We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closest hotel to Dulles Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Washington Dulles Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Washington Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   13869 Park Center Rd, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
487 reviews 487 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Closest hotel to Dulles Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I have been using this Hilton whenever I fly out from Dulles, especially for those early morning flight. The hotel is comfortable, staffs are efficient and friendly, and the parking is great here. Great prices over the weekend too. Don't overlook this one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Superlegalbabe,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review! Your kind words are very much appreciated! I am so glad we are your go-to hotel whenever you fly out of IAD. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best regards,
Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    287
    129
    55
    32
See reviews for
154
143
161
521
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Very nice property. Clean comfortable stay. Room service very pricey but the food was great. My only complaint was there was no refrigerator or microwave in the room. I think these basic amenities should be standard in all room types at a property in any category.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Ron A,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review for us! We appreciate your feedback and want you to know that we agree with your comments. We are in the process of a renovation and many of our rooms will come standard with a mini fridge and microwave in the near future. Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Dulles area!

Warm regards,
Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

As I have grown old, I cannot see getting up at 2:00AM to get a car to an airport for an early flight. I now book hotels near the airports, to allow me a bit more "normal hours," regarding my airline travel.

When in Washington, DC, we stay in town, for the meetings, but then head to the Hilton Dulles Airport inn, in Herndon, VA. This was perhaps our 10th stay, on this property, just to catch an early flight to the West Coast.

I am a HHonors Diamond VIP (the highest level in their loyalty program), so I am certain that this property does a few things "extra" for me. Still, they have always come through beautifully. This last stay was no exception.

The inn is designed for the business traveler in mind, with comfortable rooms, proximity to Dulles International Airport, and shuttle service between the inn and the airport.

We booked this stay with a "Free Night" certificate from Hilton Hotels, to make up for a major gaff in Paris. That did not matter to the Hilton Dulles staff, as they gave us a free upgrade to a Jr. Suite. The room was very large, and most comfortable. The front desk recognized us from our earlier stays, and were extremely welcoming.

Everything was geared to "easy-in, easy-out," and we had zero issues. Everything worked, as it should.

The room was very quiet, and our "extras, upon arrival" - towels, and foam pillows, were waiting for us, with a bow! For a quick "overnight," prior to an early departure, this inn could not be beaten, at least for us.

We also dined at the inn's little restaurant/bar, and the food was more than adequate. Even the limited wine list had some interesting surprises, and kept our interest for the full meal.

The shuttle ran, just as advertised, and we made our early flight easily.

Though we left luxury, at the Mandarin Oriental in DC, SW, it was much better than getting up extremely early, and heading out to Dulles for the flight. Well worth our certificate and stay.

Room Tip: There IS some jet noise from the airport, but then proximity TO the airport, is what this inn is all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Bill_Hunt_AZ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback in such a wonderful review! We truly appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review, especially since you had such a great stay with us. Congratulations on your Diamond HHonors status and thank you for being loyal to the Hilton brand. I am so pleased to know the Front Desk staff went above and beyond for you and that your extras upon arrival were found in your room and to your liking. I am sorry for the incident in Paris, but I am happy you were able to use your complimentary 1 night stay with us and that was a completely enjoyable experience. Thank you again, for the very nice review, and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Warm regards,
Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a very good hotel near Dulles Airport. All the good things; safe, clean, comfy beds, reasonably quiet, airport shuttle, nice fitness center and pool, and great service (front desk to housekeeping and everything in between). Some unexpected things; good size rooms are updated, big flat screens, nice furniture, great (but expensive) bar and free parking. I would not hesitate recommending this place.

Notes and suggestions: You need a rental car if you stay here (unless you are just taking the shuttle back and forth to the airport). You can't really walk anywhere from the hotel (even local businesses). There are no retail or food establishments near the hotel except those in the hotel. It is nowhere near the DC metro lines. Downtown DC is a 40 to 60+ minute drive from the hotel depending on traffic. Guest rooms are on 5 floors with long curved hallways. Some rooms are a long way from the front desk. Also, the walk from the parking lot to the front door can be long when the hotel is busy. I see this as an exercise opportunity; other may not.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear NotFarAway,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback in such a nice review! We couldn't be happier that you had such a wonderful stay with us and that you "would not hesitate recommending" us. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Dulles area!

Kind regards,
Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very nice hotel and enjoyable stay. The experience included a friendly staff, clean rooms, beautiful bathrooms, reliable internet. I would stay again while visiting the area for business or personal. Thanks Hilton!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Charla D,

Thank you so much for your wonderful 5 star review! We appreciate your nice comments and look forward to welcoming you back to our property the next time you are in the Dulles area!

Warm regards,
Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Lorenzo, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Every time I go to Washington DC area for work I always stay at the Hilton Washington Dulles. They have the best front desk staff compare to the one that I have been to. Their Business Lounge attendants are one of the best, the food is superb. Their shuttle service runs every half hour to the airport. I'm not sure if they will take you to the closest shopping centers because I always have my vehicle to go to places. Their gym is THE BEST in the Herndon Chantilly area!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear EkortV,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful 5 star review! We are so very pleased to have you as a regular guest at our property when you are in the Dulles area! Your kind words regarding our Front Desk and Lounge staff being "the best" is very much appreciated. We are so glad you love our food and the gym as well. Again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Dulles!

Kind regards,
Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
393 helpful votes 393 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Hilton at Dulles airport was truly enjoyable for a recent business meeting. The staff were all very helpful, the hotel is clean, and the meeting services were well executed. That said, while discussing rooms with my colleagues, we determined that some rooms are nicely renovated while others are in pretty poor condition with peeling wall vinyl, stained carpets, and dated furnishings. Apparently, the 3rd floor is renovated, while the 5th floor (concierge lounge level) is not.

Pros: my room was huge, well appointed, and spotlessly clean. The bed is comfortable, the HDTV with easy access ports to use as a monitor, is huge. The workspace is large, the a/c and high-speed internet worked fine, and there was plenty of hot water. The bathroom is well-appointed, with a large, walk-in shower. The lounge is fun, and the restaurant does a great job with food and service.

Cons: due to the layout of the hotel, the walk to your room can be lllllllooooooonnngg if you’re not near the elevator.

All in all a good stay; be sure to secure a renovated room, near the elevator, for the best stay.

Room Tip: request (demand?) a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Louis59,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback in such a nice review! We are in the process of a renovation and you are completely right-some rooms have been renovated while others have not. This is currently a work in progress for us. Thank you for your understanding and we are glad that overall you a had a "good stay." Your kind words are very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Dulles area!

Kind regards,
Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Washington Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Washington Dulles Airport

Address: 13869 Park Center Rd, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Herndon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#5 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Washington Dulles Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Washington Dulles Airport hotel is conveniently located only three miles from the Washington Dulles (IAD) terminal and 30 minutes from Washington DC. This Herndon, VA hotel is an ideal choice for a business trip in Washington DC, given our proximity to local business centers, corporations and government offices. Explore the surrounding area via the complimentary local shuttle service and discover the historic town of Herndon and nearby Reston, VA. Many popular Washington DC attractions are also easily accessible, including the White House and Capitol Building. Our tastefully appointed accommodations are contemporary, comfortable, and designed for one purpose, your comfort! The Hilton Serenity Collection™ is featured throughout each 400 square foot guestroom, allowing you to rejuvenate yourself with our Serenity Bed featuring the internationally-acclaimed Suite Dreams™ mattresses, Down Duvet and Down Pillows & luxurious bath amenities. Experience the new standard of guestrooms only at the Hilton! With the introduction of its cutting edge Guestlink System, the Hilton has redefined the ultimate viewing experience, allowing guests to get connected in HDTV by upgrading to Business Class Accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hilton Washington Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon
Hilton Hotel Herndon
Hilton Herndon
Herndon Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.