We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not up to previous standards” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 Centreville Road, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
cookeville, TN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“not up to previous standards”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Stayed here before with no problems. Many problems this time ranging from rudeness of the staff , most of whom seem to have no interest in going ANY out of their way to help, to the disappearance of a Seiko watch during the time they moved us from a room with bugs (a roach and a stinkbug) to a different room. Not accusing any employee; the watch just disappeared during that time.
Pool in great need of repair but so ice cold we could not swim anyway. Really getting run down. Would not recommend this hotel AT ALL.

Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne-Plaza-Dulles, Owner at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
We always regret when anyone has less than a perfect visit to our Crowne Plaza. We are aware of your experience and have thorougly investigated your comments. While our staff and professional exterminator found no traces of insects as you claim, we had the room professionally treated for insects. In regard to your watch, I can only say with great confidence that after 20 years at this hotel I have never had an employee theft issue. We do, however, have guests lose or forget belongings each and every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    101
    48
    18
    14
See reviews for
41
63
57
196
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

It was a pleasure interacting with the hotel staff during the reservation process, my stay, and upon my return from a 2 week int'l trip. The hotel has everything....great location, staff, rooms, restaurant, etc.... I had an excellent dinner and very restful sleep before departing on my int'l flight in the morning. I also found the internet service to be very fast. My car was in the covered parking garage near the entrance during my 2 week trip, and I found the shuttle service to and from the airport to be very timely and convenient. All of my needs and expectations were met or exceeded, and I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne-Plaza-Dulles, Owner at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
Greetings Mountain Top Pennsylvania -

Thank you for your kind words including all the great detail from your recent visit to our Crowne Plaza. It is helpful as we continually evaluate how to keep good things good and improve on imperfections. It was a pleasure serving you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Great location. Priced right on priceline. A little run down, needs to be refreshed. Noisy air conditioner, dingy elevator. Nice bathroom amenities. Not again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne-Plaza-Dulles, Owner at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
Thank you for sharing your thoughts from your recent visit to our Crowne Plaza. We watch for this feedback closely and make important use of the comments as we continually self-evaluate the hotel. We wish you would have had a perfect visit. By the way, I agree that the elevators should be jazzed up and we are seeking feedback from elevator companies currently.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Stayed here, but checked out after one night and headed to Hyatt Suites. This is a very dated hotel, offering nothing but a place to sleep. Parking was non-existant, and front desk staff was rude and un-carring about customer satisfaction.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneThompson, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so sorry for the difficulty you experienced with our Front Desk Staff and trying to find adequate parking. Our hotel has ample parking to accommodate large tour busses, semi-trucks, trucks, cars and motorcycles; in addition we offer a secured two level parking garage. Our hotel's consecutive Torchbearer Award for 2009 & 2010 confirms our commitment to offering outstanding service and amenities. From the lively Houlihan's Restaurant & Bar to high-definition TVs and programming in the rooms, we have what you want. A state-of-the-art Fitness Center, indoor pool and Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage® amenities ensure a relaxing stay. Also, I've reviewed your comments with our Front Desk team so that they realize the impact of their actions. This is not the type of service that we strive to deliver to our guests. If you care to elaborate on your comments on how the” front desk staff was rude and un-caring about customer satisfaction” you may contact me directly. Serving and exceeding guest expectations are the qualities that differentiate us from the rest.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve when you return to the Dulles corridor Please contact me directly.

Sincerely, Wayne Thompson, Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza before and after our vacation travel due to early morning and late night flights.

Shuttle service to and from Dulles Int'l Airport was nothing over the top. We had to ask the front desk staff what time the shuttle left for the airport ... staff didn't offer the times of departure. The shuttle leaves at the top of each hour and every 30 minutes. I had to call the hotel from the airport upon our return from vacation to find our where the shuttle would pick us up from. I would recommend that you get all the details of shuttle service to/from the hotel prior to leaving Dulles Int'l.

Restaurant: Houlihan's Bar and Grill
* Food - Good
* Service - Good
* Price - $$, roughly $40 for dinner


First night stay, 9/9/10:
* King size non-smoking, 4th floor
* Clean, no odor to room
* Bathroom was moderate size, larger than most standard hotel rooms
* Hallway was quiet ... and our room was next to the elevator

We arrived for our first night stay at 3:00pm; front desk staff was cordial, but not over friendly. NOTE: front desk staff spoke broken english.


2nd night stay, 9/18/10:
* Should have had a King non-smoking room, put us in a double room
* Front desk said NO king rooms available since we checked in so late
* I argued the point that I had pre-paid for King room 5 months in advance, I expected king room ... or refund $$$
* AMAZING ... front desk clerk found a KING room ... clerk seemed to be incovenienced,
* 2nd room clean, located on 4th floor, smaller bathroom

We arrived for our 2nd night stay at 1:15am (morning of 9/19/10) after travel from St. Lucia. Front desk staff was not welcoming, SPOKE BROKEN ENGLISH and seemed put out by us walking in the front door of the hotel in the early morning hours.

Would I recomment this hotel ... based on our 1st night stay, YES .... 2nd night stay, NO. I am still trying to figure out why the hotel is staffed with people who speak broken english.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneThompson, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2010
We are very sorry to hear about the issues you had during your stay. Our goal is for all guests to leave satisfied and it is truly disappointing when this does not occur. Their is no excuse for the poor service and lack of communication regarding our airport shuttle times that you encountered, and we appreciate you taking the time to give us this important feedback. Rest assured we will address all of your concerns with the appropriate departments within our hotel, as we are always striving to better ourselves. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel and provide the high level of service that guests can expect from the award winning Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

I booked at this location due to its proximity to the airport. The room and amenities were sufficient for an overnight stay and I did receive a restful sleep before my flight the next day.

The one negative I can list about this establishment is staff mannerism. They were not necessarily rude however their demeanor comes off in this unwelcoming monotone attitude. No smiles, little to no eye contact, almost mechanical in behavior .. similar to a day at the DMV. The one time I did see a staff member curve their lips for a customer, it was either a poorly forced smile or perhaps gas.

I'm sure most of the customers staying here have just spent long hours in flight or as in my case driving for 7 hours in hair raising traffic. With that in mind it would be nice if our exhausted minds could be greeted by a friendly smile and made to feel welcome.

PS: I use the word customer rather than guest to get the point across to management.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneThompson, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2010
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport during your visit to the Dulles Corridor September, 2010. I would like to take this opportunity to personally apologize for the impression of or lack of warmth you may have perceived from our staff at some point in your stay. I assure you this is not typical of our team. Serving and exceeding guest expectations are the qualities that differentiate us from the rest. I will make certain your experience is brought to the attention of our staff so that it does not happen again. Our staff experiences ongoing guest service training and our hotel is consistently ranked in the top 1% of all Crowne Plazas in Guest Satisfaction Scores. Be assured that your comments will be addressed immediately.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the room & amenities and received a restful sleep before your flight.
We Thank You for taking the time to make us aware of your experience as it is only through guest feedback that we can learn, improve and success in exceeding guest expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Service was out of this world,we found this gem of a hotel,without any prior booking arrangements,environment was clean,customer service personnel were also courteous,I will visit this hotel when ever my family I are in Virginia.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne-Plaza-Dulles, Owner at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Family with teenagers? Holy Mosses. I hope that is working better for you than it is for me. Thank you so much for your kind comments. We appreciate knowing that our efforts to meet our customer's expectations are hitting their mark. I hope your visit to Virginia was great and we can't wait for the next opportunity to serve you and your family.

David Welliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel

Address: 2200 Centreville Road, Herndon, VA 20170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Herndon
#5 Family Hotel in Herndon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport, located in Herndon Virginia and in the heart of the Dulles Corridor, just 2 miles from Dulles International Airport (IAD). We provide complimentary 24-hr shuttle service to and from Dulles Airport as well as complimentary scheduled shuttle service to local offices within a five mile radius (Mon-Fri). Avoid traffic delays and parking fees for your next trip and book our Park, Stay & Go package. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel to make your stay more productive. Our Houlihan's Restaurant & Bar offers a popular and lively happy hour, as well as breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. All guest rooms feature Hi-Def flat screen television and refrigerator. Relax with a swim in our lap pool or enjoy a workout in our 24-hr fitness center. Also stay connected with our 24-hr business center.Our convenient location is within walking distance to restaurants, shopping & a multiplex movie theatre. If you prefer to drive, Enterprise Car Rental is conveniently located just off our lobby. Washington D.C. attractions are only 22 miles east, and the Smithsonian Udvar-Hazy Air & Space Museum is 4 miles away. Whether you want a comfortable stay before a flight or a base for your next business trip or vacation, you will find it at our well appointed hotel near Dulles Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Herndon
Crowne Plaza Hotel Herndon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.