We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Homestead Resort

Save Saved
You added The Omni Homestead Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Omni Homestead Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Maryland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Still good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

This was my second visit to Homestead. Meal plan is expensive, I would recommend getting a light breakfast at Martha's Market cafe instead of the pricey breakfast buffet provided in the dining room. Had eaten dinner at the 1776 restaurant very expensive, food was good, but not up to the level warranting their prices. Dinner in the dining hall was bit less expensive, and again good but not spectacular. Next time I would eat at one of the nearby restaurants perhaps. Jefferson Springs is a must to visit, the warm indoor pool is one of my favorites. Took the 1 hr horseback ride at the equestrian center and had a blast. Toured the Homestead Gun Club with their available skeet, trap, sporting clays and was pleased with the facility and will do some shooting next time. They are building a new water/pool facility for the Summer of 2012, which should be a nice addition. Room was neat, clean, only glitch was that the nightstands did not match ? As we toured the facility as it rained outside, we found an area of wet floor with a leaky ceiling in one of their areas. Overall I would return, I love the setting.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    562
    283
    161
    93
See reviews for
682
840
30
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in the best of the best ..... Four Seasons, Ritz, Fairmont worldwide. This hotel is a pretender at best. Requiring a Jacket for men for a restaurant a step above a mediocre corner eatery at best. Service although polite is sloppy. I judge hotels on their price point and their advertised mission. This place is pretending to be a five star resort while delivering three star value and service.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The Homestead in the 12 years we have known it has gone downhill. KSL bought it out not long ago, and it does not even begin to compare with the other properties they have such as the Hotel Del Coronado, Vail Mountain, or the Montelucia. Currently I put the Homestead evenly on par with many hotels in the Historic Hotels of America, such as the Hamilton Crowne Plaza or Morrison-Clark Inn in DC, the Blennerhasset (WVa), or the Greenbriar (WVa). In sum the Homestead is currently NOT a "destination" resort by category (the standards and property do not meet the definition), and not four diamond. I hope the property wide renovations they are undergoing this summer are part of a larger vision, and that it goes well. It is a shame to see such a "grand old lady" fade. A note to managers and planners: A great stay is all in the details, not in hyperbole- and the details are gone. . . Larger issues include: the heat/air units are disgraceful, and the pool and golf course conditions need to be addressed too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Came here on a Livingsocial special rate. Since I live in VA, I figured I would have to check this place out sooner or later. Now that I have, I don't think I will be back again. Simply too expensive!

Pros - hotel is beautiful and so are the grounds; Easter brunch was great and they were able to seat us earlier than our reservation; pool was nice and we were the only ones using it from 7-8 am each morning; free movies; easter egg hunt

Cons - pizza in Casino restaurant was nasty--could have gotten something better in the frozen section (probably where they got it); won't give you trail info to hike Cascade Gorge trip on your own--only will allow you to hike it if you pay for a guide; popcorn for free movies came 45 minutes into it;

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Room was dirty. Dead bugs on louvers covering windows. Cracked and ugly lampshades. Dusty bedside tables. King size bed very hard and uncomfortable.

Wait staff at breakfast in dining room spread too thin. Couldn't get coffee or hot tea, or even a cup, without begging. Ignored by waiters.

Dinner in main dining room was so cold, our food was cold almost instantly.

Indoor pool lovely, but portion of one wall crumbling. Old doors propped in front of the damage to try to hide it.

Ceiling in one hall, by the elevators, water stained and crumbling.

Theater screen scratched and patched. Wallpaper falling off walls. Such a shame because it could be a lovely space.

Carpeting in public areas very stained and dirty. Needs a thorough cleaning.

They're pouring money into building a new outdoor pool with a lazy river while things inside are not getting fixed.

TV in our room was so cheap or old, or both, the picture was very fuzzy.

Room Tip: Make sure your room doesn't overlook the new lazy river construction site. Beeps and hammering...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Rooms and service were very good. We had an exceptional experience with Brian on the Gorge hike; highly recommended. We learned how to skeet shoot from Jimmy. I am convinced that he could hit the clays blind-folded. On our excursion to fly fish for the first time we caught a rainbow trout. Thanks Ronald! The golf courses are beautiful and well maintained. Our spa experience was heavenly. The Homestead is about the people there; we met and were taught by some exceptional individuals who made our stay incredible. If you do not take a meal plan, the dinner entrees are a little on the high side. We will be returning again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Homestead. The resort is Beautiful! The hotel staff is very friendly. Our sons, 7 and 10 had a blast. They participated in a number of activities. The highlight for our sons was their tennis lessons and the indoor pool. The only shortcoming is the limited dining options. Stay away from John's Steakhouse. The food is overpriced and horrible!!! Martha's Market is on the property and items are reasonably priced. The Country Cafe is ok if you need an altenative breakfast option. The Waterwheel at the Inn at Gristmill is ok. My husband did not enjoy his salmon. He said it was tasteless. We expected more from this restaraunt because of the reviews we read prior to our stay. Cucci's is awesome. It's a casual restaurant with reasonably priced food. Cucci 's offers, pizza, burgers and deli sandwiches.
Overall, our stay at the Homestead was great. We hope to return during the summer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the resort room. It was fine for a family of four. We also requested a refrigerator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni Homestead Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.