We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Knob Hill Motor Lodge

Knob Hill Motor Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hillsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Knob Hill Motor Lodge
Save Saved
You added Knob Hill Motor Lodge to your Saves list
305 East Stuart Drive, Hillsville, VA 24343   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Hillsville
South Daytona, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Returning home from NYC to Daytona Beach. I stayed at several motels on the way to and from in several states. Knob Hill Motor Lodge far exceeded any stay elsewhere. Clean, spacious, very reasonably priced...pleasant and comfortable. When you're in the area, forget the large, sterile, overpriced and inconsistent chains at the exit. Do yourself a favor, drive the extra 2 miles, step just a little back in time and enjoy the way a motel is supposed to be.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
9
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed at the Knob Hill Motor lodge as I wanted to stay in Hillsville for the annual Labor Day flea market. I've heard of the 4-day flea market and wanted to check it out for myself. Not knowing the area I went in blind more so for the adventure. I checked into Knob Hill as it was the cheapest motel in town. To my surprise this was the best find in town. I don't think I have ever stayed in a more cleaner lodging place ever. This place is great. 5 star rating because I can't leave 10 stars. You will not be disappointed and this is from a person that doesn't write very many reviews.

Room Tip: If you go for the annual Labor Day flea market (which to took me over 6 hours to walk through) reser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed overnight August 24th to visit the Blue Ridge Music Center as a friend of ours was playing that venue with the Gospel Plow Boys. Trip Advisor had recommended this place and it truly is a place to stay and get more bang for your buck. It was very clean, quiet and had a great king size bed. The proprietor was friendly as was the housekeeping person. I think they aim to please. It is an older motel but well worth the $60 a night we paid for the room. Drive away from the Interstate chains and go into Hillsville for a quiet, restful nights sleep.

Room Tip: Choose a non-smoking, pet free room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here while riding the Blue Ridge on my motorcycle. The rooms are spotless, and the staff are some of the nicest people on this earth. Park the bike right in front of the room, new flat screen TV, ice cold AC. Several good restaurants in the area. The big bonus, This place is the best price in town, check it out you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I just returned to Northern Virginia from my five day trip back home to Carroll County for my Hillsville High School reunion and my family reunion. It is always a pleasure to return to one of the most beautiful areas of this wonderful country./// I picked up my 8 May 2013 edition of the Carroll News which reported that Charles Jennings and Karen Rich had reopened the Knob Hill Motel in Hillsville in October of 2012. After reading the article I immediately made reservations there for my trip back home./// KNOB HILL MOTOR LODGE, Hillsville's oldest motel, has been in operation for over 50 years and is a landmark in the town and county./// Jennings and Rich have refurbished the facility and purchased new mattresses and box springs and new bedding. Each room has a small refrigerator and microwave oven, and they are replacing the older TVs with new flat screen models. They have also installed Wi-Fi to all the rooms, which they provide to the traveling public at no extra cost./// As other recent guests have noted here on Trip Advisor, the motel does show its age, but that is a good thing. The motel is of "real" brick construction like they built 50 years ago, and the rooms are very quiet because of the way it is constructed./// Jennings and Rich are hands-on type owner/managers who really take care of their guests. The first night I was there, in a room with one of the older TV sets, it failed during the night. I notified the front desk, and the next morning when I went outside, there was a new flat screen TV at my door waiting to be installed./// The motel is spotlessly clean, very comfortable, and conveniently located, but most of all it is a GREAT VALUE (NOTE: We Scotch-Irish place emphasis on value) for the price. In my opinion, all things considered, this should be rated #1 in the Hillsville motel market.

Room Tip: All rooms are equivalent in comfort, some are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

8 miles off the Parkway. Is it older? Yes. If you want modern, stop Motel browsing. It is immaculate. Faux hardwood paneling is made up for with a pristine white cotton coverlet that shows its cleanliness. Thoughtfulness is everywhere, from the new fresh white glass storm doors that allow you to peer outside your entrance, to the kind welcome from the ex-military gentleman who urged us to browse his personal trip planner. Brown and white not my personal fave colors in a Motel, he he he, but that's my personal silliness. Pride of ownership here. And my Mother loved her faux paneling :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Passing through the area on motorcycles headed back home. We checked reviews once we got into town. There is really nothing new to ad to the reviews already written. Room was very clean and had a refrigerator and microwave. No coffee pot but coffee was available near the office at 6:30 a.m., therefore, it was a nonissue. It is a dated hotel and the bathroom is rather small but for the value and considering the comfort of the room, this too is a nonissue. You would be hard pressed to find a proprietress any friendlier. She didn't just assign us a room, she assigned us a room based on the fact that we were on cycles (bikes right outside our room) and that we had been riding all day and wanted comfort. She even allowed us to park our motorcycles under cover. If ever in the area we will not pass up staying here again. You can't go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knob Hill Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knob Hill Motor Lodge

Address: 305 East Stuart Drive, Hillsville, VA 24343
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hillsville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Hillsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knob Hill Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.