We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice airport hotel, slow bus shuttle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Washington Dulles Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Washington Dulles Airport to your Saves list
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   13869 Park Center Rd, Herndon, VA 20171   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
Cary, North Carolina, USA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice airport hotel, slow bus shuttle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here once before because I liked the hotel. When I landed, I was reminded of what I did not like and it was the terribly slow bus service there. I called and was told it would be 25 minutes and I did not have that much time to waste, nor did I want to stand out and freeze that long. I had to take a cab instead which was stupid. On the hotel side, the staff was nice at the front desk. I am a diamond member so I went to the lounge on the top floor and that was very good. The staff and the lounge is what made is what made me round up to "very good", the shuttle is terrible.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Djrrossi,

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We appreciate your loyalty and kind remarks regarding our staff. I do apologize for any difficulties you experienced with our shuttle and I will address this concern with our team. We do look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to the Dulles area.

Kind Regards,

Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    246
    122
    50
    30
See reviews for
128
119
138
456
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I was at the hotel restaurant, the Cardinal Lounge, for a business team dinner. I am local to the area so I did not have to travel from out of town nor did I have to stay at the hotel. The hostess who seated us was very courteous and very helpful. The food was very good and the service from Ms. Amy Z. was fantastic!! Her energy and enthusiasm made the entire dining experience one to remember. (Service with a smile and an A++ attitude!!!) If you dine there, ask for Amy Z. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here three night with a tour group in for the presidential inauguration. The hotel was nice. We arrived after 11 pm and a full day of traveling and sightseeing and were greeted warmly and they had staff there was ready to help with anything we needed. Everything was very clean, the rooms well maintained, the breakfast buffets they had for us were very good. The staff was very impressive! They were all pleasant to deal with and went out of their way to take care of us. I know we had a couple of special request within our group at breakfast and the staff were able to quickly taken care of as if it was normal. It was obvious that staff had the ability to take care of guests without having to check with a manager. The hotel however did have a few drawbacks for me. I was surprised that there was no refrigerator in the room. That has seemed to become pretty standard any more. Also to have wifi in your room was an additional $10. For the nightly rate of this hotel, especially catering to travelers, one would expect wifi to be standard. They did have 4 computers in the lobby that you could access free but when most Hotel 6 on the interstate have free wifi you would expect it at a Hilton without the additional charge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I was in Dulles for business for a night and decided on the Hilton Dulles location-close but not too close to the airport (IAD). Overall I really enjoyed my stay. I only mention the front desk staff because they were the first part of the hotel that I came in contact with, and it seemed like I was bothering them. Note to any service people-just because someone is wearing a sweatshirt doesn't mean they should be treated like a degenerate. But whatever-I only had to deal with them for 10 minutes max so who cares. I asked for a room away from the elevator, and boy did I get what I asked for, which was great. Room was spotless (I was on executive floor), nicely updated, huge TV, free water bottles, bathroom was what I would want in my own home, so that was a great surprise. Cardinal restaurant was pretty decent hotel food for dinner-crab cakes were average, but truffle risotto was to die for. Onion soup was delicious-hearty and just what the doctor ordered after a yucky day in airports. Very quiet night, no loud road noise, bed was pretty darn comfy. Breakfast was included with my rate at the Ox grille buffet-the food covered everything you could want-eggs, pancakes, french toast, egg whites, sausage meats, muffins, bagels, cereal, fruit, juice. Pretty well stocked. Morning desk staff was wonderful, extremely helpful and accommodating in spite of having a lobby PACKED with people. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Executive or bed and breakfast rate is worth the extra $. I can recommend 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you yankeegirlfriend for your review!

We are very happy that you enjoyed your overall experience with our hotel, and hope you join us again the next time your in the area. First impressions are very important and we will address the concerns that you mentioned. On a positive note I'm very pleased you enjoyed the room quality and Truffle Risotto in the Cardinal Lounge. We look forward to you return!

Kind Regards,

Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

With the weather being unpredictable in January, we made last minute reservations online. The hotel staff was very informative, friendly, and accommodating. As an HHonors member, we received free interenet and use of the executive lounge. Rooms were spacious and very clean. Dining onsite at the Old Ox Grille and The Cardinal Lounge was warm and filling. Amy Z. at the Cardinal Lounge was an EXCEPTIONAL hostess (enthusiastic, energetic, and friendly); my daughter and I enjoyed our conversations with her. What an Inauguration experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was our first visit to this hotel. We were there, compliments of United Airlines, because of a connection problem; however we given full Hilton Honors Gold elite perks, including upgrade to a wonderful, very large room, free internet and lounge access, with complimentary buffet. We were quite pleased with hotel and will be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had been recently staying at the Westin Dulles close by but decided to try the Hilton after reading reviews--much nicer than the Westin, much less in price plus use of the executive lounge......Hotel rooms have been completely updated with wonderful updated bathrooms with walk-in shower with rain heads, granite etc. Beds/linen were as great as Westin's and make sure to book the rooms where you have use of the executive lounge--service is excellent and the ladies that work it are the BEST!! All hotels should be so lucky to have such sterling employees as Mary, Lynn and Nezanet to take care of their guest.....they are truly the best!!

Room Tip: Stay on the 5th floor as that is the area the executive lounge is located on. They serve breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DullesCustServMgr, General Manager at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
MS,

Thank you so much for the great review. Our employees take pride in providing excellent service. I will be sure to pass along your kind remarks to them and the whole team. We are happy that you enjoyed the spacious bathroom and executive lounge. We work hard to provide you the best value, customer service, and overall quality in the area. Please join us again on your next visit to the Dulles area.

Sincerely,

Greg Langweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Washington Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Washington Dulles Airport

Address: 13869 Park Center Rd, Herndon, VA 20171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Herndon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#6 Family Hotel in Herndon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Washington Dulles Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Washington D.C. area's newest innovation in hotel guestroom design only at the Hilton Washington Dulles Airport hotel! With the introduction of its cutting edge Guestlink System, the Hilton has redefined the ultimate viewing experience, allowing guests who visit our Dulles, VA hotel and stay in one of 155 Business & Executive accommodations to connect any digital device (computer, game console, DVD, MP3) to a 42" HDTV Plasma. Additionally, these rooms offer ultra-modern marble and granite baths with walk-in rain shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Washington Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Washington Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon
Hilton Hotel Herndon
Hilton Herndon
Herndon Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Washington Dulles Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.