a view of the driveway. As I was on the front of the hotel and since there were no drapes on the windows, just blinds, light shone into my room all night making sleep difficult. The gym facilities were very nice and the buffet breakfast was excellent (got the best service of my stay there). Upon checkout, I got around to asking about my free gift (was hoping someone would offer it to me) and found out I had to go to a shop that wasn't open yet. The lady at the desk was less than helpful in that regard and pawned me off on the lady in the gift shop. She was befuddled as to what to do as I did not have time (2 hours) to wait for the shop to open so after 20 minutes and calling multiple people, I finally was able to leave with what I should have been given when I checked in. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Not a very good birthday at all.....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomesteadResort, General Manager at The Omni Homestead Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your candid review and for visiting The Homestead to celebrate your birthday. We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. It is our goal to provide each guest with a first-class experience and Southern hospitality. We value input from our guests and use all comments as tools for improvement. We hope that you will return to The Homestead again so that we may regain your goodwill and confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Otel, Tingo, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni Homestead Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.