We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not made to feel welcome” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Washington Dulles Airport

Save Saved
You added Hilton Washington Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   13869 Park Center Rd, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #9 of 20 hotels in Herndon
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Not made to feel welcome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

As a diamond member, I am used to being treated well at any of the Hilton chain, so I was very surprised at the brusque welcome given to me, by what turned out to be the duty manager.

The hotel itself was pretty well what you would expect, particularly for an airport one, although I did find it somewhat difficult to find at first.

Breakfast OK

Room Tip: Avoid the duty manager at check in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear kmcottrell,

I offer my deepest apologies for any customer service issue you encountered at our property. We will discuss your review with our team to discuss the concern you brought to our attention in order to provide exceptional service in the future. We hope you return to give us another opportunity. From our whole team we do value your loyalty and hope to see you again upon your next visit to the Dulles area. Feel free to contact me directly at greg.langweg@dulleshilton.com.

Warm Regards,

Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    405
    223
    114
    47
    29
See reviews for
109
109
126
430
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Really aging hotel withou tthe services that you expect from Hilton. The room was a nice size, but showing its age, especially the carpets, bathroom (shower) and A/C. The bathroom floor was slick marble and very slippery when you get out of the shower.
Other services that premium HHonors members expect are also low-balled. The breakfast benefit is only in the Exec lounge and pretty mediocre. The evening happy hour you actually have to pay for ($5/drink).
This latest visit, the hotel was filled up with high school kids, even on the Exec floor, and just never quietted down.
Stay here occassionally and often pay up to $300+ per night. Went to the Hyatt this time for a meeting. Seemed like a fresher, cleaner, better option.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
COtraveller69,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and give us your feedback. We are happy that you liked the size of the room we were able to accomodate you with. Our team will consider all the suggestions you offered in your review. We are scheduled to go through room renovations in the near future. I do apologize for any disturbances you may have encountered while staying with us. Please contact me directly if you would like to discuss your concerns any further. We do appreciate you choosing our hotel and hope to better serve you again in the future. Our team works very hard to provide you with excellent service and we hope to exceed your expectations upon your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Greg Langweg
General Manager
Greg.Langweg@dulleshilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Pros: The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly and willing to help out. The hotel featured a nice lounge area (Drinks Were Pricey, though $5.50 for a bottled beer), pool, and fitness center, along with plenty of parking and a covered loading/unloading area. The hotel was minutes away from the sites of the hockey tournament we were attending.

Cons: The hotel offers a free shuttle to the nearby Air and Space Museum which saves you the cost of parking there, but they forgot to come and pick us up, until we called and reminded them. They charge for wireless internet which is offered at hotels we visited that charge much less per night and when you buy the internet, you can only use it on the one device you buy it on which is bad if you have multiple devices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the elevators. The corridors are long and winding so expect to walk to get to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
jtwned24,

We appreciate your feedback regarding our hotel. Thank you for your great comments regarding our staff and rooms. We do apologize for any incovenience you experienced with our shuttle. I will bring this to the attention to our appropriate managers to ensure this does not happen again. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

With about seven years out of the last twenty spent in hotels, there are a few that I truly look forward to staying in and this is one of them.

The superbly maintained condition of the property belies it's age (early '80's construction?). For ANY property, not just an older one, the condition of this hotel is excellent. Kudos to the maintenance staff for keeping this property always looking fresh.

If you can swing it, get one of the "junior suites". You will not be disappointed. These rooms are quite large and very, very comfortable. These rooms have to be my favorite of all in memory. Superb bedding (at least for my tastes), very nice furniture and one of the biggest flat-screen tvs (46"?) in any room I have ever seen and a Samsung to boot.

The rooms are very quiet. The bathrooms very spacious and richly done. No dated little square tiles here. Great towels.

The lounge is very inviting, comfortable and warmly decorated. A very relaxing atmosphere.

A good workout area and pool. No complaints there.

The breakfast buffet was also very good. A little lackingninnthe fresh fruit department this morning and the orange juice was not as cold as it should have been, but overall, very nicely done in a nice atmosphere.

A staff can make or break a guest experience and the staff here is very well trained and very congenial. Louis and Mario in the restaurant this morning deserve extra credit.

I don't see how anyone could be disappointed with their stay here. I have overnighted here at least a couple of dozen times and have found it enjoyable each and every time.

Room Tip: Most rooms here are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you AbenakiW for the great review!

Our team works hard to provide you with the best customer service and thank you for your great comments about Louis and Mario. I will be sure to share them with the whole team. I will also share with the engineering team your kind comments. We are also scheduling to renovate some of the rooms in the near future. I'm very happy you enjoyed your Executive Lounge experience, and we look forward to having you back to our property soon!

Warm Regards,
Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

In my first visit to the Herndon area I chose to stay at the Hilton Washington Dulles Airport Hotel, great decision. From the desk clerk who checked me in, Maria, to the server who took my order for breakfast, Gladys, the people here were genuinely friendly and professional. I really felt at home. I also need to say a word about the food. I ordered room service the first night and had a top notch meal. The blackened ribeye was absolutely delicious and the sauce with it was even better. I went to the hotel restaurant for breakfast and ordered off the menu. It was perfectly gooked and delicious. Great hotel, I'll definitely stay here on my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank You Bill G!

We really appreciate the great review regarding our staff, and we will be sure to share this with the whole team. Thank you again for the great comments on the room service and our Food & Beverage team will be notified that you enjoyed the ribeye! We are happy you intend to return and we look forward to welcoming you back when you do.

Warm Regards,

Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunkport, Maine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on four separate visits to DC over the last year and a half, and have always had a wonderful experience. The rooms are very clean, quiet and have everything I need. The showers are beautiful!! The bed linens and pillows are a dream!! The staff is extremely helpful, courteous and friendly. Several staff members have actually remember me from visit to visit. I love the executive lounge, well worth the extra expense. On several occasions I have had to extend my visit because of business commitments and they have been very accommodating. I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Breakfast and dinner (although they don't call it that) are included at the executive level, in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank You circa1826!

We really appreciate your review, and are very happy you have a wonderful experience every time you stay with us. It is our pleasure to serve you. Our team is committed with providing you excellent service, superb cleanliness, and flexibility with any of your business needs. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return.

Warm Regards,

Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is a Hilton hotel, but the room, and the furnishings look tired and dated. The remote for the TV didn't work and the TV wasn't functioning---bathroom was a strange set up with narrow opening into the shower area. The restaurant was not open, but you could order in the bar--the food was greasy, servers didn't pay attention (no tomato on the salad, and what did I get? tomato on the salad) It seems to me that management isn't paying attention to the details---I would not stay here, I've stayed at the Marriott at the airport, it's an older hotel, but the restaurant is decent and the rooms are well kept.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay here again
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Fooddr,



Thank you for your review and we will discuss your concerns with our food and beverage team. Our rooms are scheduled for upgrades later this year and we apologize for any engineering issues you may have encountered with your TV during your stay. We hope to better serve you in the future, and hope you will give us another opportunity.

Kind Regards,

Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Washington Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Washington Dulles Airport

Address: 13869 Park Center Rd, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#5 Business Hotel in Herndon
#5 Family Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Washington Dulles Airport 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Washington D.C. area's newest innovation in hotel guestroom design only at the Hilton Washington Dulles Airport hotel! With the introduction of its cutting edge Guestlink System, the Hilton has redefined the ultimate viewing experience, allowing guests who visit our Dulles, VA hotel and stay in one of 155 Business & Executive accommodations to connect any digital device (computer, game console, DVD, MP3) to a 42" HDTV Plasma. Additionally, these rooms offer ultra-modern marble and granite baths with walk-in rain shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Washington Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon
Hilton Hotel Herndon
Hilton Herndon
Herndon Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.