We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Dulles Needs Some Updating (and maybe a move!)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Washington Dulles Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Washington Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   13869 Park Center Rd, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Morrisville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Hilton Dulles Needs Some Updating (and maybe a move!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My friend's wedding reception took place here so I booked room for the night so I could fully partake in the festivities (and open bar). The location is not that great and impossible to see fro the main road; I actually didnt even notice the hotel until I saw the sign sticking out. At first I thought my car's navigation had taken me to the wrong place because all I saw were industrial and office buildings. Turns out that's where the hotel is located. There are no places to eat or drink within walking distance (or even a 15 minute drive) from the hotel so the hotel's restaurant is your only food option unless you are willing to take a road trip.

Thanks to my Hilton status I was upgraded to a Junior Suite on the 4th floor and given access to the Concierge Lounge (aka Executive Lounge). The Suite was really just a very large room (no separate sitting area), but there was plenty of space for my wife and I (and a few of friends who came to see us). The room had a brand new 50" TV and the furniture (couch, desk, lounge chair) were in good condition (no stains, rips, scratches). There were some areas in need of updating; the bathroom would flicker randomly, the iron was missing plastic, and the carpet had a few stains. Nothing terrible or inconvenient but a minor upgrade would make a big difference.

Overall had a nice stay. The lounge provided free hot breakfast (eggs and bacon) in the morning and some appetizers in the evening. Nothing to get excited about but definitely a nice amenity. If I had to stay overnight in this area again I would stay here if the price was right.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Matt V,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us overall. In regards to the property needing updating- we are currently in the process of renovating, so the things you mentioned will be addressed. We also offer a courtesy shuttle for our guests which will take you anywhere within a 5-mile radius, including a variety of restaurants and shops in the area. Again, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Dulles area!

Warm regards,
Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    285
    129
    52
    32
See reviews for
154
143
156
514
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I always stay at the Hilton Dulles whenever I travel to Northern VA. First, it's in a great location. It is not right next to the airport; it's about 10 minutes away in a very quiet location, close enough to many businesses or highways to get you to them. The hotel and rooms are pretty average overall (the main reason I give it a 4 instead 5-stars....would love to have the option for 4.5 rating), but the people there make the biggest different. The check-in process is efficient and front desk associates are always friendly. And, Winston, who tends the bar in the restaurant is amazing! If you sit at his bar and order drinks and/or dinner once, he will remember you. I make sure to stop and see Winston, even if I dine elsewhere (which I tend to do as the food at the restaurant is pretty average). Lastly, for a hotel, the fitness center is very nice (which I appreciate as someone who maintains a regular fitness regime). There's a nice, big cardio area with many treadmills and ellipticals and a large weight area with free weights and several machines. There are also an indoor and outdoor pools, but I have not used those. A great hotel for business travelers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear AMW2473,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback in such a nice review! We want you to know that we appreciate your loyalty to our property and are thankful to have you as a returning guest! Your kind words regarding our hotel are such a pleasure to read and your compliments of Winston have been passed on to him, our Restaurant Manager, and Food and Beverage Manager. We are so glad we are everything you look for in a hotel as a business traveller and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Dulles area!

Warm regards,
Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have stayed at several hotels across America, France and the United Kingdom and this stay by far was the best experience of them all. We arrived after 9 pm and we were checked in and in our room within 10 minutes. Very few hotels have proper dinner accommodations after 9 pm, but this Hilton did, which was a god send, because we were starving. The only thing lacking was I did not get to meet Paris lol.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Paul S.,

Thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review!!! We are so glad to hear you had such a great experience at our hotel! We strive for each guest to leave our property after their stay with the same feelings you had after your stay with us. In regards to Paris, we haven't met her yet either. Maybe one day? ;) Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Dulles area!

Yours in hospitality,
Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We are totally impressed with Hilton Washington Dulles bellman/airport transport driver and honorable young man, Mubarak. Congratulations to the hotel for having this young man on staff.

Paul and Judie Brown
Las Vegas, NV

Room Tip: Uograde from regular King to super King ... not that much more money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Paul and Judie Brown,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review! We are so pleased to hear that Mubarak was such a great example of the excellent guest service we strive to provide everyday. Your kind words and compliments have been passed on to Mubarak and the Front Office Manager. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Dulles area!

Yours in hospitality,
Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, USA
Top Contributor
389 reviews 389 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Airport hotels can often be dirty and tired, but not this one. The Hilton Dulles Airport has a very welcoming staff that efficiently checked me in and sent me on my way in 90 seconds. The room was large and comfortable, and the large HD TV was great. Even the breakfast buffet was well done.

TIP: Gas stations, CVS and other useful stores are less than a mile away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear CuriousTravelerRadio,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback in such a nice review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, including our efficient staff, our HD TVs, and our breakfast buffet. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Dulles area!

Warm regards,
Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed here a couple weeks ago. I had high expectations because it's a Hilton. While showering I noticed the water was backing up, it wasn't draining quickly. I reported this to the front desk the first night, it was never addressed during my entire stay.

I noticed they don't use fitted sheets, there were flat sheets on the mattress.

We went to the bar with a large group that was staying at the hotel. The bar tender was less than pleasant , as if he had plans that night and we were holding him up.

It was not a horrible stay, but it did not live up to Hilton standards.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton Washing Dulles Airport for a soccer convention in October. The rooms were nice, however they do not have a microwave or a mini-fridge. The room was also hot and the air wouldn't work, so the first thing we did as we got into the room was call reception for a repairman. Even after the repair, the room wasn't as cool as we would've liked.

Another minor issue was that we initially entered the back of the hotel when we first got there. We walked through many hallways with our luggage before entering the actually lobby. The actual front of the hotel is located at the back of the parking lot.

Other than those items, the hotel was nice and clean, the grounds are pretty. The staff was friendly and the bar is open until 1am - although pricey. If we were to return to the area, I don't believe we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was located outside of the ice and vending machines. Although not too much of a bother, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear DJEllis13,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and leave us your feedback. I apologize there were issues with your A/C and it was not cooling to your satifaction. We are in the process of a renovation and many room units will be updated in the near future. I also apologize for the long walk that you encountered to the lobby. We do have a very large property/grounds, so the distance from one point to another can be lengthy. We would love another opportunity to exceed your expectations and would hope you would give us another chance to do so in the future.

Sincerely,
Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Washington Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Washington Dulles Airport

Address: 13869 Park Center Rd, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Herndon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#5 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Washington Dulles Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Washington Dulles Airport hotel is conveniently located only three miles from the Washington Dulles (IAD) terminal and 30 minutes from Washington DC. This Herndon, VA hotel is an ideal choice for a business trip in Washington DC, given our proximity to local business centers, corporations and government offices. Explore the surrounding area via the complimentary local shuttle service and discover the historic town of Herndon and nearby Reston, VA. Many popular Washington DC attractions are also easily accessible, including the White House and Capitol Building. Our tastefully appointed accommodations are contemporary, comfortable, and designed for one purpose, your comfort! The Hilton Serenity Collection™ is featured throughout each 400 square foot guestroom, allowing you to rejuvenate yourself with our Serenity Bed featuring the internationally-acclaimed Suite Dreams™ mattresses, Down Duvet and Down Pillows & luxurious bath amenities. Experience the new standard of guestrooms only at the Hilton! With the introduction of its cutting edge Guestlink System, the Hilton has redefined the ultimate viewing experience, allowing guests to get connected in HDTV by upgrading to Business Class Accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Washington Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon
Hilton Hotel Herndon
Hilton Herndon
Herndon Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.