We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than the typical Comfort Inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn East

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn East
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 Farmers Market Road, Hillsville, VA 24343 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Hillsville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Hillsville
Crisfield, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Less than the typical Comfort Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Apparent new management and property ranks well on location, breakfast and seemingly new bathroom fixtures and appliances. Carpets in process of being relaced--rolls in hall way! Black out shades were needed to block lights of the property's parking areas. Friendly staff was appreciated but they can't make up for what the facility doesn't provide.

OTHERWISE, think of a smaller than average room, lobby and breakfast area and if you were the owner how you'd cut corners in every way possible to make a profit.
-Ethostream internet but not high speed
-Beds already too soft but attempted cover up with a cushy pad made them softer
-Dated and questionable cleanliness of bedspread and blanket
-Down graded quality of towels, sheets etc. but good pillows
-VERY CHEAP treadmill and stepper in very small exercise room so small you can't get around each machine--wall mirrors are useless with no floor space
-Very small pool only 3-4 ft deep that a poor swimmer could cover in 2 strokes
-Cheap cordless phones rather than house phones
-Adequate hair dryer but limited power levels

Hopefully this helps the new owners with comments from a person who has spent the last 30 days in over 8 different Choice properties and additionally spends upward of 50 days a year in them....

Room Tip: Be sure room is located as far a possible from the Intersstate
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    28
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
25
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
indiana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Clean and well worth the money. Very friendly staff and very helpful. Would highly recommend and would stay there again. Breakfast was good and easy check out . Easy to get to and in a good location, able to walk to supper.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

One of the newest, and best, Comfort Inns I've visited. Located less than a mile off I-77 at the Hillsville/Galax exit, the hotel can't be any more than five years old, and has obviously had outstanding maintenance during that time. Our room was spotless when we arrived --- even the bathroom --- and was maintained that way during our entire four-day stay. Bed was firm and very comfortable, climate control systems and free Wi-Fi worked perfectly, HD TV and small refrigerator were nice features, and the shower water pressure and temperature were perfect. The complimentary standard Comfort Inn breakfast was standard and predictable, but it did the job of filling the morning hole in the gut, and was, as I said, complimentary. And every member of the service staff we met was friendly and interested in helping with our needs, whatever they might have been.

While we don't usually go out of our way to visit a Comfort Inn when travelling, this one might be worth a slight detour to visit again. Definitely one of the best in this chain.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Nice room ..Good breakfast. Clean and comfortable.
We used a coupon out of a traveler book we picked up along the way got a legit good discount.
Would stay again.
Only drawback I could think of is not a lot of food options available at the exit. We were tired and ordered a pizza which was ok by us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chambersburg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We wanted a place halfway between Pa. and South Carolina, so we could relax before resuming our trip. This hotel was perfect. It was very clean and comfortable. The staff members were all great. Breakfast was very good, and we even received bags with food and water on our way out the next morning. I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I spent the night here while in the area because of the positive reviews I have read here. The hotel itself is very nice and clean. The room was clean and for the most part, comfortable. My complaint concerns the bed. We had a king bed with a thick mattress, but the fitted sheet was not the right size and could not be properly secured at the corners. We spent a miserable night trying to sleep with the sheet balling up under us. Otherwise the room was very nice. The breakfast was above average for this type of hotel. It was a hot breakfast and was certainly more than adequate. The indoor pool was disappointing as when we checked in we observed a young boy (8 or 9) in the pool with his trunks pulled down around his ankles and it appeared that he might be using the pool as his own private toilet. Needless to say, we did not try the pool at all. I would consider staying here again, but only if I was assured that the bed sheet problem has been resolved.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We booked 2 nights at this hotel recently so we could go to Mt. Airy, NC (Mayberry). When I checked the reviews on trip advisor this was the closest hotel to Mt. Airy, NC that had good reviews so we decided to take a chance. The hotel was clean. Upon check in we were given a little welcoming package of 2 bottles of water, a small bag of chex mix and a little bag of trail mix. This hotel has coffee and cookies sitting in the lobby area throughout the day and night.
We booked a king room (we were given room 308) and the room was not very large but adequate. I found the bed to be too soft. It did have a pillow top on the mattress but the bed itself had no support which made it hard to sit on the edge. The sink was outside of the bathroom which I do not like. The room did have a coffeemaker, refrigerator and microwave.
Breakfast was good. There were ham steaks one morning and sausage patties the next, along with omelets, bagels, cereal, yogurt, hard cooked eggs, muffins, Danish, juice, coffee and 2 different batters to make waffles. The breakfast area was not very big but they did a good job of keeping all containers filled.
This is a small town so there was not much of a choice of places for dinner. We opted for Shoney's one evening which turned out to be a good choice as they had a nice buffet for around $10 a person.
The pool at this hotel is indoors and looked somewhat dreary so we did not try it. Also most times if was filled with kids.
The air conditioner in our room ran constantly even when we turned the temperature down. The room was a bit dated but I did not see any signs of bugs so I was happy about that. I would rather have some place that is clean than modern. We were disturbed one morning by housekeeping knocking on our door to ask us if we wanted our room cleaned that day. Really?????? I thought having your bed made and clean towels replaced was part of staying in a hotel. Anyway we told them yes we want our room serviced for that day and told them we would be out of there within the hour. To give them kudos they did make sure we had plenty of towels in the room both days.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn East

Address: 151 Farmers Market Road, Hillsville, VA 24343 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Hillsville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hillsville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Hillsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn East 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Expedia so you can book your Comfort Inn East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hillsville
Hillsville Comfort Inn
East Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.