We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Quiet Well Priced with Airport Shuttle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 Centreville Road, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clean Quiet Well Priced with Airport Shuttle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Needed a place for once night near Dulles with a speedy airport shuttle. Crown Plaza fit the bill and all needs. Nothing Very Special but absolutely no complaints. Has a Houlihan's attached which is one of the better low cost chain restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear ccdave; Thank you for your recent review and for being our guest at the Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel. I am very happy to see that you had a great stay and found the hotel to be clean, quiet and had everything you needed for a great stay. I will share your feedback with the restaurant manager as well.

On your next visit, if you have a little more time, you may enjoy taking the hotel shuttle to the Udzar Hazy Air and Space Museum located a few miles away, or take a trip back in time to visit Washington DC monuments or memorials, located by car about 45 minutes away. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Sarah
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    99
    47
    18
    14
See reviews for
40
63
56
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cookeville, TN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed many times and really like this hotel. Convenient location, very helpful staff. Clean hotel. Mattresses are very comfortable and the rooms are quiet. Unlike many hotels where the heating/cooling goes on/off/on/off waking me up every time, there is a slow steady hum that lulls me to sleep. When the Metro to Reston is complete, this will make this hotel even more appealing for the area.

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet room (away from elevators, ice machines, etc):>
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear TNgal; Thank you for the wonderful review. We are especially pleased to welcome you back as a repeat guest. Means the world to us to and we are delighted to see you had another great stay. We are anxiously awaiting word from the city about the Reston Metro stop too. We'll try to keep our guest posted about it as we get some details.

Thank you again for returning to the Crowne Plaza Dulles, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed there with Worldstrides and a group of about 40 Middle School Kids- 4 nights, we got back late each night, on the 4th night we got back 10 minutes before the pool closed and our kids begged to go swimming, we asked them to keep the pool opened 30 minutes longer, they told us the pool is operated by a different company and they absolutely refused. After 8 minutes in the pool, the lifeguard (lifeguard at a hotel pool???) ordered them all out of the pool. So in 4 nights of staying there, the kids had exactly 8 minutes of pool time. They absolutely could have made an exception, none of their excuses hold any water. With that many paying guests making a request, a hotel that cares about customer service would find a way to say yes...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Cyn; Thank you for sharing your recent trip with us, we are grateful for the Worldstrides business and certainly appreciate your feedback. I will share this review with the Director of Sales so she is aware of the issue your group had and can reach out to you as well.

We do apologize that we could not make an exception this time around, but the pool hours are not managed by the hotel but an outside pool management company. Also, due to county regulations we are required to have a lifeguard on duty at all times, the students would not be permitted to swim without one there. Should the group want a longer time please try to let us know a few weeks in advance so we can help you plan it with the pool company. Please note there may be an additional fee to have the pool open late. That can be discussed with the Director of Sales as well.

Again, we hope you accept our sincere apologies for not being able to accommodate the students this time and the way we handled this. We hope you allow us the chance to plan another fun pool night in the near future.

Thank you,
Sarah
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venus, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The hotel was clean and new,sheets and pillows were fresh plenty of channels to watch on tv. Shower was generous with the hot water.

New matress's were hard as a rock and you could feel the supports. bring a matress with you and this will be the best overnight ever.

Room Tip: If you bring a matress with you this hotel is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Jesse; Thank you for taking the time to share your trip with us. We appreciate the compliments regarding the cleanliness of the guestroom and fresh new linen.

We want our guests to have a very comfortable and peaceful nights sleep, as a matter of fact, that is the staple behind Crowne Plaza brand with their Sleep Advantage Package. Thank you for letting us know this particular mattress was not up to par, we will see if there is anything we can do with the manufacturer. We are aware that it will take some time for the new mattressses to settle and become softer on the back but certainly did not know they were that hard. We greatly apologize that this caused you such discomfort.

We hope you consider a future stay with us, we know we can provide an exceptional experience the next time for you.

Sincerely,
Sarah
Crowne Plaza Dulles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The price is a bit expensive but allover it is worth since there is a free shuttle and you are close to the airport. In case you have a rental car you can drop it off the evening before and save some money. It is very convenient in case you have an early flight since you will not get caught in the traffic jams.

The rooms are very spaceous and very clean. WiFi is working well and fast.

There is a restaurant on the premises but there is also a TGIF at the opposite side of the street.

The breakfast buffet is VERY nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear BossErpe; Thank you for your review and valuable feedback regarding you recent stay with us. We are very pleased that your accommodations and the location of the hotel suited your needs well.

Guests will find Enterprise Rental Car on premises, a very convenient way to drop off their rental or pick one up when they arrive. Houlihan's is a guest and staff favorite with freshly prepared meals that are sure to please, there is also Worldgate Shopping Center directly across from the hotel if you would like something different.

We are delighted that you had a great stay and hope to see you again the next time you have a flight out of Dulles International Airport.

Sincerely,
Sarah
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed one night as I had a late afternoon flight the next day. I arranged for a late check out as my flight was not until 6pm. It pays to be a member of IHG. Since I had the day to kill the hotel arranged a round trip ride to the Air & Space museum. Then I had a late lunch and a little rest before the epic 30 hour journey to Australia. This hotel showed true customer service. Well done!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Cooperr61: We appreciate you being a valued member of IHG Guest Rewards and for selecting the Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel as your place to stay.

Thank you the wonderful review! We are delighted to see compliments for our staff, they are a great team and we are very pleased to see that we exceeded your expectations, leaving you to have an positive and enjoyable stay.

We hope you had a safe journey home. The next time you are in the states we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Sarah
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Bidding for a hotel room on Priceline
is always dicey at best.

A few times that I have bid for a hotel
room on Priceline, I did extremely well such
as when I had a medical meeting in the D.C.
area in October 2001 and due to the dramatic
decrease in tourism during that month, I got a
room at the Westfields Marriot in Chantilly
for $80 a night. The Westfields Marriot is a
beautiful hotel set in a secluded area with beautiful
rooms, beautiful landscaping, bathrobes in each
room… absolutely one of the nicest hotels that
I have ever stayed at and at $80/night it may
have been the best price that I have ever paid
for a hotel of that quality.

Usually, Priceline matches you at older
hotels that are definitely past their best days.

Sometimes, the matches have been truly awful
such as one time when I had a medical meeting in
Philadelphia and I got a horrible hotel room near
the Philadelphia airport with dingy, stained carpet
and leaking bathroom fixtures.

Generally, whenever I have gotten a Priceline
match near an airport, the hotels tend to be more
rundown due to the heavy usage from passengers
and airlines personnel.

I was hoping for the Westin Reston Heights
but got the Crowne Plaza on Priceline. I thought to
myself “Oh, no – an older hotel near a major airport.
I wonder how awful the rooms are going to be”.

The room my first night at the Crowne Plaza
was a handicap access room and I did not like the
bathroom at all. The Manager switched me to a
regular room for my next three nights and it was
much better. This hotel had been renovated in the last
ten years and the regular room was clean and comfortable.

I like to stay in the Northern Virginia area because
I drive from Kentucky and I do not want to cut across D.C.
using the Beltway when I am leaving as that could significantly
delay my departure from the D.C. area.

The Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport was, especially after
I was switched to a regular room, better than what I expected
for a Priceline match to a hotel near a major airport. It is an
older hotel with a good renovation. There are many nice
Northern Virginia restaurants and shopping areas within
a 30 minute drive of this Crowne Plaza Hotel.

One tip, if you are driving from I-66, do NOT use Sully
Road to Dulles Toll Road and then exit on Centreville Road.
You will pay almost a dollar in toll for about one mile. Instead,
use Sully to Frying Pan, go East, and then take a left turn
on Centreville Road and go North for a few minutes and the
Crowne Plaza will be on your left after you cross under the
Dulles Toll Road.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear rcpo123; Thank you for taking the time to share your recent trip with us. We are pleased to see that overall you had a great stay and found the Crowne Plaza to be a good fit for your travel needs. We appreciate your thorough review and delighted that your experience was a positive one.

Thank you as well for taking the time to write some wonderful travel tips for our other guests as well. I am sure that short cut will save our other guests time and money on the tolls.

We look forward to being another hotel choice for you when traveling to the Virginia/Washington DC area.

Sincerely,

Sarah
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel

Address: 2200 Centreville Road, Herndon, VA 20170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Herndon
#3 Business Hotel in Herndon
#4 Family Hotel in Herndon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport, located in Herndon Virginia and in the heart of the Dulles Corridor, just 2 miles from Dulles International Airport (IAD). We provide complimentary 24-hr shuttle service to and from Dulles Airport as well as complimentary scheduled shuttle service to local offices within a five mile radius (Mon-Fri). Avoid traffic delays and parking fees for your next trip and book our Park, Stay & Go package. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel to make your stay more productive. Our Houlihan's Restaurant & Bar offers a popular and lively happy hour, as well as breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. All guest rooms feature Hi-Def flat screen television and refrigerator. Relax with a swim in our lap pool or enjoy a workout in our 24-hr fitness center. Also stay connected with our 24-hr business center.Our convenient location is within walking distance to restaurants, shopping & a multiplex movie theatre. If you prefer to drive, Enterprise Car Rental is conveniently located just off our lobby. Washington D.C. attractions are only 22 miles east, and the Smithsonian Udvar-Hazy Air & Space Museum is 4 miles away. Whether you want a comfortable stay before a flight or a base for your next business trip or vacation, you will find it at our well appointed hotel near Dulles Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Herndon
Crowne Plaza Hotel Herndon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.