We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel for business or an unfortunate layover at IAD” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 Centreville Road, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 20 hotels in Herndon
Atlanta
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A great hotel for business or an unfortunate layover at IAD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had an impromptu stay at this Crown Plaza. With no reservation we showed up at the hotel and were happy to see a welcoming staff. Room was clean and staff was great. Room service is excellent here being that a fantastic restaurant is attached to the premise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport. Traveling can be a challenge, so we are glad that we were able to accommodate your change in travel plans and that you enjoyed your guest room as well as our service. I am also pleased that you enjoyed Houlihan's room service.
We look forward to the opportunity to host you again the next time you travel through the Dulles area.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    95
    46
    17
    14
See reviews for
39
58
55
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel pictures we saw led us to believe there was a massive pool with swim lanes. While it was a bit misleading, it was a good size and allowed for several families to be in at the same time, without being on top of each other.

The rooms were descent. Pillows were a bit small, but the thermostat and bedding was comfortable and the shower was great--plenty of places for everyone's shower stuff.

If I could have changed one thing, it would be the prices of the restaurant in the hotel. I expect higher prices for the convenience, but min $18 an entree meant we adults didn't eat there (kids menu was $6 a meal).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you regarding your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your guest room and our indoor pool area. I am pleased to let you know that we will be getting new bedding as well as larger pillows in all guestrooms mid-August.
Our Houlihan's all-day dining menu is popular with both families and business travelers. I would like to recommend our many salad and sandwich specialties which are a good alternative to entrée pricing. My favorite recommendations are the Brentwood Chicken sandwich and the Asian Chicken Chop Chop salad. We also are within walking distance to several fast food restaurants if you prefer this option.
We look forward to the opportunity to host you again during your next visit to the Dulles area.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza after a long trip from NZ, arriving at 2am. It was hard to communicate with the hotel prior to arriving, they did not answer my questions about transport from the airport although when I arrived it all worked out. On arrival I was processed quickly but no one offered to take my bags and my keycard did not work properly necessitating two trips back to front desk. The breakfast was average as are many hotel breakfasts in the US, I would recommend it only if you don't have the time or the means to find something else. The room was good, it was quiet, athough an airport hotel should have full blackout curtains.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We apologize regarding the communication issue you had before your arrival as well as the inconvenience of your room key not working. Please contact us anytime at crowne.sales@cpdulles.com if you have any questions regarding future trips, and we will be happy to direct your questions to the proper department.
We are glad that you enjoyed your guest room and hope you will stay with us again during your next visit to the Dulles area.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel staff is very friendly and the rooms have plenty of ammenities. Houlihan's restaurant and pub, which is connected to the hotel, is one of the friendliest food & drink places I have ever been. I would like to thank Vick and Craig behind the bar for many laughs and excellent service. They both excel at making people feel welcome and are part of the reason my wife and I look forward to staying at the Crowne Plaza. I recommend this hotel and restaurant to all of my friends!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport. We are so glad that you enjoyed your guest room as well as the service of our Houlihan's bar staff. I will forward your nice comments regarding their fun service to the Houlihan's management team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to both our hotel and Houlihan's Restaurant.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Old, should be a Holiday Inn, not a 3 1/2 star. Great location to IAD. Right on the road to IAD not any expressway noise. Nothing else to report, a Houlihans restaurant inside that is a plus. Only stay here if you leave early in AM.

Room Tip: Try the Hyatt across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay at our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location and Houlihan's Restaurant & Bar. We are continually striving to provide our guests with new upgrades for their comfort. We currently have two new upgrades this summer, including adding new computers in our business center in July as well as all of our guest rooms getting new bedding and linens mid-August. We hope you will consider staying with us again during your next visit to the Herndon area.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Front Desk Staff- Rajni and Ana, were outstanding. let me check in early. Very courteous and
helpful. It was a pleasure to deal with them so early in the morning!
Special thanks to both, for going out of their way.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are especially pleased when our staff provides excellent service. I will forward your nice comments regarding our front desk agents to our management team.
We look forward to hosting you again during your next visit to the Dulles area. Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, PA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a regular, airport hotel, but the Park and Ride option offers 2 weeks of parking in a garage. That can be quite useful. The hotel is clean and the staff is very friendly. The attached restaurant, Houlihans, aims for quantity over quality, but yes, it can be satisfying. It is a nice, safe environment for the beginning and/or end of a journey.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scummiskey, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are glad that your enjoyed our Houlihan's Restaurant and especially happy that you enjoyed our staff's friendly service. Our Park, Stay & Go package that you used is ideal for a smooth beginning to a trip.
We look forward to hosting you again during your next flight from Dulles Airport.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel

Address: 2200 Centreville Road, Herndon, VA 20170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Herndon
#3 Family Hotel in Herndon
#3 Business Hotel in Herndon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport, located in Herndon Virginia and in the heart of the Dulles Corridor, just 2 miles from Dulles International Airport (IAD). We provide complimentary 24-hr shuttle service to and from Dulles Airport as well as complimentary scheduled shuttle service to local offices within a five mile radius (Mon-Fri). Avoid traffic delays and parking fees for your next trip and book our Park, Stay & Go package. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel to make your stay more productive. Our Houlihan's Restaurant & Bar offers a popular and lively happy hour, as well as breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. All guest rooms feature Hi-Def flat screen television and refrigerator. Relax with a swim in our lap pool or enjoy a workout in our 24-hr fitness center. Also stay connected with our 24-hr business center.Our convenient location is within walking distance to restaurants, shopping & a multiplex movie theatre. If you prefer to drive, Enterprise Car Rental is conveniently located just off our lobby. Washington D.C. attractions are only 22 miles east, and the Smithsonian Udvar-Hazy Air & Space Museum is 4 miles away. Whether you want a comfortable stay before a flight or a base for your next business trip or vacation, you will find it at our well appointed hotel near Dulles Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Herndon
Crowne Plaza Hotel Herndon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.