We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay (and quite inexpensive)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   435 Herndon Parkway, Herndon, VA 20170   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice Stay (and quite inexpensive)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here for one night owing to some "emergency" renovation work to my house which required a wall to be opened up.

Snagged a rate of $65.00 a night which in the DC area is usually resvered for the no-tel motel class.

Checkin was quick and efficient with the front desk staff accomodating request for 1) a room away from the elevator, and 2) a switch from a King bed to two queens.

We were towards the end of the building which was fine, although the free WiFi signal was quite weak on both my laptop and my wife's laptop.

The room was well appointed and spacious. The kids gobbled up the pretzels. Two drawbacks to watch: 1) the continuing Hilton/HGI/Hampton trend of using small square pillows which are ANNOYGING and 2) the continuing new construction in hotels to NOT have baths (showers only).

Anyhow, slept well through the night. AC worked fine and kept the room at an even 70 degrees without being noisy.

Breakfast was quite good - eggs, potatoes (which were actually crisp and not totally soggy), and Canadian bacon for the hot entrees; cereal; yogurt; plentiful fruit; pastries; etc. All available quantities. Kitchen staff was pleasant.

Would definitely stay here again if the need arose.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Hello itrade,
Thank you for letting us serve you during your time of renovation. Our breakfast host Sonia does pride herself on making sure our breakfast is a great jump start for our guests. We are always here to assist with your needs and maybe even just a weekend out to enjoy as we do have shuttle services to Reston Town Center and other nearby areas for your dining, entertainment, and shopping enjoyment. We can't wait to serve you again.
Thanks,
Mike P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    66
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
98
44
25
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed 1 night for a soccer tournament in the area and were pleasantly surprised. All the usual trappings of a Hampton Inn were present, but the hotel was quiet, the staff attentive, and the amenities better than usual. We got a "suite" that had plenty of room for the kids and us. The room also had a microwave and fridge. Nicely done!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in the last night of our road trip and found the hotel to be very good. The place is quiet even though it is between two fairly busy roads, in fact is seemed about the quietest hotel we have stayed in all trip. As for a room at the back of the hotel to be sure of the quietest spot. The staff are friendly, helpful and professional and do all they can to make your stay a pleasant one. The breakfast selection was good, certainly as good, if not better, than other hotels we have stayed in with a wide choice from oatmeal and fruit though cereal to a cooked selection - and a whaffle maker that was very good. As with other hotels in the area there are plenty of places nearby for dinner so you will not be stuck for options there. My only minor complaint was that the in room fridge is possibly the loudest one I have heard and managed to wake both me and my wife during the night. That was disappointing as the hotel overall is about the quietest we have stayed in with a lack of the usual air on and other mechanical noises that most other USA hotels we have stayed in seem to suffer from. It would not stop us staying here again though so take this as just a minor blot on an otherwise excellent stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Right on Herndon pkwy five minutes from Reston town center great far enough off the road to be a quiet oasis. The best part of the hotel is the staff, one if the friendliest and most helpful staff I've encountered. From check in to breakfast service great all around

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Directions were off a bit but it was a great location. Good rooms, excellent value. Better than average breakfast. Very quiet location. Looked full from the parking lot, but very quiet.

I recommend a room away from the elevators.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I only stayed here one night, but if I am ever in the area again, I will definitely be back. This was a beautiful Hampton (and I stay in a lot of Hamptons). The room was very spacious and clean. The staff was super friendly. They have a shuttle that will take you to nearby locations as well. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. I had a few questions before I arrived in town and even though some of the questions were probably a little dumb, they still proved helpful. The rooms were clean and inviting, housekeeping available and unobtrusive.The shuttle did seem to take quite a while to pick me up at the airport. I think it may be used for other services but that wasn't explained so I don't know. Also, the area at the airport where you are picked up by the shuttles is a fairly large area so the shuttle may have been there quite a while further down the stretch of pavement without me being aware and with my phone still in the airplane mode (forgot to reconnect) I didn't receive their call. But that is the airport. Overall, it was a restful, lovely room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston

Address: 435 Herndon Parkway, Herndon, VA 20170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#1 Family Hotel in Herndon
#2 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston Hotel Herndon
Hampton Inn And Suites Herndon-Reston
Hampton Inn Herndon
Herndon Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.