We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 Centreville Road, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 20 hotels in Herndon
Ra'anana, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location and very helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel is located right next door to Dulles airport. We chose this hotel as we had a one night lay over at the airport and this hotel with its free shuttle seemed a good and cost effective way to spend the night. We were not disappointed. The shuttle runs every 30 minutes, and easy to find at the airport. The hotel is nicely maintained. We got a large room for the 4 of us, quite comfortable.
As we were very tired from a long flight, we did not get a chance to try more of the hotel services, like the pool or the fitness center. We did use the business lounge on the 7th floor. Nice place to relax and have a drink and a stack. Breakfast was good, nothing outstanding, but still good choice and good quality.
We had some time to walk around. The hotel is located at a business district with some shops and grocery stores around it.
The way back to airport, again with the free hotel shuttle was a great ending to a very short stay at this cost effective hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our Crowne Plaza. We are glad that you enjoyed your guest room, as well as out convenient location and complimentary shuttle to Dulles Airport. We also will be just four miles from the new Silver line Reston-Wiehle metro station, which is scheduled to open during the first quarter of 2014.
We look forward to the opportunity to host you again during your next visit to the Dulles area. Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    95
    46
    17
    14
See reviews for
39
58
55
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Crowne Plaza Dulles has clean rooms, comfortable beds and a relatively good location. Though there isn't anything particularly memorable about this hotel, we got a great rate on our room and it was just what we needed for the one night. All in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your guest room and thought our hotel was a good place to stay. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again during your next visit to the Dulles area.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel is located in a nice area and not so far from the airport and not far from the several towns around. Hotel is clean, staff were friendly and the breakfast buffet was good with fresh fruits. Rooms are big enough and clean. Free parking is provided by the hotel and there are nearby restaurants and supermarkets

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location close to Dulles Airport as well as shops and restaurants. In addition, beginning spring 2014 we will be just four miles from the new Reston-Wiehle Ave. Silver Line Metro stop.
I am pleased that you also enjoyed your guestroom as well as the breakfast buffet Houlihan's Restaurant. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back during your next visit to the Dulles area.
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel room was clean and comfortable. The employees were exceptionally friendly and helpful, as well as courteous. The pool was nice and unlike many indoor pools, did not reek of chlorine. The air conditioning unit worked very well and that was nice. I loved the hotel, and I was completely astounded by the service. Breakfast was delicious, as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your very nice comments about our Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport and staff. We were happy that you enjoyed your guest room and liked the Houlihan's Restaurant's breakfast. We focus on our staff providing excellent customer service, so were especially pleased that you found our employees exceptionally friendly and courteous.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you stay in the Dulles Airport area.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had an impromptu stay at this Crown Plaza. With no reservation we showed up at the hotel and were happy to see a welcoming staff. Room was clean and staff was great. Room service is excellent here being that a fantastic restaurant is attached to the premise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport. Traveling can be a challenge, so we are glad that we were able to accommodate your change in travel plans and that you enjoyed your guest room as well as our service. I am also pleased that you enjoyed Houlihan's room service.
We look forward to the opportunity to host you again the next time you travel through the Dulles area.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel pictures we saw led us to believe there was a massive pool with swim lanes. While it was a bit misleading, it was a good size and allowed for several families to be in at the same time, without being on top of each other.

The rooms were descent. Pillows were a bit small, but the thermostat and bedding was comfortable and the shower was great--plenty of places for everyone's shower stuff.

If I could have changed one thing, it would be the prices of the restaurant in the hotel. I expect higher prices for the convenience, but min $18 an entree meant we adults didn't eat there (kids menu was $6 a meal).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you regarding your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your guest room and our indoor pool area. I am pleased to let you know that we will be getting new bedding as well as larger pillows in all guestrooms mid-August.
Our Houlihan's all-day dining menu is popular with both families and business travelers. I would like to recommend our many salad and sandwich specialties which are a good alternative to entrée pricing. My favorite recommendations are the Brentwood Chicken sandwich and the Asian Chicken Chop Chop salad. We also are within walking distance to several fast food restaurants if you prefer this option.
We look forward to the opportunity to host you again during your next visit to the Dulles area.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza after a long trip from NZ, arriving at 2am. It was hard to communicate with the hotel prior to arriving, they did not answer my questions about transport from the airport although when I arrived it all worked out. On arrival I was processed quickly but no one offered to take my bags and my keycard did not work properly necessitating two trips back to front desk. The breakfast was average as are many hotel breakfasts in the US, I would recommend it only if you don't have the time or the means to find something else. The room was good, it was quiet, athough an airport hotel should have full blackout curtains.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We apologize regarding the communication issue you had before your arrival as well as the inconvenience of your room key not working. Please contact us anytime at crowne.sales@cpdulles.com if you have any questions regarding future trips, and we will be happy to direct your questions to the proper department.
We are glad that you enjoyed your guest room and hope you will stay with us again during your next visit to the Dulles area.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel

Address: 2200 Centreville Road, Herndon, VA 20170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Herndon
#3 Business Hotel in Herndon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport, located in Herndon Virginia and in the heart of the Dulles Corridor, just 2 miles from Dulles International Airport (IAD). We provide complimentary 24-hr shuttle service to and from Dulles Airport as well as complimentary scheduled shuttle service to local offices within a five mile radius (Mon-Fri). Avoid traffic delays and parking fees for your next trip and book our Park, Stay & Go package. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel to make your stay more productive. Our Houlihan's Restaurant & Bar offers a popular and lively happy hour, as well as breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. All guest rooms feature Hi-Def flat screen television and refrigerator. Relax with a swim in our lap pool or enjoy a workout in our 24-hr fitness center. Also stay connected with our 24-hr business center.Our convenient location is within walking distance to restaurants, shopping & a multiplex movie theatre. If you prefer to drive, Enterprise Car Rental is conveniently located just off our lobby. Washington D.C. attractions are only 22 miles east, and the Smithsonian Udvar-Hazy Air & Space Museum is 4 miles away. Whether you want a comfortable stay before a flight or a base for your next business trip or vacation, you will find it at our well appointed hotel near Dulles Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Herndon
Crowne Plaza Hotel Herndon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.