We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very loud at night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 Centreville Road, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
pa, usa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very loud at night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

Had a two night stay in December. First night I thought there was a party next door or outside. It was very loud until about 3 am. The next night, there was a disturbance on our floor and a visitor ended up screaming though the halls, down the stairs and we could hear them in the parking lot outside. At checkout, we were told no one else had complained.

When I repeated the exact words that were being screamed (sounded like a drug deal gone bad), friends could not believe I did not call 911.

Other than the restless nights, the location is great and the room was fine.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    101
    48
    18
    14
See reviews for
41
63
57
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, CA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

We waited for over 45 minutes to get the shuttle from the airport to our hotel. We made three phone calls to ask where the shuttle was and were told it was on its way. When we finally arrived, we tried to upgrade our room because they were not full and were denied. We had to change rooms twice, the first time because the bed was uncomfortable the sink would not drain and the second time because the air conditioner didn't work. Hotel staff was rude and unknowledgable about the area. We asked for directions to Washington DC and they couldn't provide any maps or clear directions.
The highlight of our hotel experience was Houlihan's, the hotel's restaurant. They have the best 'shrooms we have ever tasted. Their food was good and the waitresses were awesome! Definitely check them out!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waythoompsn01, Manager at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2009
Thank you for your review of the hotel; we always appreciate feedback from our guests.
To address some of your concerns . . .
Although we run our shuttle to the airport every 30 minutes all day long, we will check to see what caused the delay in your being picked up and we will certainly address that cause. We know how frustrating such a wait can be.
Our maintenance staff will look at both rooms that you were in and rectify the issues that you experienced. Thank you for noting these.
Be assured that we take seriously the rare occassion when our team is described as "rude" or "unknowledgable." Our staff experiences ongoing guest service training and our hotel is consistently ranked in the top 1% of all Crowne Plazas in Guest Satisfaction Scores. Be assured that your comments will be addressed immediately.
We are delighted that you had a wonderful Houlihan's experience and that you particularly enjoyed our signature Shrooms. We hope to see you back in Houlihan's and, perhaps, the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, GA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

While the exterior and lobby of the hotel were very appealing, the rooms left a lot to be desired. The furniture in our room was dated and aged. The room was much smaller than the 2 star hotel room we stayed in a couple months earlier. The furniture was also large for the room. Tthe shower/tub drained extremely slowly. I was not pleased.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

I booked this hotel on Hotwire.com and was rated 3 stars. When we arrived to the hotel, we were surprised on how friendly was the staff. We went to our rooms and WOOWWWW it was really big and confortable. Then we went to the pool and my girlfriend enjoyed the jacuzzi they have . There are many fast food restaurants and even a small shopping mall with a Fridays which is relatively close to the hotel .
Great service, wonderful place and A+++++ staff. Thanks

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

This was booked for us but it was ideal. Having stayed in the Crowne Plaza in San Jose, Costa Rica we already knew what to expect. Big rooms, loads of facilities, good location. The hotel is very good but it was let down by the number of kids using its 'business centre' for their own disco! There were adult in a queue waiting to use the computers while 4 kids were just playing music on the net. I think that the hotel staff should have got this sorted out as there were so many complaints even in the time we were there. That aside and the place is great. Good gym and pool with a nice restuarant next door.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

This has been the second Crowne Plaza that I have stayed in in the past two months. This Crowne Plaza hotel exceeded my expectations. I booked the room on Priceline for $51 + tax.

The lobby area and walk to the room was nice, with chandeliers lighting the way to the Tower elevators.
[Tip: If you are a Priority Club member, ask for an upgrade to a Tower room or an Executive level room.]

My Tower room was on the corner and had so much space. The bathroom is done very well, with a nice adjustable arm rain showerhead and an upgraded countertop. The desk and work area is sufficient, and the free WiFi is a huge perk. The bed is also comfortable.

My only minor complaint is that the only plugs near the bed are behind the mattress, which took me some maneuvering to plug in.

Beyond that, I recommend the Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport to anyone in the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

Rated 3.5 stars by Hotwire, but quite average and a bit dated IMO.

Warning: shuttle scheduled only every 30 minutes

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel

Address: 2200 Centreville Road, Herndon, VA 20170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Herndon
#5 Family Hotel in Herndon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport, located in Herndon Virginia and in the heart of the Dulles Corridor, just 2 miles from Dulles International Airport (IAD). We provide complimentary 24-hr shuttle service to and from Dulles Airport as well as complimentary scheduled shuttle service to local offices within a five mile radius (Mon-Fri). Avoid traffic delays and parking fees for your next trip and book our Park, Stay & Go package. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel to make your stay more productive. Our Houlihan's Restaurant & Bar offers a popular and lively happy hour, as well as breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. All guest rooms feature Hi-Def flat screen television and refrigerator. Relax with a swim in our lap pool or enjoy a workout in our 24-hr fitness center. Also stay connected with our 24-hr business center.Our convenient location is within walking distance to restaurants, shopping & a multiplex movie theatre. If you prefer to drive, Enterprise Car Rental is conveniently located just off our lobby. Washington D.C. attractions are only 22 miles east, and the Smithsonian Udvar-Hazy Air & Space Museum is 4 miles away. Whether you want a comfortable stay before a flight or a base for your next business trip or vacation, you will find it at our well appointed hotel near Dulles Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Herndon
Crowne Plaza Hotel Herndon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.