We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IHG Priceline.com
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 Centreville Road, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in Herndon
seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OK Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

Rated 3.5 stars by Hotwire, but quite average and a bit dated IMO.

Warning: shuttle scheduled only every 30 minutes

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    89
    43
    16
    14
See reviews for
37
57
54
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
akron ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

Upon walking into the CP we were not warmly greeted by the front desk. They just seemed unhappy to be there. I feel the front desk employees are very important because they are the first you see. Got our room key and went tou our room. The hotel room was average..kind of small but clean. There was a nice flat screen that offered HD channels and free WiFi also. Besides the front desk everything was ok....just ok.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne-Plaza-Dulles, Owner at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on your recent visit to our Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport. Your thoughts were well-detailed and will be useful in our training meetings. We are pleased you were able to take advantage of some of our various features including our complimentary Wi-Fi (only full service hotel in the area with free Internet access) and our new flat screen televisions with hi-DEF programming. It is better than what I have at my house.

Thank you again for your time and effort. We hope to serve you again in the future.

david.welliver@cwhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

Wireless: Big points for a major hotel offering free wireless. Normally these larger chains have wireless available for a fee - and a large fee at that. This one was free. And it worked. Other major chains could learn from this.

Check in was tense. Our reservation was for a room with two queen size beds and had been pre-paid with no refund if cancelled. We were initially placed in a “club floor” room, but were removed a few moments later as “this is the wrong room”. Sadly we were then informed that a queen room wasn’t available. Totally unacceptable as this hotel was one of the few offering queen size beds and we had pre-paid the reservation. There were other nice hotels close by that were cheaper, but only with double beds, so we had paid more here for the larger beds. After a few tense moments and escalating anger and volume, we were re-installed in the club floor room. I would say that this event was the only down side of the stay. However, after having such an unpleasant surprise after a long trip from Europe, it was a bitter taste in the mouth for several days.

Rooms were crisp and nice. Maid service very good - even asking for more towels (they came right away). Front desk (other than the check-in) was very good. Requests for silverware and plates for take-away handled quickly and with a smile. However, we did need a pharmacy one night and they didn’t know which local places were open. We had to conduct a voyage of discovery for over an hour visiting the local CVS’s until we found one. The desk should have known this.

Beds comfortable, large screen TV with lots of “watchable” channels. A lot of restaurants close by. Either within walking distance or by short drive. Ask for recommendations at the front desk. They gave us some good ones. Great access to the airport.

Hotel had a restaurant on-site, but a bit pricey for us and nothing to justify the price. Nice bar, but smoking was allowed, so we gave it a miss.

Oddly, no safes in the rooms. Would have liked that.

Lobby and hallways very nice. Swimming pool larger than you would expect. Staff tried very hard to make it a nice stay.

If I had another early morning flight at Dulles, I would stay there again.

  • Liked — distance to airport
  • Disliked — Mess-up at check in
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit area, MI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

We booked this hotel through Hotwire the day of arrival and drove 10 hours from Michigan to DC. When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised by how nice the hotel was. The lobby is beautiful, with a computer near the check-in desk. Our room was large and looked contemporary. We had a king-size bed with an unexpected welcome package: earplugs, soothing sounds cd, and eye mask. We also had fridge and microwave. The TV was a flatscreen one with great picture. The bathroom was roomy with a great large showerhead. The bed was very comfortable with many pillows (awesome pillows!). We also had free Wi-Fi, which we expected to pay for. The hotel has an adjacent restaurant, Houlihans, which we visited for breakfast on Thanksgiving morning. The food wasn't bad (buffet), and the waitstaff were very attentive and friendly. There are many amenities surrounding the hotel - all types of restaurants, a movie theater, shopping. There's also a bus stop next door in front of Wendy's which will take you to a Metro station if you want to go downtown. It takes a while to get downtown but the busses run fairly frequently and the Metro trains are fast, reliable, and safe. The area where this hotel is located is quite nice and upscale and we never felt that our safety was compromised.

  • Liked — The great condition of the rooms and unexpected amenities
  • Disliked — The heater was very loud, so we turned it off (but the room temp was still fine)
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

Just back from a 3 night stay at the Crowne Plaza Herndon, VA. Check in was efficient with friendly and professional staff. Room in the tower section which are larger than the main section, according to the staff person checking us in. Clean, comfortable, well appointed. Fridge/microwave, wireless internet all worked well. Bed was comfortable with a selection of pillows; towels were of good quality as well. Bathroom clean with upgraded fixtures, especially the showerhead! Only downside was the air/heat unit was noisy...during the night it sounded like a buzzer going off. At first I thought it was an alarm clock in the room next door but on both nights this happened, the sound stopped when the heat turned off. Reported it to front desk at checkout. Houlihan's, the onsite restaurant was very good. Veggie pizza was great! Soups seemed homemade rather than the prepackaged or mix variety. To go orders two nights - ready in reasonable time frame and exactly what we ordered. Other than the minor issue with the air/heat unit, we encountered no problems and had a great stay. Location is easy access to VA-28 and Dulles Toll Roads. Shopping and restaurants nearby.

  • Liked — clean, comfortable room
  • Disliked — somewhat noisy air/heat unit
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

I purchased this hotel on Hotwire.com. It was a great place and it met all of my expectations. Great stay for anyone in the DC area, you won't be disappointed. Have FUN in the DC area.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport for a 2-week business stay. I was on the 7th floor (club members floor) which was quiet and clean. There was a computer for checking flights, etc. just outside the elevators in the hallway, and a very nice lounge with comfy chairs and a nice continental breakfast in the morning (fruit, pastries, bagels and cream cheese, coffees and juices, teas, etc.). I usually ate breakfast at Houlihan's off the lobby (buffet-style, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, bagels, etc.), but I occasionally opted to stay on the 7th floor lounge where you could watch the news on a big screen. Rooms were clean and had big screen TVs. Used the indoor pool and hot tub once - very nice though. Laundry service was a little steep ($40 for a couple shirts and a few pairs of socks). Spent a lot of time in Houlihan's in the evenings. Bartenders were friendly for the most part and welcomed us when we arrived. There was usually a game on the big screens in the bar as well. Overall it's not a bad spot for business travel, easy to get to, and surrounded by various malls and stores. I would definitely return there again in the future.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Although clean, decor a little dated.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Herndon
Crowne Plaza Hotel Herndon
Address: 2200 Centreville Road, Herndon, VA 20170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Herndon
#3 Family Hotel in Herndon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport, located in Herndon Virginia and in the heart of the Dulles Corridor, just 2 miles from Dulles International Airport (IAD). We provide complimentary 24-hr shuttle service to and from Dulles Airport as well as complimentary scheduled shuttle service to local offices within a five mile radius (Mon-Fri). Avoid traffic delays and parking fees for your next trip and book our Park, Stay & Go package. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel to make your stay more productive. Our Houlihan's Restaurant & Bar offers a popular and lively happy hour, as well as breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. All guest rooms feature Hi-Def flat screen television and refrigerator. Relax with a swim in our lap pool or enjoy a workout in our 24-hr fitness center. Also stay connected with our 24-hr business center.Our convenient location is within walking distance to restaurants, shopping & a multiplex movie theatre. If you prefer to drive, Enterprise Car Rental is conveniently located just off our lobby. Washington D.C. attractions are only 22 miles east, and the Smithsonian Udvar-Hazy Air & Space Museum is 4 miles away. Whether you want a comfortable stay before a flight or a base for your next business trip or vacation, you will find it at our well appointed hotel near Dulles Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel to your Saves list