We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & Clean!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1994 Carrollton Pike Rd., Hillsville, VA 24343 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hillsville
Ohio
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Quiet & Clean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here for one night on the way back from a music festival last summer. We got one of the rooms with the king bed, sofa and jacuzzi and it was a nice clean room. The hotel was very quiet and breakfast was standard for this chain. There wasn't a lot around the place in terms of food or dining though - we had to drive abotu 10-15 minutes to get something that wasn't just the fast food across the street.

We would stay here again though, especially being it's right along 77.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    28
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
23
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed one night on a road trip to FL. Was a nice, relaxing, clean room. Quiet. Would stay again. The staff were friendly and went our of their way to help in any way possible. The breakfast bar was plentiful, clean and fresh. Easy access off the interstate but only negative was that everything in the area closes down early

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurens, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I used to stay in expresses years ago and nothing was wrong with them then, just very basic. This location was as good or better than Hamptons and other 'better' quality hotels.

Directions; My GPS took us the wrong direction (shows wrong on Mapquest as well), you want to turn toward the Best Western and Shoney's, in fact you should just head to the Shoney's as it is right next door (share a parking lot).

Room; We had a good king with 4 large pillows, they were marked firm, but seemed pretty soft to me, worked nicely to prop myself up to watch tv (nice and large LCD). We requested a baby bed and a crib was in the room made and ready to go in our room.

As you can see from the pics, the room came with a fridge/freezer, microwave and the fan for the air stayed on (a plus).

Bathroom; Nice adjustable shower head (see pic) and always appreciate the bowed out shower rod making extra room in the shower. In the bathroom is the coffee maker, hair dryer, ice bucket and something that used to come in hotels back in the day, a heat lamp! Sorry, not a big deal to most, but I sure appreciate it. It also came with bath and body works toiletries.

The only con to the room was a slight musty smell. I was glad the window wasn't bolted shut (as most are nowadays) so I was able to let some fresh air in. The elevator was kinda scary as it would jolt up and down (sometime up when going down and down when going up).

Breakfast; Lady kept it well stocked, plenty of room with bacon, turkey sausage patties, several different breads and a 4 piece toaster, juices, cereals, Greek yogurt, milk, hot cinnamon rolls, oatmeal and much more but gotta mention the just push a button and a fresh pancake rolls out machine (yeah, go figure) Asked my wife if I could have one... she said no.

Misc; Ok, this is probably a thing for me, but like to take the stairs, esp going down and even in the nicest hotels, the fire exit is some dungeon like area, dimly lite, concrete bare bones you shouldn't be here area. Well SURPRISE to me the stairs are very well kept (see pics) with carpet and actually welcoming.

Lazy review;

Pros; Baby crib, breakfast, bed, pillows (4lrg), fridge/freezer, hair dryer, coffee maker, iron/board,Bath and Body Works toiletries, constant air, shower head, lrg TV, stairwell, window opens, heat lamp and did I mention breakfast with the pancake machine.

Cons; Slight musty smell in room, kinda hard to find, scary elevator.

Summary; For the $72 ($88.69 tot) via Priceline, I would be happy to stay again in this nice, clean, comfortable hotel with a good breakfast (and a pancake machine).

Room Tip: Hard to find (even with GPS) head toward the Shoney's. They are right next door and share the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I had booked an room with two beds via the mobile app. We arrived very late and the room given to us was a king with a pull out that smelled of cigarette smoke. As a gold member of this chain and having booked a two bed property online, I was very disappointed at the changing of my reservation to this room type. My guess is that someone else complained and we were booted since we arrived so late. We had to move to another chain since there were no more rooms available. The computer system was also down which put the gal at the front desk in an impossible situation. The smoked in room should have been taken care of by housekeeping long before I arrived, and how about a plan B for the computer system issue?! Geez.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear mamptl,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Gold member and for leaving us a feedback. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with the room accommodation and is the level of service received did not meet your standards. Rest assured, your comments will be reviewed by the management of the hotel and will be used to target opportunity areas to avoid same incident in the future. We hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is and allow us to redeem your faith in our award winning service.

Kind Regards,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Mound, Tennessee
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I think that the difference between this property and many of the other HIX properties is that this one is not corporately owned. This is my new favorite HIX!

Upon our arrival at this property, we were pleasantly surprised by the decor in the lobby. Beautifully and tastefully decorated, very welcoming and warm. The staff were the same way. Helpful and friendly, and the check in process was a breeze.

Our room was large and comfortable, with many extras that are not usually included in a regular hotel room. We appreciate the attention to those small details, such as chocolates, that make customers feel valued and comfortable. The best thing about our room was that it was extremely clean. Excellent housekeeping!

The breakfast in the morning was the usual HIX breakfast. The room was clean and well-stocked, and they had flavored creamers for the coffee. That should be standard for the chain, but surprisingly it isn't. It's always such a disappointment to go for coffee in the morning and find none...I asked about that at one property and they said "oh, we don't do that"....sad.

The staff is helpful, friendly, and welcoming. I felt like I was visiting with friends. I really hoping that we have a chance to stay here again. Good job!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We were so tired from driving and we were lucky enough to get a room here very late at night. The desk clerk was very helpful and checked us in quickly. The room was great. The bathroom had everything we needed and we were lucky enough to get toothpaste from the front desk. The beds were comfortable and I loved the fact that there was 4 pillows on the bed. There was coffee ready for us early in the morning and we felt great to start our long drive home. Great stay. A little bit higher price than we wanted to pay but it was ok for one night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

In town for business hotels booked for miles because of graduation weekend Virginia tech. Got the last room available jucuzzi suite. Huge room. Clean but dated. Comfortable beds. Check in was very pleasant. Not much around the area to eat. Fast food is it. Breakfast buffet was good. Would stAy there again if in a pinch.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: 1994 Carrollton Pike Rd., Hillsville, VA 24343 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hillsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hillsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition along the mountains of southwest Virginia is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel of Hillsville, Virginia, conveniently located to I-77 and Exit 14, Adjacent to Shoney s Restaurant. The hotel is located just two miles from the Annual Labor Day Flea market and Gun Show. Special in room amenities include: FREE HIGH SPEED INTERNET, microwave and refrigerator, and free local calls. BUSINESS: Crossroad Institute, Vaughan Bassett Furniture Store, Wilcohess, Tune & Toler and Parkdale Mills. HOSPITAL: Twin County Regional Health Care UNIVERSITIES: Radford University and Virginia Tech University Local Attractions are Blue Ridge Parkway, New River Trial State Park, Annual Fiddlers Convention, Annual Labor Day Gun Show, Foster falls park and Blue Ridge Music Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hillsville
Holiday Inn Hillsville
Holiday Inn Express Hillsville
Hillsville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.