We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“squeaky clean hotel near Dulles Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 Centreville Road, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 20 hotels in Herndon
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“squeaky clean hotel near Dulles Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Extremely close to Dulles Airport. Easy access to Dulles Toll Road.

Clean. Easy parking. Near Bar Louie, a new restaurant with excellent cheap eats. (Also near Taco Bell for those interested.)

On one very busy street and one quiet one. Can run a couple miles west of hotel on quiet one.

Friendly staff. Comfortable bed. OK in room coffee. Fridge, microwave.

Room Tip: In tower with view over soccer fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Mr. Bowman; Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your trip with us. We are delighted that your stay with the Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport was enjoyable. Thank you for the tips on the local new restaurant and the jogging path.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

We hope to welcome you back for a future visit and thank you again for choosing our hotel as your place to stay.

Sincerely,
Sarah
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    94
    46
    17
    14
See reviews for
39
58
55
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I hosted a fundraising event here in January and I had a great experience. The hotel staff is professional, nice, responsive, and very courteous (when I offered tips some of them even refused!). The events and banquets bent over backwards to make sure we were well accommodated for our event, and even set up a private network to make sure we had stable bandwidth, which was very important because we had to stream online for a week straight.

Beforehand the hotel was upfront and honest about costs of their conference rooms, and even provided some things for free that normally weren't (such as power strips). When we arrived everything was set up according to our layouts.

The rooms were nice with comfortable beds, if a little small. housekeeping was responsive, and the A/C/heating was fairly quiet. There is a fridge but no microwave in the rooms (standard queen two beds).

The only complaint I have with the hotel is that the water in the public bathrooms is freezing. Seriously, that's it. That and we can't use the hotel again because we outgrew it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Mike - Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am very pleased to see that you had a successful conference and everything went well for you and your company. We take great pride in delivering exceptional service and it is gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated. I will pass along your comments and compliments to Jay and the rest of the banquet team.

That is wonderful news that your company grew in size, please do keep us in mind for smaller meetings or larger team building events, we are happy to help host out of town visitors as well.

Thank you again for allowing the Crowne Plaza Dulles the opportunity to be of service to you and your colleagues. We do hope to continue to work together in the future.

Sincerely,
Sarah
e-Commerce Manager
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Needed a place for once night near Dulles with a speedy airport shuttle. Crown Plaza fit the bill and all needs. Nothing Very Special but absolutely no complaints. Has a Houlihan's attached which is one of the better low cost chain restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear ccdave; Thank you for your recent review and for being our guest at the Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel. I am very happy to see that you had a great stay and found the hotel to be clean, quiet and had everything you needed for a great stay. I will share your feedback with the restaurant manager as well.

On your next visit, if you have a little more time, you may enjoy taking the hotel shuttle to the Udzar Hazy Air and Space Museum located a few miles away, or take a trip back in time to visit Washington DC monuments or memorials, located by car about 45 minutes away. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Sarah
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookeville, TN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed many times and really like this hotel. Convenient location, very helpful staff. Clean hotel. Mattresses are very comfortable and the rooms are quiet. Unlike many hotels where the heating/cooling goes on/off/on/off waking me up every time, there is a slow steady hum that lulls me to sleep. When the Metro to Reston is complete, this will make this hotel even more appealing for the area.

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet room (away from elevators, ice machines, etc):>
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear TNgal; Thank you for the wonderful review. We are especially pleased to welcome you back as a repeat guest. Means the world to us to and we are delighted to see you had another great stay. We are anxiously awaiting word from the city about the Reston Metro stop too. We'll try to keep our guest posted about it as we get some details.

Thank you again for returning to the Crowne Plaza Dulles, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed there with Worldstrides and a group of about 40 Middle School Kids- 4 nights, we got back late each night, on the 4th night we got back 10 minutes before the pool closed and our kids begged to go swimming, we asked them to keep the pool opened 30 minutes longer, they told us the pool is operated by a different company and they absolutely refused. After 8 minutes in the pool, the lifeguard (lifeguard at a hotel pool???) ordered them all out of the pool. So in 4 nights of staying there, the kids had exactly 8 minutes of pool time. They absolutely could have made an exception, none of their excuses hold any water. With that many paying guests making a request, a hotel that cares about customer service would find a way to say yes...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Cyn; Thank you for sharing your recent trip with us, we are grateful for the Worldstrides business and certainly appreciate your feedback. I will share this review with the Director of Sales so she is aware of the issue your group had and can reach out to you as well.

We do apologize that we could not make an exception this time around, but the pool hours are not managed by the hotel but an outside pool management company. Also, due to county regulations we are required to have a lifeguard on duty at all times, the students would not be permitted to swim without one there. Should the group want a longer time please try to let us know a few weeks in advance so we can help you plan it with the pool company. Please note there may be an additional fee to have the pool open late. That can be discussed with the Director of Sales as well.

Again, we hope you accept our sincere apologies for not being able to accommodate the students this time and the way we handled this. We hope you allow us the chance to plan another fun pool night in the near future.

Thank you,
Sarah
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venus, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was clean and new,sheets and pillows were fresh plenty of channels to watch on tv. Shower was generous with the hot water.

New matress's were hard as a rock and you could feel the supports. bring a matress with you and this will be the best overnight ever.

Room Tip: If you bring a matress with you this hotel is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Jesse; Thank you for taking the time to share your trip with us. We appreciate the compliments regarding the cleanliness of the guestroom and fresh new linen.

We want our guests to have a very comfortable and peaceful nights sleep, as a matter of fact, that is the staple behind Crowne Plaza brand with their Sleep Advantage Package. Thank you for letting us know this particular mattress was not up to par, we will see if there is anything we can do with the manufacturer. We are aware that it will take some time for the new mattressses to settle and become softer on the back but certainly did not know they were that hard. We greatly apologize that this caused you such discomfort.

We hope you consider a future stay with us, we know we can provide an exceptional experience the next time for you.

Sincerely,
Sarah
Crowne Plaza Dulles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The price is a bit expensive but allover it is worth since there is a free shuttle and you are close to the airport. In case you have a rental car you can drop it off the evening before and save some money. It is very convenient in case you have an early flight since you will not get caught in the traffic jams.

The rooms are very spaceous and very clean. WiFi is working well and fast.

There is a restaurant on the premises but there is also a TGIF at the opposite side of the street.

The breakfast buffet is VERY nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear BossErpe; Thank you for your review and valuable feedback regarding you recent stay with us. We are very pleased that your accommodations and the location of the hotel suited your needs well.

Guests will find Enterprise Rental Car on premises, a very convenient way to drop off their rental or pick one up when they arrive. Houlihan's is a guest and staff favorite with freshly prepared meals that are sure to please, there is also Worldgate Shopping Center directly across from the hotel if you would like something different.

We are delighted that you had a great stay and hope to see you again the next time you have a flight out of Dulles International Airport.

Sincerely,
Sarah
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel

Address: 2200 Centreville Road, Herndon, VA 20170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Herndon
#2 Business Hotel in Herndon
#3 Family Hotel in Herndon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport, located in Herndon Virginia and in the heart of the Dulles Corridor, just 2 miles from Dulles International Airport (IAD). We provide complimentary 24-hr shuttle service to and from Dulles Airport as well as complimentary scheduled shuttle service to local offices within a five mile radius (Mon-Fri). Avoid traffic delays and parking fees for your next trip and book our Park, Stay & Go package. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel to make your stay more productive. Our Houlihan's Restaurant & Bar offers a popular and lively happy hour, as well as breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. All guest rooms feature Hi-Def flat screen television and refrigerator. Relax with a swim in our lap pool or enjoy a workout in our 24-hr fitness center. Also stay connected with our 24-hr business center.Our convenient location is within walking distance to restaurants, shopping & a multiplex movie theatre. If you prefer to drive, Enterprise Car Rental is conveniently located just off our lobby. Washington D.C. attractions are only 22 miles east, and the Smithsonian Udvar-Hazy Air & Space Museum is 4 miles away. Whether you want a comfortable stay before a flight or a base for your next business trip or vacation, you will find it at our well appointed hotel near Dulles Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Herndon
Crowne Plaza Hotel Herndon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.