We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dessert wine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doukenie Winery

Doukenie Winery
14727 Mountain Road, Hillsboro, VA 20132
540-668-7679
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Hillsboro
Type: Wineries
Attraction Details
Newark, DE
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best dessert wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Another winery recommended Doukenie to us and I'm glad we stopped. The wines were very good but it was the dessert wine that sold us. Hope’s Legacy goes perfectly with chocolate (which they provide). It was recommended that we drizzle it over vanilla ice cream, I can't wait to try it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“OK for a quick visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

After visiting several vineyards along Virginia's wine trail, I can say that although this place is nice, it is not my favorite. The tasting area was like a feeding frenzy. There was nothing relaxing peaceful or serene about that. It was quite crowded on the day we visited and we felt more like we were being herded in and out. The staff sort of went between a few different groups so we weren't able to ask questions nor was she forth coming with any information about each wine other than handing us a laminated card and telling us what wine she was pouring, pointing to it on the card then on to the next group. It was like a loud bar scene at happy hour. Outside, I must say that while the wines were so-so as was the tasting experience, this place does have one of the best scenic views overlooking a small lake/pond. Lots of people have weddings and functions here and I can see why.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great winery in a beautiful setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

My brother, husband, and I stopped here on an afternoon visiting wineries in the Northern Virginia AVA. Beautiful setting, and we loved the wines. My brother who lives in VA, joined their wine club. We are very familiar with Virginia's wines and really liked Doukenie.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Bistro Night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We own a home in Leesburg, VA, a mere 20 minutes away from this lovely winery. Five years ago, we had visited when it was under another name. Now the owners have expanded and during the summertime, they have Friday Bistro nights with local restaurants supplying the food and local musicians performing on the huge patio. They have a sizeable deck and large picnic area by a lovely little pond...great for family fun. It was a most interesting evening with a local Reggae, Funk acoustic guitar player and singer originally from St Lucia entertaining us for three hours. His voice was like butter with a falsetto much smoother than Robin Thicke for sure. No bugs! No humidity! The weather was perfect and the wine was even better. They have one of the best Pinot Grigio and Cab Franc we've had in a long time. It was like being with a large extended family! Everyone was SO friendly and the location and atmosphere really made our evening special! We miss out VA wine country since moving to Houston 7 years ago. Can't wait to return!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Okay Wines in a Beautiful Setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The wines are average but they offer one of the best locales in the area. Look out over a big pond with numerous seating and food options.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doukenie Winery also viewed

Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 
Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 

Been to Doukenie Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doukenie Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.