We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Multiple Stays here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AVE Dulles

AVE Dulles
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added AVE Dulles to your Saves list
AVE Dulles
2323 Dulles Station Boulevard, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
Hotel amenities
Gainesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Multiple Stays here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I love this place. I have been in the DC area several times for work and at first was a little hesitant to try something new but this place is now like a second home to me. The staff here is excellent and to add to what others have said, Sylvia goes above and beyond to make sure all of the guests have a pleasurable experience. The staff here is often scheduling and orginizing events for the tenants of the building and really foster a family type atmoshpere. The pizza place on the same block has decent food and a little bar if you want to grab something quick. Places are well furnished and offer all of the basic amenities and a little more than your standard hotel or coorporate housing unit.

There is a grocery store and a shopping plaza nearby that has pretty much everything you need. The grounds are very clean and the maintenance crew is good at getting any repairs completed in a timely manner. WiFi in the rooms is good but fairly basic and not the fastest but it at least your own secure connection. The only negative I can even think of is the Direct TV that goes out frequently with storms, but you have that with most dish providers. I would go back over and over when I need something in the NOVA area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    0
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was a little surprised to see some of the bad reviews. I stayed here from Nov 2010 to Feb 2011 for work and was pleasantly surprised. I just can’t say enough about Sylvia. She bent over backwards to accommodate every complaint I had. I asked for so many things that at one point I thought she would run in the other direction when she saw me, but she was always super pleasant. Initially I was in a small room, I asked Sylvia for a larger room with a den and three days later I was moving to my new more spacious room. The rooms were sparsely decorated with IKEA like furniture. I definitely think they could do a better job with the furnishing. The bedroom was large and the bed was a dream. My bathroom was pretty large too. The kitchen will definitely inspire you to cook. You have granite counter tops (in the bathroom also) and stainless steel everything. The kitchen cabinets are stocked with everything that you will need, including a blender and toaster etc.

The breakfast was nice. They had bagels and muffins and croissants with packets of cream cheese. They also provided Starbucks coffee and Tazo tea and orange juice and lots of fruits. The fruits were available all day. Around Thanksgiving the staff organized a dinner and close to Christmas there was free gift wrapping and some other time there was also a wine tasting.

Well over all it was a good stay and if I am ever in the area again I will definitely stay at the Ave before I consider any place else. The best part of the stay for me wads the weekly housekeeping! The stay is expensive but my employer paid.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Updated review: I first posted a review several months ago. Nothing has changed. Sylvia Secondo (general manager) has more than gone out of her way to ensure a good stay. The staff has been professional and attentive. I have no real complaints. I'll reiterate that the breakfast leaves much to be desired. Having chairs that are more comfortable would help, but they're not terrible.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

OH MY GOSH!!! this place is the pits,first and foremost the staff is a joke,all they do is grin and lie in your face from the time you arrive until the time you leave. I spent one year here and cried the whole time I was here. The staff starts work at 7am and they do not care that you may still be sleeping,as they slam doors and he.haa laughing. The place is for corp stay only,as it is expensive as hell,so if your company is paying let them waste their money. You can hear your neighboro "fart'. You can hear your neighboro flush the commode. Phone service....STOP your cell will ever ever work in this building. you can go out back in the gargage at any time and several tenants are out side using their phones The breakfast you get is cold pasteries and the little skinny lady in there does nothing but flirt with the men. She will give them anything they want,if you are a lady forgot it as you get nothing. The evening receptionist are a poor fit for a receptionist. If i did not know anybetter I would think the two office staffers were...........o well. The place is so so expensive for what you get,cheap carpet and small. I was misearble for a year and just moved out two weeks ago. Do not go near this plae

Room Tip: do not stay at this apartment complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

First and for most let me say that the apartments themselves are very beautiful, the grounds are well kept and the view (which was poolside) is not at all bad. The rooms are spacious, the kitchens very large with lost of storage. Always plenty of parking in the parking garage. However the staff at this corporate/residential apartment community are some of the most rude and fake people I have ever met. They will start off nice wanting to help you with your every need, till they can't benefit from you anymore. Always having to call around 3 or 4 times for them to take the rent out on time. If the rent is late which is due on the 1st of the month (with no grace period according to them but you have till the 5th of the month to pay) you are charged a $100.00 late fee. So them always taking the rent out late can cause problems. Overall nice place, atrocious staff and the staff pretty much makes the place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012 via mobile

After the first week of a stay expected to last several months, the customer representatives are an outstanding help and very nice. The units are fairly good sized, impersonal decorations are a downside. I'd feel much more comfortable if they didn't try so hard for an overly contemporary look. The kitchen is nicely appointed. The beds are as comfortable as Marriott. They put me in a first floor room right across from a large construction project, so I constantly have the construction crew walking around outside the window during the day along with a terrible view. The breakfast leaves much to be desired. The gym is passable. The apt. is in an area that feels very industrial.

In summary, I've seen extended stay apartments offer much more in all areas except for the bedding and service, which were outstanding. Next time, I'd look for something that offers more amenities, a more classic decor, a better location, and a better breakfast if the prices were comparable. If the other place was a dime more, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

If you’re looking to spend more money in exchange for garbage accommodations then you picked the right place. All I have to say is check out any other extended living lodging in the area and you will find much more for less. Anyone who gave this place a rating higher than a 1 obviously has not been here in a while. The breakfast is worthless and mostly out-of-stock, the internet is worse than dial-up, you are lucky to see maids every other week, the walls/ceilings are made of paper and the list could go one. I did my employer a favor by sticking it out here but that mistake will never happen again.

Room Tip: Heres a tip - don't choose a room from this buisness
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AVE Dulles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVE Dulles

Address: 2323 Dulles Station Boulevard, Herndon, VA 20171
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Herndon
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Otel so you can book your AVE Dulles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ave Dulles Hotel Herndon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AVE Dulles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.