We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really like this hotel – in a RENOVATED room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Washington Dulles Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Washington Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   13869 Park Center Rd, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
“I really like this hotel – in a RENOVATED room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Hilton at Dulles airport was truly enjoyable for a recent business meeting. The staff were all very helpful, the hotel is clean, and the meeting services were well executed. That said, while discussing rooms with my colleagues, we determined that some rooms are nicely renovated while others are in pretty poor condition with peeling wall vinyl, stained carpets, and dated furnishings. Apparently, the 3rd floor is renovated, while the 5th floor (concierge lounge level) is not.

Pros: my room was huge, well appointed, and spotlessly clean. The bed is comfortable, the HDTV with easy access ports to use as a monitor, is huge. The workspace is large, the a/c and high-speed internet worked fine, and there was plenty of hot water. The bathroom is well-appointed, with a large, walk-in shower. The lounge is fun, and the restaurant does a great job with food and service.

Cons: due to the layout of the hotel, the walk to your room can be lllllllooooooonnngg if you’re not near the elevator.

All in all a good stay; be sure to secure a renovated room, near the elevator, for the best stay.

Room Tip: request (demand?) a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Louis59,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback in such a nice review! We are in the process of a renovation and you are completely right-some rooms have been renovated while others have not. This is currently a work in progress for us. Thank you for your understanding and we are glad that overall you a had a "good stay." Your kind words are very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Dulles area!

Kind regards,
Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    260
    123
    50
    31
See reviews for
132
122
140
471
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Ok, most of us would only stay here if we were overnighting between flights; so the physical isolation of this place might be acceptable, but if you have to spend a day here, you have to rent a car or spend on taxis to get anywhere, because there is nothing nothing nothing nothing to walk to from here. You are stuck in a property that has little to offer for entertainment.

The gym is hardly passable with broken equipment and little workable equipment anyway. The New York Times is not available at any time; they proudly offer USA Today - when did someone decide that was a newspaper? And the Wall Street Journal is available, though that is becoming a nephew to Fox News in reliability.

The rooms are dreary, the same old same old in airport hotel or corporate hotel beige. (To see how nice an airport hotel can be try the sheraton in Schiphol Airport in Amsterdam. Really nice; other hotel managers should be required to go there to see how a good airport hotel can operate.) Which brings me to the sheets - really holes in the sheets in a Hilton? What is this, a Comfort Inn? My bottom sheet had two holes in it - well, one hole and one rip; I say two because I decided against pulling back the covers to look for more. And the bath room had that tired old - and offensive - arced curtain rod that ostensibly keeps the shower curtain from sticking to your body - how about just upgrading an otherwise despicable bathroom? Wouldn't that be better? The mattress was old and sagging; the bed squeaked and I'm not that heavy at 180 pounds (well I think I should lose 10 pounds but I am not obese!) Everything about the room was tired, especially me after sleeping - hardly - in that bed. Oh, and I guess that awful scratchy facial tissue they use is expensive because my dispenser was empty when I checked into the room. I pulled the dispenser out from the wall to make it obvious to the maid, who ignored the request and didn't refill it; of course, she didn't push it back in the wall either. It was easy to locate the maid for a refill because she and the other maid were sitting on the floor in the hall next to their carts talking away - perhaps they have a 4:15 pm chat break, I don't know but she did give me a box of tissue to put back in the wall unit.

The folks working at the hotel were quite nice. Even the floor-sitting maids. Nice staff makes up only a little for the disappointments associated with this place. I haven't been there, but there is a Marriott within view of the airport, so I would choose it next time. Oh, by the way, the Hilton sends a van to the airport every half-hour - I missed it by moments apparently because I spent 25 minutes waiting for one. In that time the aforementioned Marriott sent three vans, the Holiday Inn sent three vans and a few other other hotels sent two.

Get a grip Hilton and get some vans to the airport, get some new sheets, get a better chef - I didn't bring up the less than average food. And brighten that dreary place up a little.

Room Tip: Find another hotel? If you insist on staying here the rooms appeared cookie-cutter on the third floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night for an early flight out of Dulles International airport. The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was comfortable as were the beds. There is a small restaurant in the hotel and the food (late dinner), was very good. The restaurant staff was excellent. I would recommend this hotel without any hesitation. The airport shuttle service was free and started at 5 AM. Very convenient and they handled our luggage which was a plus. Overall a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The only tip I have is to book on line. Our room was $79.00 non-refundable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Dimples07,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful 4 star review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the room and bed to be comfortable and that you enjoyed your dinner in our Cardinal Lounge. We are so glad you found our staff to be "excellent" as we strive to provide outstanding service each day to every guest. Again, thank you for your feedback and kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Dulles area!

Warm regards,
Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed one night for business. hotel is located with easy access to highway. Lots of free parking. check in was quick and easy (even with new receptionist) and they welcomed me as Hilton gold. The room was a very long walk from the elevator. it was impeccably clean. internet worked fine. Bed was typical Hilton standard which I find very comfortable. there were two bottles of water in the room which is a nice touch. the only complaint was that the clocks backlight didn't work so I couldn't see the time in the dark. Overall a quick and nice stay. I would definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Daly64,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback in such a nice 4 star review! We are so glad you had a great stay. I do apologize that the back light on your clock was not working and that you had a long walk to your room from the elevator. Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Dulles area.

Warm regards,
Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand island, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

appears to be an old hotel that needs to be updated. Servers were very attentive but appeared to be entirely foreign with some problems understanding. Why do ice machine rooms require room key? Will someone steal ice?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Gerald K,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are in the process of updating and renovating our property. I apologize your server "had problems understanding" but am glad they were attentive to you nonetheless. In regards to the ice and vending rooms requiring your room key- we are not concerned with someone "stealing" ice, but are more concerned with the sound the machine makes as it creates the ice. Thus, we put a door on these rooms to prevent any bother to our guests who may have rooms close to the ice and vending rooms. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again the next time you are in the Dulles area!

Kind regards,
Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

5 of us were traveling home from Europe with 16 pieces of luggage. The shuttle driver refused to drop us off upstairs at the departure terminal - he dropped us off downstairs at the arrival terminal. He also dropped us off at the opposite end of the terminal and told us we would have to walk to our airline at the other end of the terminal since he only makes one stop per terminal. Very rude!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Cheryn W,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We take your feedback very seriously and since your review we have spoken with all of our shuttle drivers and bellman. We will be able to drop off our guests at the upper level by special request, in advance only. We will be implementing this policy from here on out. Again, I appreciate your feedback and apologize for the inconvenience.

Best regards,
Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I spent over 2 weeks at this property on business and was very pleased with every aspect of the property.

I would like to recognize Alba and Lynn in the lounge both were pleasent and made sure this was a home away from home!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear jwrepass,

Thank you so much for your wonderful 5 star review! We are so thrilled to know you were "very pleased with every aspect of the property." We have passed along your compliments of Alba and Lynn to them and the Director of Food and Beverage. They are so happy they were able to make the hotel a "home away from home" for you. Again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Dulles area!

Warm regards,
Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Washington Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Washington Dulles Airport

Address: 13869 Park Center Rd, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Herndon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#6 Family Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Washington Dulles Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Washington D.C. area's newest innovation in hotel guestroom design only at the Hilton Washington Dulles Airport hotel! With the introduction of its cutting edge Guestlink System, the Hilton has redefined the ultimate viewing experience, allowing guests who visit our Dulles, VA hotel and stay in one of 155 Business & Executive accommodations to connect any digital device (computer, game console, DVD, MP3) to a 42" HDTV Plasma. Additionally, these rooms offer ultra-modern marble and granite baths with walk-in rain shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Washington Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon
Hilton Hotel Herndon
Hilton Herndon
Herndon Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.