We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to call "home away from home"!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5113 Plaza Drive, Hopewell, VA 23860   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Hopewell
El Paso
1 review
“A great place to call "home away from home"!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

It all began when I made my reservation,the staff was very helpful and ready to assist all my concerns. Candlewood Suites has a great location near any a variety of stores,restaurants you might need. I took full advantage of the kitchenette to save money.The facilities were extremely clean, with a welcoming feel to it. It did not feel like a hotel at all. I never had any noise complaints at all. It truely felt like home for me from Feb-Apr 12. Karen and her staff really take the time to get to know their guests. Thank-you Karen and your staff for taking great care of Faithful( my dog), and I. I truly enjoyed my stay at Candlewood Suites

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful words! It was our pleasure to serve you! One of the advantages of being a pet friendly hotel is we get to meet ALL members of the family. We enjoyed getting to know you and your dog. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    20
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
5
13
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Outstanding Serivice!! You do not realize what you had until you are gone. From 1 Feb 12 to 4 Apr 12 My 2-yr old son and I had the privilege of staying at the Candlewood Suites in Hopewell, VA and being served by an oustanding staff (Karen, Kim, Melissa, Martie, and Taylor). From the first day the staff welcomed my son and I with open arms. They always went out their way to ensure that we was always comfortable. The two months that my son and I was away from home would have been unbearable if it wasn't for the hospitality, cleaniness, family felling that Karen and her staff provides at the Candlwood Suites. You really made my stay a home away from home. Thank you and GOD bless all of you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

From the first day we felt welcomed. Not the phony "it's my job" type of hospitality but truly welcome.
Family and pet friendly. Free wi-fi. Close to shopping, restaurants and base.
Every area of the hotel was kept clean. The rooms were comfortable and the kitchenette was well equipped. There are even grills available for the use of the guests! No detail was overlooked.
For four months we call the Candlewood our home and the staff is now a part of our family. I will never stay anywhere else.
Hugs to Kelly, the wonderful ladies, and the awesome gentleman who make Candlewood what is.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
It was a pleasure serving you and your family. You are truly missed by everyone. We hope that it won't be too long before we see you again. Thank you again for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Extremely well pleased with the service received at Candlewood Suites, Hopewell. Great ambiance along with an amazing staff makes staying here a traveler's delight. Thank you Karen for reminding me what exceptional customer service is all about, you and the others have really adopted the concept of "going the extra mile" for the customer as the norm at your remarkable establishment. Congratulations on a job well done.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for such wonderful compliments! We are very pleased that we could accomodate your needs while you were here with us. If you are ever back in the area we hope you will stay with us again. It was our pleasure to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone on a short or long term visit to the area. It's convenient to shopping, restaurants etc., and the staff here make you feel right at home!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Kelly and her team were exceptional! I stayed here for the period of three months (while I was in training). The rooms were very cleaned, I had a mini kitchen, dishwasher, refrigerator, microwave, etc... name it and it was there! Including the laundry basket, free laundry and mini gym! It was very conveniant and close to the Schools! I really loved my stay here, they made me felt like I was coming back home everyday! My family and I are very grateful for your great customer service!! I'll be back soon!! :)

Mayra "Momma"

Room Tip: Second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kclark46, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Mayra,

We are glad you made it home safe. Thanks so much for all the kinds words about everyone and the hotel. We are so glad we made you feel at home while you were here. You, the kids, your husband and Grandma became part of our family as well and you guys are missed greatly. Remember anytime you are in the area you always have a place to call home.

We wish you and your family the best the Holiday Season has to offer. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Stayed here during TDY to ALU for three months. I loved the SHORT commute with the clean rooms and AWESOME employees! I will be staying here when I return for future TDY's to ALU. I had a mini kitchen so I was able to cook for myself as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kclark46, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Good Morning,

Thanks so much for your kind words about our hotel. We do our every best to ensure you feel at home when you stay. We realize that you are away from family and friends during your training and we hope in some small way we help ease the pain. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Fort Lee take care and Happy Holidays.

Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell

Address: 5113 Plaza Drive, Hopewell, VA 23860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hopewell
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Hopewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home bedding collection. The Candlewood Suites Petersburg Hopewell Hotel offers weekly housekeeping service for stays of 7 or more nights. Fully equipped kitchens, 25' TV, VCR, AM/FM/CD/alarm Clock radio, iron/ ironing board, hairdryer, 2 telephone lines and free high speed Internet access. At the Candlewood Suites Petersburg Hopewell Hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. We are an all suite property, the perfect place for your next stay, and a great alternative to a corporate apartment. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over-sized executive desk and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. Our setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers, you can earn Priority Club reward points for each qualifying stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell Hotel Hopewell
Candlewood Hopewell
Candlewood Suites Hopewell
Hopewell Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Petersburg/Hopewell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.