We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Exceeded Expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Washington Dulles Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Washington Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   13869 Park Center Rd, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Sarasota, United States
1 review
“Service Exceeded Expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We were arriving at the Hilton Dulles after 3 weeks abroad. The junior suite was roomy and comfortable - just what we needed after a long flight. We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights and enjoyed the hotel bar, restaurant and pool area. Food in the restaurant was better than expected. We also enjoyed the snacks and beverages offered on the concierge level. Throughout our stay the entire staff was friendly, helpful and very service oriented. The morning of check out (4am mad dash to the airport) we accidentally left very important documents in the room. When I called the front desk from the airport they were extremely accommodating - confirmed within 10 minutes that they had placed the documents in their safe and would express mail them to me that day. This could have been a nightmare, but the staff on duty that morning made it totally worry free. Would highly recommend - great price for value.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Nicole M,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback in review! I couldn't be happier to hear that what could have been a very stressful situation was actually averted due to the quickness of our Front Desk Team members. Forgetting something, especially important documents, can be a very scary time, but I am so happy to know we were able to locate the documents quickly and express mail them to you the same day! Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Dulles area!

Kind regards,
Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    243
    122
    50
    30
See reviews for
126
119
136
454
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

nice place. very restful. the staff were very nice and even went out of their way even though it was a sunday to open up amenities for us. nothing much to do but rest which is what was needed. airport pickup and drop. the rooms are nice and 24 hr tea, coffee and hot chocolate available in the dining area. food was good, had only breakfast but the next days 'to go' breakfast was lousy. otherwise a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear erica_mb_64,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback in a review! We are glad to know your stay with us was very restful and relaxing, but please accept my apologies on your boxed breakfast not meeting your expectations. Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back the next time you are in the Dulles area.

Yours in hospitality,
Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

After seeing all the recent 5 star reviews, I'm wondering if we stayed at the same hotel. (Although I admit, it's hard to earn a 5 star rating from me...as I consider that to be an exceptional property and staff combined.)

As for the Washington Dulles Hilton....I've stayed at the hotel at least a dozen times, traveling in/out of the area. This review is specific to my most recent stay, mid-August 2014.

Hotel - it's an older property. Reasonably well maintained. There are currently renovations taking place. The lobby is welcoming. But when you walk toward the elevators, there's a 'smell' hanging in the air. To me, it smells like a building that's been flooded before. Not sure what/why, but I've also noticed it on previous stays. The hallway carpeting is showing it's age in places, and had some stains showing.

The room was in relatively good shape. Clean. Nice, big TV in the 'exec' rooms. But the BIG downfall for me.....the A/C. It's a 'two part' system, meaning that there's an old, antiquated control panel on the wall for the temp, and then a fan control by the window. The temp control does nothing, no matter where it's set. Which means the A/C continues to run, no matter the room temp. Thinking there was a problem with the control in my room, I mentioned it the next day to the front desk, and asked for maintenance to look at it. Needless to say, I was surprised when the front desk clerk told me 'that's the way it works.....you just have to turn off the fan unit if it's too cold'. Simple solution, right? Well, yes, except I don't really like getting up three, four, five times a night to turn off/on the a/c. That's just not what you expect when you book a room with Hilton. The bed headboard was loose and knocked against the wall, with the slightest movement. The bathroom is outdated (but clean). These issues may be addressed with the renovations....I saw several of the rooms with work crews in them. But, this review is for the current state of the facility.

The staff - all I encountered were friendly and helpful. No problems at all.

Location - convenient to Dulles airport, not convenient to anything else. If you want to eat anywhere besides the hotel restaurant, you'll need a car. Nothing within walking distance. (The nearest place is over a mile away (and no sidewalks). There's no shopping nearby (only business offices). Be prepared to be 'mobile' if you are staying here for more than just for the airport.

That said, you can't beat it for the airport convenience. It's only mins away....there's a hotel shuttle that runs frequently, if you didn't need a rental car. Also, the hotel offers an 'extra late checkout' (for a fee, of course...and based on availability), if you have a late departing flight.

All in all, the Washington Dulles Hilton is an adequate hotel, that serves it's function......that of an airport hotel.

Room Tip: The 'executive' rooms offer lot's of space, and access to the executive lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Thomsarg,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback in such a detailed and thorough review. We appreciate that you have stayed with us many times before, due to business travel, and thank you for continuing to come back and stay with us. We definitely hear your concerns with regards to the a/c units and the aged carpeting, and we are working towards continuing renovations throughout the property, once the renovation of our standard rooms are complete. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Yours in hospitality,
Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

LARGE Hilton property though very nice. We didn't explore much of the property as we stayed the night prior to flying out on a week's vacation. Rooms, restaurant very very nice. Front desk could use another staff member ready to assist as the two-three times we needed to visit the front desk, they were busy with several guests. Shuttle service very easy and RELIABLE! Only 2 1/2 miles from the airport. Use the park-n-stay option - well worth the money. We've already booked for our next trip 5 months away.

Room Tip: ask for a room 'closer' to the elevator or you could have quite a walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear IUandTerp,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback in a wonderful review! We couldn't be happier to know you were pleased with your recent stay with us and that you have already booked your next stay with us! Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back in just a few months! See you soon!

Kind regards,
Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Enjoyed the stay, Hilton's hospitality at other outlets in Middle East and Gulf Regions are excellent, it may be because of their excellent variety of hot meals, and easy access to downtowns. The breakfast of various foods in these hiltons are better than the continental breakfast offered in Dulees Hilton.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear 179saleemm,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback in a review. We are thrilled to know you were pleased with your recent stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are traveling to the Dulles area!

Kind regards,
Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The Hilton had book several large weddings the weekend we were to arrive for a wedding. The reservations were not filled as confirmed. The hotel it self was dirty and the amenities that were listed were not provided.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear 223debbief,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback in a review. We take your comments and concerns very seriously. Please know that the level of service you received is definitely not the high level of service and quality that we strive to provide to each and every guest that walks through our doors. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the errors with your reservations and the quality of our property not meeting your expectations. If I can assist you in any way, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours in hospitality,
Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We found everything as expected. Staff was professional, room was clean and in excellent condition. We only stayed one night so we were not able to enjoy many of the amenities offered. I would definitely recommend this hotel for visitors to the Northern Virginia area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Boyd M C,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback in a review! We couldn't be happier to know you were pleased with your recent stay with us and are thrilled you would recommend us to others! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are traveling to the Dulles area!

Kind regards,
Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Washington Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Washington Dulles Airport

Address: 13869 Park Center Rd, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#4 Business Hotel in Herndon
#5 Family Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Washington Dulles Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Washington D.C. area's newest innovation in hotel guestroom design only at the Hilton Washington Dulles Airport hotel! With the introduction of its cutting edge Guestlink System, the Hilton has redefined the ultimate viewing experience, allowing guests who visit our Dulles, VA hotel and stay in one of 155 Business & Executive accommodations to connect any digital device (computer, game console, DVD, MP3) to a 42" HDTV Plasma. Additionally, these rooms offer ultra-modern marble and granite baths with walk-in rain shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Washington Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon
Hilton Hotel Herndon
Hilton Herndon
Herndon Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.