We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Breakfast Favorite!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosa's Italian Ristorante

Rosa's Italian Ristorante
4098 Oaklawn Blvd, Hopewell, VA 23860
(804) 458-8744
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 48 Restaurants in Hopewell
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Prince George, VA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“My Breakfast Favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I meet each Saturday for a weekly prayer breakfast. The waitresses are the best in the business and always look forward to this time at Rosa's. To tout on the waitresses, there are a few who have been known to remember up to 8 regular's orders by heart. While it is a traditional Italian Restaurant, when the moved into the home of an old favorite known for their breakfast, they added it to the fare to keep the business and the locals happy. The food is always delicious, and I have eaten lunch and dinner meals there as well. They hold fast to the traditional Italian flavor and flare. Conveniently located off of I-295 at the Hopewell, Va exit, make a point if you travel through to take a break at Rosa's.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    20
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Loved It!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a weekend trip to the Hopewell/Petersburg area to tour the battlefields and other Civil War sites. While we were there, a local recommended Rosa's to us and we gave it a try. Both the food and service were great! We entered the restaurant behind another couple. The hostess seated the couple ahead of us and another employee, Ryan, quickly swooped in and seated us. Ryan then introduced himself as our waiter. He provided great service and the restaurant was very accommodating to my picky tastes and dietary restrictions. (It's hard to be a girl that likes Italian food but can't eat garlic.)

Ryan knew the recipes well enough to know what I wanted did not have garlic in it, and they even modified a recipe for me to give me veal instead of the chicken listed on the menu.

The servings were huge, the bread was fresh baked and plentiful and the beverages (non-alcoholic) were never empty. The prices were also quite reasonable. We ordered an appetizer to share, two entrees (both came with a salad), two non-alcoholic beverages, and a dessert to share, and our total was right around $40.00, not including tip.

Ryan provided terrific service--always around when we needed him, without being bothersome or lurking.

We will definitely go back to Rosa's the next time we are in the area. Heck, we might even make the 2.5 hour trip down there just to go to Rosa's.

PS - Make sure you order the friend zucchini appetizer. It is delicious!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir City, TN
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Much better than we expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We were just looking for a decent place to eat after checking in at our budget hotel. The hotel clerk recommended Rosa's and we were pleasantly surprised. Our waiter was outstanding, the environment is comfortable, and our unusual food choice "stir fry" pizza was very good. We would make a point of stopping here in the future when traveling through.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Follow-up Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I have reviewed this wonderful jewel of an Italian restaurant on other occasions. I travel frequently to the Hopewell-Fort lee area for a consulting client and make every effort to go to Rosa's, as I know I will never be disappointed. And I never am. This time, I used their carry out service and ordered linguine with a red meat sauce and their own creation, "Risina" salad, which is something like a Greek salad, but with their own signature - both were outstanding. I also asked for some extra crushed red pepper and grated cheese on the side, and they were extraordinarily generous with that. Once again, for anyone traveling to the vicinity of Ft. lee - Petersburg or Hopewell, VA, Rosa's is a must go destination for a great, neighborhood Italian place..

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weiden, Bayern, Germany
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Local Italian Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had 7 in our party and had appetizers, pasta, salad and pizza. It was all pretty standard fare. Wait staff was friendly and on top of things...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosa's Italian Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Rosa's Italian Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosa's Italian Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.