We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real New Year's Eve Party!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni Homestead Resort

Save Saved
You added The Omni Homestead Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Omni Homestead Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Real New Year's Eve Party!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Words cannot describe the great time we had at the Homestead's New Year's Eve party. From the efficiency of checking-in to the overall organization of staff and the first rate accomodations, my wife and I enjoyed our visit from beginning to end. Valet service, bellmen and housekeeping worked together to facilitate a fine first impression.
There were hot drinks plus snacks available upon arrival. Despite how busy the lobby was on New Year's Eve the staff was friendly and helpful to everyone. Then there was the Spa and Pool. We soaked and splashed until it was time to get ready for the main event.
Both dinner and service were expected to be good and lived up to their reputations. Then the Attraction Band started to play and they sounded great! Guests and staff said it was the best band they ever heard at the Homestead's New Year's Eve Party. The dance floor was packed all night. We watched a young man propose to his fiancee. We made new friends. People tried to sneak in from other parties because the Attraction Band was so good.
Now we are looking forward to returning for more of the same this year!

Room Tip: Make your reservations in advance and be sure to get the grand ballroom with the Attraction Band!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,012
    560
    282
    161
    93
See reviews for
682
839
30
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
richmond, va
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We have stayed at the homestead before, I have had rooms from closet size to very large suites. This time I had a wonderful suite with 2 walk in closets , a great view and a balcony. I love the work out room and the pool. One issue with the pool is adult swim is supposed to be 8am to 9am, however, no one monitors this and if you are trying to swim laps it can be an issue. I had 2 teenage boys throwing a ball I had to dodge while swimming laps. I do have to say the food is very pricey, so I try to eat some meals there and some at the waterwheel down the road. Sam sneads trout is $34 and the waterwheel is around $26. Whatever you do make sure you have a reservation. The tea was a madhouse, very difficult to find a seat, the staff at the resort were great except for the people serving coffee in the morning and the te! They dont seem to really care about anything and are indifferent to the customers. I get no sense of pride or joy in their work. All the others were pleasant and energetic. We will continue to go to the homestead, once you go you will always want to return.

Room Tip: Get a tower room or one with a sunporch
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Review of the Homestead
Overall, we loved it and will probably return. That being said, the food is the weakest link. Sorry this is so long...

Hotel & Grounds
- Hotel grounds are beautifully manicured
- Lobby, shops and facilities are immaculately clean and beautiful
- Our room was elegantly decorated and sparkling clean
- The indoor POOL is amazing!
- The only issue was the 1969 USSR issue toilet paper that felt like sand paper!

Personnel & Service
- Friendly personnel in all areas. A few seemed a bit apathetic (bored maybe); however, all did their jobs appropriately
- My daughter and I took a private ski lesson and my husband took skeet shooting lessons – both instructors were very good
- Getting ski set-ups was slow but the woman running it was extremely helpful
- Shuttles ran like clockwork.

Activities
- Loved the activities – all were well organized and well done.
- Movie theatre – fun but not a great picture. Worked great for kids.
- Bingo – sounds old fashioned but was a great way to pass an hour with a drink in hand.
- Fireworks on Saturday night were great!

Food
We signed up for the meal plan. The food is not 4-diamond quality. One overall comment – often there was not enough salt in the food.

Breakfast
– The buffet was quite good. If you arrive at 7/8 am the food is hot but after 2 hours of hundreds of people opening the lids, the food gets cold - probably not fixable.
– The omelet/pancake bars are super slow. Servers need lessons in multi-tasking. The omelets would also be better cooked in pans instead of on a flat top – it made them tough.
– The biscuits, the sausage, corned beef hash and the bacon were good.

Tea
Not great. Every day we asked for cookies and were told, “Oh sorry, the cookies are gone.” They had really dry little tea sandwiches and banana bread. They also just had regular old tea, no choices of anything special. Not memorable!

Dinner
Main Dining Room
- Strange looking and tasting shrimp cocktail. Not butterflied and served with sweet sauces.
- Crab soup for Amuse Bouche – not very crabby and maybe thickened with corn starch
- Decent steak and fish dishes.
- Blah salads and no cheese selections. Isn’t the Homestead near farms and dairies????
- Edy’s ice cream for the children’s dessert. Really? Shouldn’t it be homemade?

Sam Snead’s Steakhouse
- The best of the 3 restaurants we tried. But don’t expect MORTON’s. It is a homey little restaurant that serves basic steaks, fries and (just OK) salads.

Casino Restaurant
- The menu said flat bread pizza with fresh torn basil and tomatoes. It arrived sans basil. The waitress said that it was actually dried basil (and brought some for to sprinkle on our food!)
- My husband ordered the “wings” but they were chicken nuggets in hot sauce.
- I got the turkey pot pie. It looked beautiful and tasted good…except I think it was made with cubed deli turkey, not real turkey!!! Come on!
- My husband ordered the pork chop (only truly good item). It arrived at least 15 minutes after my daughter and I finished our meals.
- After all the discrepancies, we requested a refund! To their credit, they did so immediately and even included our drinks.

Cost
The Homestead is expensive. For the most part I believe you get your money’s worth, the exception being the food. However, if you are on a budget remember that everything adds up and can easily cost $500-$750 a day...or more!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the ice maker rooms and far from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Alto, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

First let me say that my husband and I LOVE LOVE LOVE The Homestead. What we didn't love was the mad, crazy rush and the jammed Grand Hall during Tea Time. What we have enjoyed during a previous winter stay was a calm, soothing event that allowed us to mingle with some guests in an inviting and warm environment...or sit quietly by a fireplace and soak up the goodies.

This year, however, we went the third weekend in December and were amazed at the chaos that occurred when a generally well choreographed event went haywire. People not only filled the walk-ways but scrambled to get into lines for tea, cocoa or finger sandwiches and cookies. Each day afterwards we debated whether or not to wade through the lines, like cattle, for a simple cup of tea...and MAYBE a place to sit down.

I can't stress how much we adore The Homestead...for their service, attitude, style and grace...plus all the wonderful things you can do once you are there. But I would suggest they work on this BIG stumbling block for their guests that expect a gracious and graceful holiday. I don't know the answer, but perhaps serving tea in more areas of the hotel? Maybe in the restaurant using the buffet line like they do at breakfast? The Library, President's Club and Game Room/Hall all offer beautiful settings with more space to dilute the overwhelming event.

They have 11 more months to think about and make some changes. Let's hope so. Bottom line....go, visit, have a gorgeous time and make beautiful memories. But don't say you weren't warned about the "Hectic Homestead Tea-Party" before Christmas!

Room Tip: If a pretty view is important make sure you know where your window/room is located or you could be l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

First of all, the toilet paper was like a Motel 6 or such. Come on people, provide Charmin at this price.
The dining room was a nice experience but the menu is limited to what is posted online. Breakfast was great though. Get the meal plan if you want to save some money. Service in the resort and dining room was very good.
Do yourself a favor if you drink, BYOB. Their prices are very high. $51.00 for a $7.00 bottle of wine? Plus tips.
They are undergoing a $25 M renovation and expansion which should help this grand old place great again. Would go back again, it is beautiful.
Please include free internet service for you guests. Cell phones do work great there as well as your pad.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, AL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

The Homestead is a wonderful place for your entire extended family. Four generations of our family spent New Year's weekend there and had such a great time. The setting and old- fashioned feel of the hotel make it like the old gracious home you wish you could have.
The buffet breakfast in the Grand Dining Room is the best part of the day.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

The resort is beautiful all the staff were helpful and friendly-the Christmas decorations were still up and very pretty our room was very large nicely appointed
Our first night we ate in the dinning room even with the high prices-we wanted to experience the whole package-awful food !! The waiter could not even explain the pasta entree "has some sort of vegetables in it " I ordered the lobster bisque which was fine and then my entree was a piece of fish in a lobster reduction sauce--the sauce was simply the soup poured on top ....We did not go to the breakfast buffet which seemed well attended as compared to our evening when only four or five tables were filled
Lunch in the casual "Pub" restaurant was very good both days-sad about the dinning room where the prices are so high

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Omni Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni Homestead Resort

Address: 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Omni Homestead Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1766, The Omni Homestead is one of America's most storied resorts, offering unparalleled hospitality and southern charm in a 2,000-acre setting within the Allegheny Mountains of southwestern Virginia. Renowned for its natural hot springs, The Homestead is distinguished by 483 luxurious guest rooms and suites, 72,000 square feet of meeting space, a wide array of fine and casual dining choices, an expansive spa, championship golf courses that include one of the nation's finest mountain courses (The Cascades), Allegheny Springs, a two-acre family-friendly water attraction complete with lazy river, water slides and water play zone. The resort also offers the South's first downhill ski area, an Equestrian Center, top-rated Shooting Club, archery, canoeing, falconry, Segway tours and a wealth of other recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your The Omni Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Hotel Hot Springs
Homestead Va
Homestead Hot Springs Virginia
Homestead Hot Springs Va
Homestead Resort Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni Homestead Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;