We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip This One for Sure!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Notaviva Vineyards

Notaviva Vineyards
13274 Sagle Road, Hillsboro, VA 20132
540 668-6756
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 attractions in Hillsboro
Type: Wineries
Attraction Details
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Skip This One for Sure!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We went to this winery on a tour with about 12 middle-aged people. None of us was under 50. They insisted on "carding" us and refused to serve 2 in the group who did not have a picture ID. The owner came over and was quite confrontational. He told us to leave or he would call the police, saying something about the law in Virginia and how we were ignorant of it. BAD customer service. There are just too many wonderful wineries in the area to be bothered with this joke of a place. Don't waste your time or money here - it is staffed by a bunch of grouches. We ended up instead at the 868 Winery - very beautiful and wonderful service. Thanks Kyra!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    1
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great wines and tasting room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Took my sister here and really enjoyed our tasting. They actually moved us from the bar to a table to do a private tasting because a wedding party came in & really crowded us and a few of the people were really 'high maintenance'. Even though it's a long drive I will definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great wine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Unique concept with music matched to wine. Nice tasting room with outdoor seating. The wine is great and the staff is knowledgeable. Always lots of great events going on. Be sure to check them out!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Music and Wine the perfect combination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

It absolutely picturesque and the wine is superb. Live music, beautiful scenery and wine - it just doesn't get better than that.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Needs a new winemaker”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Nice building but terrible wines. I went twice and the second time I went to hear the music and was sure to order a glass of wine that they were selling for another winery.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Owner at Notaviva Vineyards, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
We wish to qualify this as a completely outdated and insignificant review. We have not offered wines from another winery since 2008, our first year in operation. Our first vintage was made by consulting winemakers and per this review we do in fact have a new winemaker starting with the 2008 vintage released in 2009. Since that time we have won gold, silver and bronze awards in numerous Virginia and east coast wine competitions. Come see for yourself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Notaviva Vineyards also viewed

Hillsboro, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 
Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 

Been to Notaviva Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Notaviva Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Notaviva Vineyards to your Saves list