We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Petersburg/Hopewell

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Petersburg/Hopewell to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Petersburg/Hopewell
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5103 Plaza Dr, Hopewell, VA 23860   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Hopewell
Johnson City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great guest service, staff is awesome and very helpful. Breakfast has everything you could want, including Apple Jacks!!! Close to the base, mall, and places to eat. Only about 30min from Richmond if you take 295 to I 95. Had cookies when it snowed!

Room Tip: king beds were under construction, but two queens means you get twice the pillows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraSutton105, General Manager at Hampton Inn Petersburg/Hopewell, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. With the renovation well underway, we are excited about the new product we have available for our guests. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you once the guest rooms have been completed! You will definitely feel at home in our newly remodeled rooms. Best wishes for future travels! --Laura M. Sutton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    35
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
35
27
8
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina, USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Had a quick meeting the night I stayed and was upgraded to a larger room to accomodate. The hotel is under going a multi million dollar upgrade so lobby was set up in breakfast area. Front Desk and other personnel were very accomodating for the work going on and made sure I was happy with the room. Lots to eat within walking distance. Quick off/on to I-95 and only 15 minutes from airport. Only reason for the "non-5" rating is because the breakfast was nothing special and had the typical food of all other Hampton's. Wish they would have something different like other Hampton's? Hotel rooms and hallways definitely need to upgrade but was very clean, just old decor.

Room Tip: Watch for low sign at 1st intersection off I-95. Hotel can be easy to miss
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraSutton105, General Manager at Hampton Inn Petersburg/Hopewell, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words and understanding during our renovation. This hotel-wide upgrade will certainly add value and comfort to your next stay with us. We are excited to become a premier Hampton property and can't wait for you to see the end result. I hope that you will allow us to serve you again if you are in the Hopewell area. Best wishes for future travels. Laura M. Sutton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnaminson, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a very nice facility. As do all Hamptons it has the breakfast included and coffee 24/7. There are restraunts in walking distance and the Petersburg Battlefiled is justa short distance down the road. Plus it is convenient to the Interstate system. I think this is the third time we have stayed there on our trips south.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back face a lake and wooded area - very quiet. There are birds and turtles to watch fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraSutton105, General Manager at Hampton Inn Petersburg/Hopewell, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We are so happy to have you as a return guest to our property. You will be happy to know that we are in the midst of a hotel-wide renovation which will certainly add value and comfort to your next stay. Best wishes for future travels. Laura M. Sutton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

I was a walk in to this hotel. The front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful! The customer service was great however the hotel is in need of renovations. I knew this before checking in, based on previous reviews. But the beds were very comfortable and the room was very clean.
I know you have to make money to be able to do renovations, however I think the prices were a little high. We paid $119+ and the other Hampton Inn about 5 miles away was $139 and renovated. I think $99 would be a better price.
Breakfast in the am was good. Lots of choices and fresh.
All in all a good stay! I'm sure it will be great once renovated!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraSutton105, Manager at Hampton Inn Petersburg/Hopewell, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
I am so happy that you enjoyed your brief time with us. You will be happy to know that we are about to undergo a hotel-wide renovation which will certainly add value and comfort to your next stay. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you should you find yourself in the Hopewell area in the future! Best wishes for future travels. Laura M. Sutton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stopped in late just to have a place to sleep. We were greeted with smiles upon entrance and quickly checked in while being given an overview of amenities. Our room was clean and looked nice...the bed was comfortable. We had a good night's sleep and enjoyed a good breakfast (with many choices) in the morning. Then we were off. All was good!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraSutton105, Manager at Hampton Inn Petersburg/Hopewell, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words. It was truly our pleasure to serve you. I hope that you will stay with us again should you find yourself in the Hopewell area. Best wishes for future travels! Laura M. Sutton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swords Creek, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here on a sat night while traveling with vchss, front desk clerk was very friendly. The rooms definetely need the Hampton re-do, they were nice though comfy bed just not very big for two. Bathroom was still old motel style sink, wallpaper peeling in places, due to lack of an exhaust fan, tiles craked in places and really small in size. I think once a remodel is done which they said was in progress this Hampton will be great. Location was nice, quiet and safe.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraSutton105, Manager at Hampton Inn Petersburg/Hopewell, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words! You will be happy to know that we are about to undergo a hotel-wide renovation which will certainly add value and comfort to your next stay. Please stop by after the first of year and check out what we've done! Best wishes for future travels! Laura M. Sutton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Keisha, Melissa and Sherry made my 2 week stay great!!! They made sure I had anything I needed, to include directions to anywhere I asked the best way to get there.
The hardest part about trying to write up something about this trip is I don't have at least 200 characters - which has nothing to do with my stay, but this website!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraSutton105, Manager at Hampton Inn Petersburg/Hopewell, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words! Service to our guests is our primary goal and it seems as though we succeeded in this instance! We are about to undergo a hotel-wide renovation and hope that you will stop in after the first of the year to see the new and improved Hampton Inn/Hopewell! Best wishes for future travels! Laura M. Sutton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Petersburg/Hopewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Petersburg/Hopewell

Address: 5103 Plaza Dr, Hopewell, VA 23860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hopewell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Hopewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Petersburg/Hopewell 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Petersburg/Hopewell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Petersburg/Hopewell Hotel Hopewell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Petersburg/Hopewell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.