We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 Centreville Road, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Top notch hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The staff is great, the property is well maintained, and the rooms are clean and modern. When I'm in the Northern Virginia area, this is the only hotel I stay at. The restaurant is great too! Fresh food, excellent service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your guest room as well as our staff's service. Our Houlihan's Restaurant is known for its fresh fare and extensive menu, so I am glad that you enjoyed your dining experience. I would like to recommend trying the Rustic Tomato Soup with grilled cheese fritters as well as our new Crispy Shrimp appetizer during your next visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Dulles.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    99
    47
    18
    14
See reviews for
40
63
56
191
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ft myers fl
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

staff is the best always friendly always caring always professional.
Jans and Mark and other employees always make me feel special
Thank You all since I come almost twice a month I feel like family.
The location is perfect for me because I go to the movie theater after
a long day and your staff always has the movie reviews ready for me.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We value every guest, and are especially pleased to welcome back return guests. Our focus is on providing great customer service, so are very happy to hear that our staff made you feel like family. I will forward your nice comments regarding our front desk agents to our management team.
Like yourself, many guests like our convenient location next door to shopping, restaurants and the AMC Multiplex movie theatre. Beginning early 2014 we will be only four miles from the new Reston-Wiehle Silver line metro station, which also will make for easy access to Washington D.C. attractions.
We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Herndon. Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Admittedly, I only stayed one night here, so any of my experiences are not based on more than that, but I was a little disappointed with this hotel. More on that below.

First of all, the staff was great. Very friendly and helpful.

I got upgraded to a room in the tower building, which was nice. It was quiet and spacious, but the interior looked old. The carpet looked kind of smudgy, but I think that was more because of its style and age, not because it was actually dirty.

The bed was very comfortable though and the bathroom was spacious and complete.

The work desk was fine as well, but the office chair wasn't and is definitely up for replacement. The internet access was of average quality. The signal strength appeared to be fine, but I had a pretty slow connection.

The air conditioning was really terrible. The noise was unbearable, it was not very effective in cooling the room and the controls also didn't seem to function well. It was actually rather disappointing to see this ancient style airco unit under the window still being used in a Crowne Plaza hotel. Not at all what I expected from this brand. If I'd stayed longer I would have asked for an alternative.

The breakfast buffet had convenient extended opening hours, but I found it disappointing. It offered the usual choices like cereal, bagels, scrambled eggs, etc, but I found the quality to be so so. Again not up to the high standards I expect from a Crowne Plaza hotel.

The airport shuttle bus worked out well. There is a shuttle twice per hour so you need to plan for this, but the driver was very friendly and the airport is just a short drive away.

Overall not a bad stay, but I do hope the hotel management pays attention to several areas where they can do better and live up to the expectations that come with the Crowne Plaza brand.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your guestroom's bedding and bathroom. I will also forward your nice comments regarding our the friendliness of our front desk and transportation staff to our management team.
This year we recently added new bedding to all of our guestrooms, as well as new computers in the business center. We will continue to make improvements, and I will forward your suggestions to our management team for their review. I have also notified our maintenance team regarding the issue you had with the ac unit so that they can make any necessary repairs.
We hope to have the opportunity to host you again during your next visit to the Herndon area.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Was traveling for work, and had a great stay. As a platinum member, we were treated superbly! Upgraded to a Queen/Queen suite in the "tower building" which was very quiet, that also had a club lounge with chips, water, coffee, and soft drinks offered for free 24/7! Also got free popcorn in room, as well as a protein bar. Rooms were very spacious, comfortable, and clean! Got free buffet breakfast at Houlihan's which was also great! Thanks for another great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our Crowne Plaza Dulles hotel. We love to welcome returning IHG Rewards Club members and are glad that you enjoyed the amenities in your guest room as well as the Club Lounge and Houlihan's breakfast.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel during your next visit to the Herndon area. Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This was a perfect place to stay before a long flight to Cape Town. Room was spacious, very comfortable with large bathroom, coffee maker and microwave. While there is not a fine dining restaurant on site, the pub had adequate choices on the menu. The breakfast buffet (additional charge) was fine. The airport shuttle was very convenient. Staff courteous and helpful. Would definitely stay again if we had another layover before a grueling flight or a trip to the space museum.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our Crowne Plaza hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your guestroom amenities, as well as Houlihan's Restaurant & Bar and our complimentary 24-hr airport shuttle. We focus on providing excellent customer service, so are especially pleased that you found our staff helpful and courteous.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip through Dulles Airport. I also would like to suggest booking our Park, Stay & Go or Air & Space packages for your next visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
143 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

At check-in we were told that we had been given an "upgraded room." This turned out to be a handicapped room. It was large, had pleasant décor, and was decently lit. It contained two comfortable chairs, a large desk, a large mini-fridge with freezer, and a small microwave. The bed was comfortable and we had a quiet night's sleep. The bathroom was large and well lit but had little counter space. The floor was sticky. The shower had no splash guards (thus it was wheelchair accessible), so water ran all over the bathroom floor. I'm sure this works for someone in a wheelchair, but for us it was just annoying. We had to spread towels on the bathroom floor. The shower head had a weak flow, too. We would rather have had a regular room than this "upgrade." We ate a good dinner at the Houlihan's onsite at a reasonable price. The shuttle service to the airport was efficient. I might have given four stars to a regular room.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad that you got a restful night's sleep and enjoyed the room's amenities, as well as our Houlihan's Restaurant and the complimentary airport shuttle.
Our handicapped guestrooms are oversized and many guests prefer them for this reason, but I have forwarded your suggestion regarding notifying guests upon check-in if a room is handicapped in case they would prefer to choose another room.
Thank you for your input and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again during your next visit to the Dulles area.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Let's start first with the positives: The front desk greeted us immediately; there is a free airport shuttle; there is free WIFI (but see negatives); the on-site restaurant tried hard to have innovative dishes; and the meeting space was very nice. The room was clean and the amenities offered were nice. The towels were also good. There is a frig and microwave in the room.

However, the negatives were very apparent:
1. The welcoming front desk did not answer the phone (as did anyone else) when the fire alarms went off. Staff should never leave guests unattended in such situations. I almost gave the hotel a poor rating over this action. Also, although the front desk said the elevators had resumed running after the fire alarm, the elevators were not running, which necessitated a healthy walk up several flights of stairs.
2. The internet reception in my corner room was poor at best. Although the front desk had the technician call (who indicated that there was no problem), the WIFI was so bad that I eventually gave up working for the evening.
3. The pillows were way too soft, leading to having a stiff neck.
4. The HVAC unit was loud and smelled like a burning hair dryer when the heat was on.
5. The airport shuttle ran every 30 minutes. The first time, it went right past us. The second time, the driver tried to accommodate everyone with luggage piled in every possible spot in the van.
6. This hotel is hard to get to from the DC area unless you have a car or are inventive in the use of transit options.
7. The chair in the room may look interesting but it is very uncomfortable.

If I were to need to stay in this area again, I would probably explore the other hotel options. The meeting was at this hotel, which is why we stayed there. It should also be noted that the HVAC was so loud in the meeting room, that it was sometimes hard to hear speakers.

The staff tried hard (with the exception of the fire alarm situation) but there are improvements that can be made.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the complimentary 24-hr airport shuttle, as well as your guest room amenities and our Houlihan's Restaurant & Bar.
Our goal is to help each guest have a successful trip by getting a good night's sleep, so we are unhappy when that is disrupted by a fire alarm . Our staff was in attendance during the fire alarm and worked to reply to all guests in a timely basis. I would like to apologize for any delay in their response. I forwarded your comments regarding the AC unit and the Wi-Fi reception issues to our maintenance department for them to follow up.
While there are currently several public transit options to get to Washington D.C. from our hotel and Herndon, it can be somewhat time consuming to get downtown. I am pleased to let you know that the new Silver Line Reston Wiehle Ave. metro station will be opening early 2014. This station is located only four miles from our hotel and will provide a very convenient option for transportation to D.C.
We appreciate your comments, and our staff will continue to work to improve our guests' experience. We hope that you will consider staying at our hotel again during your next visit to the Herndon area and allow us the opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel

Address: 2200 Centreville Road, Herndon, VA 20170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Herndon
#3 Business Hotel in Herndon
#4 Family Hotel in Herndon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport, located in Herndon Virginia and in the heart of the Dulles Corridor, just 2 miles from Dulles International Airport (IAD). We provide complimentary 24-hr shuttle service to and from Dulles Airport as well as complimentary scheduled shuttle service to local offices within a five mile radius (Mon-Fri). Avoid traffic delays and parking fees for your next trip and book our Park, Stay & Go package. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel to make your stay more productive. Our Houlihan's Restaurant & Bar offers a popular and lively happy hour, as well as breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. All guest rooms feature Hi-Def flat screen television and refrigerator. Relax with a swim in our lap pool or enjoy a workout in our 24-hr fitness center. Also stay connected with our 24-hr business center.Our convenient location is within walking distance to restaurants, shopping & a multiplex movie theatre. If you prefer to drive, Enterprise Car Rental is conveniently located just off our lobby. Washington D.C. attractions are only 22 miles east, and the Smithsonian Udvar-Hazy Air & Space Museum is 4 miles away. Whether you want a comfortable stay before a flight or a base for your next business trip or vacation, you will find it at our well appointed hotel near Dulles Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Herndon
Crowne Plaza Hotel Herndon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.